Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : www.hostwithus.co.uk


Allen
10-12-2000, 06:51 PM
Has anyone got experience of this host. It seems rather new, but has a tempting offer of cheap Win2000 hosting. I'd like to hear how people are finding it before signing up.

Thanks,

Allen

BC
10-12-2000, 07:19 PM
Hmmmm...... I can't seem to access the site from where I am. Interesting...

JTY
10-12-2000, 07:28 PM
I can't access it either.

kunal
10-13-2000, 01:45 AM
well thats odd, I cant reach it. Nothing comes up on the domain whois, trace route or anything. Its asif it doesnt exist. Interesting...

Allen
10-13-2000, 02:48 AM
When I do a whois it says they were registered on 6th October, so it may not have filter through to everyone yet.

They are offering Win2000 at £ UK pounds per month for 100mb!!

JTY
10-13-2000, 03:41 AM
Oh well, I don't have a need for win2k hosting, anyway.

But the domain should resolve by now.

kunal
10-13-2000, 03:59 AM
It yet doesnt resolve for me anywhere! :( :( I guess, its just my ISP. Dunno..

BC
10-13-2000, 07:48 AM
It's resolving now for me.

First impressions and design is very amateurish. These impressions get worse and worse as I go through the site. I'd have left by now.

How can they guarantee 99.9% uptime if they've only been running for the last week?

Doing a quick reverse DNS/WHOIS lookup, they're.....

Resellers for FastHost (http://www.fasthosts.co.uk).

Personally, it seems a wee bit too cheap, especially in comparison with other UK hosts, but since they're reselling for FastHosts (which is fairly reputable - Technics can update me on how they're going), I'd say either hold off or fire some questions to their tech support and see how fast they hold. Also use Netmechanic's tools @ http://www.netmechanic.com/monitor.htm as often as you can for a week and see what results you get.

Allen
10-13-2000, 08:55 AM
I did fire some questions at them last night. I'm yet to hear anything. I want to do server-side XML processing using the MSXML dll, so I asked them whether it was available. That should test them a bit.

Out of interest, how did you determine they were reselling from Fasthosts ?

Thanks,

Allen

-Edward-
10-13-2000, 10:33 AM
They are being bought by another webhost with great designing talent http://www.benwell.net

Allen
10-13-2000, 01:26 PM
You mean Hostwithus is being bought by benwell, or Fasthosts ?

If hostwithus is just reselling Fasthost then I don't see why someone would want to buy them.

Benwell don't seem to provide win2000 hosting, or am I wrong ?

Greg
10-13-2000, 01:36 PM
Originally posted by Technics
They are being bought by another webhost with great designing talent http://www.benwell.net


Great design talent? Are you for real?


Here's what i get with Netscape:
"This presentation contains content that your browser may not be able to show properly. This presentation was optimized for more recent versions of
Microsoft Internet Explorer.

If you would like to proceed anyway, click here."


The whole site is a slide show made by powerpoint, it takes too long to download, and doesn't work in Netscape or older Explorers! You think that's a good site?

Allen
10-13-2000, 01:51 PM
I noticed it was Powerpoint too, luckily I am using ie5 (if you call that lucky!)

Not too impressive really for a site that is meant to be well designed.

-Edward-
10-13-2000, 02:18 PM
Guess you missed the sarcasm?.

BC
10-13-2000, 07:21 PM
LOL @ Technics

Allen, I was able to determine that Hostwithus was reselling for FastHosts by doing an IP block/WHOIS check. Quite easy to do either via http://www.samspade.org or nslookup on either Win2K or a *nix box.

chilliboy
10-13-2000, 07:26 PM
See my post about fasthosts.co.uk in "Does this Look good to you??" Sting

You were warned!!!

Mark Hall
10-14-2000, 04:31 PM
BENWELL.NET. Well that's something I still have nightmare's about. Used to get some web hosting of of this guy before we started up ourselves and had nothing but problems. I don't normally have a go at peopl on line but this guy was a nightmare. I had to cancel my creidt card because he was using it register his own domain name months after I left! I know others that had similar problems too.

Mark
OPENHOSTING INTERNET SOLUTIONS
http://www.openhosting.co.uk

Mark Hall
10-14-2000, 04:33 PM
chillyboy: I've heard people complain about FastHosts. To be honest we've used them for a while now and think they're great!

Mark
OPENHOSTING INTERNET SOLUTIONS
http://www.openhosting.co.uk

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 04:42 PM
he did that with my solo card too Mark but binned it and got switch. He still tries to purchase domains using my name though.

