Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Warning! zemm.net=spammers


microsol
11-15-2001, 02:05 PM
They've been trying to send this to our clients:

Web Hosting Only $3.00 a month.

- 150 meg.
- 5 pop e-mail address
- FTP file transfer
- 24/7 operation
- Web Logs
- CGI-BIN
- Front Page
- 99.9 Uptime
- Linux Server
- No Start Up Fee
Visit http://www.lakelive.net

***********************************************************
You are recieving an unsolicited commercial email from
LakeLive Net Inc. We recognize that you may
not wish to recieve such emails in the future, and we
have provided a link to automatically and instantly
remove yourself: http://24.179.201.31/remove.htm!
This message is being sent to you in compliance with
federal guidelines governing the transmission of
unsolicited commercial email, including the provision of
contact information for our company within this email, a
valid return email address, and a way for customers
to remove themselves. Please note, however, that our
email address was valid at the time of sending, but may
be cancelled by the ISP shortly thereafter due to our
use of unsolicited email. You can read about the various
laws governing unsolicited email: http://spamlaws.com
"Unsolicited commercial electronic mail can be an important
mechanism through which businesses advertise and attract
customers in the online environment." -- U.S. Congress,
H.R. 106th CONGRESS 2d Session H. R. 3113 Sec. 2 (a)3 July
19, 2000 http://www.spamlaws.com/federal/hr3113.htm
***********************************************************

microsol
11-15-2001, 02:35 PM
Haha, they must be really stupid! I have to correct myself, they ARE STUPID!!!
Just look where lakelive.net resolves: They must be running this webhost on a dialup or dsl connection. :D BTW: lakelive and zemm is the same.
3 198.172.117.161 2.983 ms DNS error [AS2914] Verio
4 129.250.29.142 2.999 ms ge-5-0.r01.lsanca01.us.bb.verio.net [AS2914] Verio
5 24.7.71.13 3.205 ms c1-pos9-2.lsanca1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
6 24.7.65.170 3.974 ms c1-pos3-0.anhmca1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
7 24.7.65.177 36.692 ms c1-pos1-0.lamstx1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
8 24.7.65.182 39.940 ms c1-pos1-0.amrltx1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
9 24.7.64.110 40.547 ms c1-pos3-0.tulsok1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
10 24.7.64.149 54.107 ms c1-pos3-0.omahne1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
11 24.7.64.138 53.481 ms c1-pos1-0.desmia1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
12 24.7.64.166 53.623 ms c2-pos1-0.chcgil1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
13 24.7.64.170 58.872 ms c1-pos1-0.dtrtmi1.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
14 24.7.79.94 60.397 ms DNS error [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
15 10.0.204.2 61.124 ms DNS error
16 24.10.63.121 61.823 ms ubr1.wldlk1.mi.home.net [AS6172] HOME-NET-1
17 24.179.201.31 71.324 ms c813507-a.wldlk1.mi.home.com (DNS error) [AS6172] HOME-NET-1

Chicken
11-15-2001, 09:31 PM
You know when the phoney justification for the spam is longer than the actual message itself, there's trouble.

DougK94
11-15-2001, 09:55 PM
I bet @home would be happy to hear he is running this on their cable line.

Asher S
11-17-2001, 01:57 AM
lol running a host on a cable :) thats a good one.
so like whydont you inform @home :D

cyansmoker
11-17-2001, 03:25 AM
Indeed, they are incredibly entertaining.

Quote from their 'Policy:'
Customers are explicitly prohibited from sending unsolicited bulk mail messages ("junk mail" or "spam")unless approved by LakeLive Net.

And they are most definitely some sort of cable end-user, their DNS (NS1 & NS2) are not registered ;)