View Full Version : Beware of HostReview.com!
hostmaniac 11-06-2001, 02:34 PM HostReview.com is just a big advertisement setup by the people who run Cedant Hosting.
a. Cedant banner/button ads are in every page almost every time
b. Cedant is their only "recommended host"
c. The first page of reviews is filled with hosts with a rating of 1/10 and then three reviews for Cedant with a rating 10/10.
d. hostreview.com is hosted on cedant servers
It's not okay for a web hosting company to disguise themselves as an independent host index and bombard their visitors with ads and links to their site!
Anythng that can be done about this? :angry:
:uzi: cedant.com
JBIZ718 11-06-2001, 02:37 PM Thats one of the big reasons that we are developing a directory is so there is no bias.
This is just wrong and not cool
Joe
SoftWareRevue 11-06-2001, 02:37 PM Originally posted by hostmaniac
. . . . Anythng that can be done about this? :angry:
:uzi: cedant.com Not sure. Aside from what you're doing . . . . . warning others.
Thanks for the tip!
One Web 11-06-2001, 02:43 PM Can it be that they offer hostreview.com free hosting in exchange for advertising? I know of a lot of hosting directory that are given free hosting by some company and they place their banner on the four corners of the site... you cant just go and say things like that without being 100% sure of what your saying...
SoftWareRevue 11-06-2001, 02:48 PM Originally posted by one_web
Can it be that they offer hostreview.com free hosting in exchange for advertising? . . . . . Well, it's semi-true.
According to the whois record, hostreview.com and cedant.com share the same physical address, phone, and fax number. :(
hostmaniac 11-06-2001, 03:44 PM Originally posted by one_web
Can it be that they offer hostreview.com free hosting in exchange for advertising? I know of a lot of hosting directory that are given free hosting by some company and they place their banner on the four corners of the site... you cant just go and say things like that without being 100% sure of what your saying...
Aside from what the whois database suggests, look at how they promote Cedant on their web site. It's more than just advertisement! Even if Cedant was only their host, they have no right to make it the most recommended host! But I'm sure there's more to it!
UmBillyCord 11-06-2001, 04:16 PM What a joke. What is even funnier is the "Reviews". They have all 10s with comments written by a sales team.
Althought these guys take it to new limit, many web host have started directories. Ex.. Host Index and Top Host.
mahinder 11-06-2001, 04:23 PM this is bad. i wonder even those review persons and ther email addresses are right or fake.
:angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:
this is simply redicioulus and fraud. i think the host in US should file suit against this company. of writing unethical things about other companies.
Walter 11-06-2001, 05:09 PM Originally posted by mahinder
i wonder even those review persons and ther email addresses are right or fake.
That's quite common...
bitserve 11-06-2001, 06:14 PM Speaking of hostindex, they also sell your email address to advertisers. I create an email alias for everyone that asks for my email address so that I can track spam, and also just delete an alias if it starts getting spam.
I've received 5 spam mails to the alias that i created just for them and gave only to them.
One Web 11-06-2001, 06:50 PM Originally posted by bitserve
Speaking of hostindex, they also sell your email address to advertisers. I create an email alias for everyone that asks for my email address so that I can track spam, and also just delete an alias if it starts getting spam.
I've received 5 spam mails to the alias that i created just for them and gave only to them.
Thats a real good idea. I been trying to find out how am i getting so much spam that is a good way to track it.
TheDoctor 11-07-2001, 09:11 AM <<EDIT: Seems to have nothing to do with HostSearch.com>>
yuffie123 11-07-2001, 10:33 AM In all fairness though cedant.com is a good, reliable company. Some of my friends are on cedant and it's been smooth sailing for years. My domain is also being handled by cedant. Their support is timely and efficient.
They are expensive though.
hostmaniac 11-07-2001, 12:28 PM I just don't think anyone who engages in deceiving marketing or unethical practices deserves business :mad:
chuckt101 11-08-2001, 08:49 PM Kinda funny how the site bears a striking resemblance to hostsearch.com too (at least the old Hostsearch.com look anyway)
Or maybe I'm seeing things... :rolleyes: :cool:
Jason_Berresford 11-08-2001, 08:57 PM bitserve
That's a really good idea .. Never thought of using alises in that way. My hat is off to you :)
|