Mark Hall
10-14-2000, 04:49 PM
Eddy,

I had a domain registration form easily.co.uk turn up on my creidt card and I don't use them. When I phoned them up and asked how they asked me if I had ever given my card number to David Benwell. Enough said.

Mark Hall
OPENHOSTING INTERNET SOLUTIONS
http:\\www.openhosting.co.uk

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 04:56 PM
He still buys things through Webnetics for himself using my old reseller id god knows how he got my old reseller id. Does the same at cyberquest but they seem to be taking action against him for it. Where as Webnetics couldnt careless.

Adam_S
10-14-2000, 05:24 PM
Don't remind me on Mr Benwell.. (hasn't he been shot yet?)

Luckily I paid him by cheque, though he probably tried to photocopy that and pay it in three times! :P

It wouldn't be so bad if he knew a little bit about business, about hosting (would help!), and how to influence the chain of "friend's recommendation".

I take that back, he has influenced the chain, just not in the good sense.

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 05:34 PM
Want to hear something thats funny ......

Davey of Truehosting is from the Same Area as Dave Benwell... Is it me or are they all crooks from the norfolk area?.

Adam_S
10-14-2000, 05:51 PM
I think he attitude towards marketing is an interesting concept..

Write a website in powerpoint, have everyone take the piss cos you host websites but can't write one yourself. (support?!? what does that mean?!) now that everyone is taking the piss, everyone wants take a look at your site so they can join in the laughter. Your hit counter goes through the roof. Meanwhile you try and sell cr*p domain names at stupid prices cos the laughs you are already getting seem to be dieing out a little. You raise your prices since the hits have gone up, and everyone seems to be smiling at you. What they think is that you suck, but neither-the-less this never occurs to you, and so you continue in the, would be now, struggle. No one is purchasing any sites, so quick cash is required cos you have to think of getting pointpoint 2000 (that will make the difference.. Surely!) So you steal of the credit cards you have in your hand, and use other hosting companies resellers accounts, even though they sit on webnetics servers with a fantastic "buy and cry" regiem. So you have everyone laughing at you, you are robbing the rich to feed the shite website front end which bringings the crowds that now have the answer to "how not to do it"..

..hang on a sec, how the hell does this guy not realise whats going on? I would still love to know exactly how many "clients" he has..

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 06:03 PM
I spoke to Mr.Benwell the other day. He offerred me £30 to build him a website. I told him to run and jump. he came back 3 hours later telling me hed hired some big company for £30 to build him a new website.

He has from what he says now become a member of nominet which cost him £1000. Check your credit card Mark :). He has no clients. Webnetics had great pleasure in telling me this for some reason. The ones he had ran off cos he ripped them off.

He had me and my friend chris we bought £150 worth of domains of the guy. Damn that was costly.

webfors
10-14-2000, 06:17 PM
When you think you've seen it all (and trust me I've seen a lot of weird stuff) something like this comes along.

I swear, people are getting dummer and dummer.

It took forever to load that PowerPoint Based Stupidity.

:)

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 06:53 PM
What your not going to make your next website in powerpoint?.

webfors
10-14-2000, 06:55 PM
Only if you help me Technics!! hahaha :)

-Edward-
10-14-2000, 07:00 PM
Sure i'll help .... hows £3,000 sound for my fee?.

Adam_S
10-14-2000, 07:40 PM
*laff*

I'm tempted to write a web polling app just for dave benwell.

Does Dave Benwell..

A) Suck the eggs for grandma?
B) Sucks grandmas for eggs?
C) Believe he is god? (this would be an interesting one!)
D) Have no chance of living past the mental age of 3?
E) Finds that annoying paperclip he met in Powerpoint to be his best web development buddy? (that was probably the person he paid £30 to in the end!)
F) Just sucks?
G) Is a great guy whos indepth knowledge is surpassed the callings of his job, life and well-being, whos synegistic talent is far greater than the sum of his collection of credit card numbers.

Allen
10-16-2000, 05:43 PM
So hostwithus.co.uk may not be such a good choice. Can anyone recommend a hoster doing windows2000 or NT4 supporting server-side XML ?

Allen
http://www.mavis-crafts.co.uk

diyoha
10-16-2000, 06:52 PM
that would be the understatement of the year!

webexpose.net is a win2000 shop

do not know if they support the extensions. Contact them

prices are good and have good references

later

David