Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Child pornography fraud


Lmax
10-29-2001, 12:01 PM
I want to warn all other hosts for a fraud signing up for virtual hosting.
They use your site to host orderforms for child porn video's
Their actual site is at pedoshop.net but for the orderform they link to other virtual sites.

They signed up with me, asked to register the domain musiclub.net. It all seemed very legit. They placed a site about Rammstein(german rock band) on it. Also ok.
But behind the site were only order forms for the child porn video cd's.
Of course the credit card used was also a problem later on. But the account then was active for a few days(suspended now)

I received a complaint from a visitor, they also informed the fbi and interpol. Interpol already asked me some questions.

Just wanted to let you know.
This time they used Rammstein as cover, but maybe nex time they use something else.

Walter
10-29-2001, 12:23 PM
F+++ing +++holes!
I hope they get in jale!

Lurleene
10-29-2001, 03:09 PM
Thanks for telling us, Lmax.

That brings up a more general question, though ------ has anyone noticed any "flags" or "alarms" for this kind of thing? What kind of suspicious behavior does anyone look out for? Obviously credit-card fraud is an entirely different topic; I'm just asking for things like the original poster warned about: using a fake site as a "front" for illegal (not to mention horrifically disgusting :puke: ) activities?

Ericwenlong
10-29-2001, 06:12 PM
Would this be any use?

Charles Drumm
13056 Gorham Way
Woodbridge, VA 22192
US

Domain Name: PEDOSHOP.NET

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Charles Drumm
13056 Gorham Way
Woodbridge, VA 22192
US
202-473-3553
lacrimozaus@yahoo.com

Domain created on 24-Oct-2001
Domain expires on 24-Oct-2003
Last updated on 24-Oct-2001

Domain servers in listed order:

URL1.BUYDOMAINS.COM
URL2.BUYDOMAINS.COM

Lmax
10-29-2001, 06:20 PM
I think they already checked that at interpol

and think that attrracks my attention is the email address.
lacrimoza was the users preferred username when he signed up with me. So that is something to watch for.
He also used a yahoo mail address : nichtwish@yahoo.com
so check you user databases for these two usernames

Pilgrim
10-29-2001, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by Lurleene
Thanks for telling us, Lmax.

That brings up a more general question, though ------ has anyone noticed any "flags" or "alarms" for this kind of thing? What kind of suspicious behavior does anyone look out for? Obviously credit-card fraud is an entirely different topic; I'm just asking for things like the original poster warned about: using a fake site as a "front" for illegal (not to mention horrifically disgusting :puke: ) activities?

First thing I always do is look if a) the domainname is registered and b) if the domainname belongs to the person who signed up for hosting.

If it's not registered I send them a polite email asking them the domainname is not included in the hosting and that they should register first.
If the domainname is registered to a different person, I send an email to the administrative contact asking if he is aware of the hosting request.

I've cought 3 or 4 peeps this way who were only interested in putting illegal junk on my server. Warez and stuff, while their main site linked to me.

I also look for discrepencies in the address information they send me. Does the zipcode match the town? Does the phone number area code match the town? Little things that most of the idiots that fill in fake information do not bother to think about.

Hmm, also after september 11th it became very popular to sign up under an arab name and arab country/address. Even Osama signed up. I had to decline ofcourse :(

AtlantaWebhost.com
10-30-2001, 10:53 PM
One big thing we look for is the location of the order. For instance, if the "customer" is in Florida, but the order came from an IP address outside the US, it raises a huge flag. A program such as McAfee Visual Trace can be very helpful for this.

We also look carefully over the order and check for discrepancies. If the area code is consistent with the zip code and address. We will also check with the credit card companies to see if the information provided to us is consistent with their records.


Actively fighting CC fraud is a great step in avoiding problem with spammers and even more hideous activities, such as porn peddlers.

Best regards,
Frank Rietta

sqposter
10-31-2001, 01:41 AM
;) I can see the begining of a black list.

but anyway, here is something of a privacy concern.

start quote :

lacrimoza was the users preferred username when he signed up with me. So that is something to watch for.
He also used a yahoo mail address : nichtwish@yahoo.com
so check you user databases for these two usernames

End Quote :

is it legal for a hosting company to disclose information that was filled under the hosting application. to make maters worst, to expose such information in a public forum might make the poster liable when there might be law officers involved ( interpol and FBI )

just another way of looking at the problem.

-Sqposter / Michael

WebHostin
10-31-2001, 03:44 AM
Its just like if you signed a contract under somone elses name! If you didnt fill it in legally yourself than you cant try to get back at the host when you are comitting fraud! Hehe!

It might not be totally legal if it was a real person but if
it isnt, or if what he is doing is illegal, then who cares?

-- Brad

sqposter
10-31-2001, 03:58 AM
Originally posted by WebHostin
Its just like if you signed a contract under somone elses name! If you didnt fill it in legally yourself than you cant try to get back at the host when you are comitting fraud! Hehe!

It might not be totally legal if it was a real person but if
it isnt, or if what he is doing is illegal, then who cares?

-- Brad

just a note, even if the application was used to commit a crime, and the signing party was legit, all the rights of the contract can not be voided unless it confilicts with other laws.

so in otherwords, if the applicant filed out his own info, and the contract has a privacy policy, revealing that information might be a violation. If you recall, there was a Navy homosexual person that had an account with AOL. Aol gave the account's real name to the navy and that person was dismissed from the services. AOL was brought to court over the mater. I think it was settled out of court.

Sqposter / Michael