padders
10-22-2001, 12:26 PM
I purchased the domain name www.deskpro.com from someone through afternic.com about 9 months ago. It is for a software product i have been developing.
All has been fine and I have been using (and still am) the domain with no problem. It was regsiter with Open SRS but i moved the domain to stargateinc.
Now i come to check the domain today because i need to update the DNS and truewhois.com reports it as:
Registrant:
Compaq Computer Corp
(DOM-89168)
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
Domain Name: deskpro.com
Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com
Administrative Contact:
Compaq Internet Domain Name Registrar
(NIC-344520)
Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
domainreg@compaq.com +1.2815188427
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Tech-Contact
(NIC-366968)
Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
domaintech@compaq.com +1.2815188427
Billing Contact:
Corporate Services
(NIC-366969)
Alldomains
2261 Morello Ave
Suite C Pleasant Hill
CA
94523 US
dnbilling@alldomains.com +1.9256859600
Created on..............: 2001-Mar-14.
Expires on..............: 2006-Mar-14.
Record last updated on..: 2001-Sep-24 21:30:47.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.DOTSTERINC.COM 64.85.73.15
NS1.DOTSTERINC.COM 216.34.94.170
Compaq seem to have it somehow and alldomains have taken it? I have no idea why. www.deskpro.com still goes to my site (perhaps my DNS has not udpdated yet but it is working for me and other people). What is going on?
Looking at stargateinc.com where i register it, their DNS shows:
Stargate Whois:
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
Domain Name: DESKPRO.COM
Registrar: ALLDOMAINS.COM INC.
Whois Server: whois.alldomains.com
Referral URL: http://www.alldomains.com
Name Server: NS.TECHUK.COM
Name Server: NS2.TECHUK.COM
Updated Date: 25-sep-2001
Last update of whois database: Mon, 22 Oct 2001 05:33:10 EDT
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.
====================================================
Registrant:
Compaq Computer Corp (DOM-89168)
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
Domain Name: deskpro.com
Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com
Administrative Contact:
Compaq Internet Domain Name Registrar (NIC-344520) Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
domainreg@compaq.com
+1.2815188427
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Tech-Contact (NIC-366968) Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
domaintech@compaq.com
+1.2815188427
Billing Contact:
Corporate Services (NIC-366969) Alldomains
2261 Morello Ave Suite C
Pleasant Hill CA 94523
US
dnbilling@alldomains.com
+1.9256859600
Created on..............: 2001-Mar-14.
Expires on..............: 2006-Mar-14.
Record last updated on..: 2001-Sep-24 21:30:47.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.DOTSTERINC.COM 64.85.73.15
NS1.DOTSTERINC.COM 216.34.94.170
Register your domain name at http://www.alldomains.com
You can see my DNS at the top ns.techuk.com
I still have access to the domain at stargateinc.
what is going on? how can this happen? what do i do? I have just sent an email to stargateinc but how can two people apparently own the same domain name, and one that I have had for months.
All has been fine and I have been using (and still am) the domain with no problem. It was regsiter with Open SRS but i moved the domain to stargateinc.
Now i come to check the domain today because i need to update the DNS and truewhois.com reports it as:
Registrant:
Compaq Computer Corp
(DOM-89168)
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
Domain Name: deskpro.com
Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com
Administrative Contact:
Compaq Internet Domain Name Registrar
(NIC-344520)
Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
domainreg@compaq.com +1.2815188427
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Tech-Contact
(NIC-366968)
Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249 Houston
TX
77070 US
domaintech@compaq.com +1.2815188427
Billing Contact:
Corporate Services
(NIC-366969)
Alldomains
2261 Morello Ave
Suite C Pleasant Hill
CA
94523 US
dnbilling@alldomains.com +1.9256859600
Created on..............: 2001-Mar-14.
Expires on..............: 2006-Mar-14.
Record last updated on..: 2001-Sep-24 21:30:47.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.DOTSTERINC.COM 64.85.73.15
NS1.DOTSTERINC.COM 216.34.94.170
Compaq seem to have it somehow and alldomains have taken it? I have no idea why. www.deskpro.com still goes to my site (perhaps my DNS has not udpdated yet but it is working for me and other people). What is going on?
Looking at stargateinc.com where i register it, their DNS shows:
Stargate Whois:
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
Domain Name: DESKPRO.COM
Registrar: ALLDOMAINS.COM INC.
Whois Server: whois.alldomains.com
Referral URL: http://www.alldomains.com
Name Server: NS.TECHUK.COM
Name Server: NS2.TECHUK.COM
Updated Date: 25-sep-2001
Last update of whois database: Mon, 22 Oct 2001 05:33:10 EDT
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.
====================================================
Registrant:
Compaq Computer Corp (DOM-89168)
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
Domain Name: deskpro.com
Registrar Name: Alldomains.com
Registrar Whois: whois.alldomains.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.alldomains.com
Administrative Contact:
Compaq Internet Domain Name Registrar (NIC-344520) Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
domainreg@compaq.com
+1.2815188427
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Domain Tech-Contact (NIC-366968) Compaq Computer Corp
20555 State Highway 249
Houston TX 77070
US
domaintech@compaq.com
+1.2815188427
Billing Contact:
Corporate Services (NIC-366969) Alldomains
2261 Morello Ave Suite C
Pleasant Hill CA 94523
US
dnbilling@alldomains.com
+1.9256859600
Created on..............: 2001-Mar-14.
Expires on..............: 2006-Mar-14.
Record last updated on..: 2001-Sep-24 21:30:47.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.DOTSTERINC.COM 64.85.73.15
NS1.DOTSTERINC.COM 216.34.94.170
Register your domain name at http://www.alldomains.com
You can see my DNS at the top ns.techuk.com
I still have access to the domain at stargateinc.
what is going on? how can this happen? what do i do? I have just sent an email to stargateinc but how can two people apparently own the same domain name, and one that I have had for months.
