Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Dotster Spamming?!?!


MotleyFool
11-07-2001, 10:33 AM
Hi All,

I got this unsolicited mail from dotster.. Any comments?

From: "dotNews" <dotnews@dotster.com> | Block Address | Add to Address Book
To: "bsfolly@YAHOO.CO.IN" <bsfolly@YAHOO.CO.IN>
Subject: Important: Domain name information
Date: Tue, 6 Nov 2001 17:58:48 -0600



Congratulations on your new domain name! Few things are as essential to
establishing a presense on the Internet as a domain name, and by
registering yours, you've just taken the most important step.

Unfortunately, you may have paid too much money for that domain name
registration. The standard price at most registrars is $35 per year,
meaning that you could've saved up to 60% if you had registered with
Dotster. Dotster's standard, everyday low price for .com, .net and .org
domain name registrations is just $14.95!

It's not too late for you to save! Transfer to Dotster now for only
$11.95.
You won't lose any time on your registrations, because we'll add an
additional year onto your registration term -- all for just $11.95!

If you don't want to transfer, but have other domain names you need to
register, give Dotster a try! We're a top-ten ICANN accredited
registrar,
committed to excellent customer support, competitive pricing, and
innovative tools and technology to make the registration process easy
and
fun. Visit https://secure.dotster.com/campaign.php?id=OCT11901 today to
start registering and saving!

Dotster also offers great deals on Web hosting. Plans start at just
$13.95
per month! Visit https://secure.dotster.com/campaign.php?id=WHOCT11901
to
get your domain up and running on the Internet.

Questions, comments or concerns about this e-mail? Please send them to
dotNews@dotster.com.

JustinK
11-07-2001, 04:35 PM
:( Can it be true? Has my fav. registrar become corrupt?! ::sobs:: nooooooooo!

MotleyFool
11-08-2001, 01:13 AM
Justin

I know the feeling... I felt bad too... I don't know if it is a mail from dotster or someone else trying to discredit dotster [highly unlikely methinks]

But that I got that mail is true indeed!

Cheers
Balaji

NetXL
11-08-2001, 03:56 AM
http://www.dotster.com/programs/affiliate/

Could it be a Dotster affiliate? The id= bit looks like an affiliate thing.

Honu
11-08-2001, 05:45 AM
maybe you sigend up somewhere without reading fine print and one of those sites said we can sell your name to people ??

but true very scary when you get mail form some company you respect ;)

MCHost-Marc
11-08-2001, 08:07 AM
Originally posted by MotleyFool
I got this unsolicited mail from dotster.. Any comments?
You didn't happen to register a domain with Dotster in the past few past, hmm? :D

MotleyFool
11-09-2001, 12:05 PM
No Marc, I didn't!

In fact I have registered all my domains with netsol earlier and enom of late...

And Honu, I honestly don't know how many places I sign up or visit! ~L~

Anyway I didn't mind the mail so much; just wanted to know if anyone else got it

Thx
B

Honu
11-09-2001, 06:13 PM
hmmmm
I never got one and I have domains with them ??
if that helps ?

Rewdog
11-09-2001, 06:30 PM
:bawling: :bawling:
Noooooooooooooo! My favorite registrar spamming. I think I may give them a call and also give a piece of my mind to them.
:bawling: :bawling:

A little off the subject, but honu, no more "aloha" at the start of your posts!?! :stickout

Honu
11-09-2001, 06:59 PM
Aloha
;)
hehehehe
thought I would skip a few to spice things up ;)
hehehehhehe