Beauzeau
10-08-2000, 01:51 AM
Trying to find out who nitromax.com buys from. I see it ultimately comes from alabanza, but I don't think they are buying directly from them. Any suggestions?
![]() | View Full Version : Anyone know how to find out who someone buys from? Beauzeau 10-08-2000, 01:51 AM Trying to find out who nitromax.com buys from. I see it ultimately comes from alabanza, but I don't think they are buying directly from them. Any suggestions? JTY 10-08-2000, 03:18 AM You could telnet to mail.nitromax.com on port 25 and see what the server domain is. Then do a whois on that. BTW: The server is theirs. It identified itself as host.nitromax.com GordonH 10-09-2000, 06:48 AM Why not ask them? Gordon BC 10-09-2000, 07:13 AM Because some hosts will refuse to answer the question (for whatever reason).. GordonH 10-09-2000, 07:20 AM Sorry I am just in a funny mood this morning. Please ignore me. If only the world was more straightforward! Actually, another way of telling if an Alabanza based host is reselling is to look at their support manual. The address of their secure certificate will include a domain name belonging to the company they resell for. If who is doesn't give details just take the tech contact handle and look up the other domains associated with it........ Gordon BC 10-09-2000, 07:26 AM Actually, here's an easy way one can tell it's an Alabanza based site : IP ranges : 208.56.*.* - servers with PHP3 64.176.*.* - servers with PHP3/4 (usually). (the latest servers) GordonH 10-09-2000, 07:53 AM Actually that will only tell you if the server is at Alabanza. It won't tell you who owns it or whether its a reseller. Being a reseller is not necessarily a bad thing. If someone is just reselling a product then its faitrly pointless but some resellers aggregate plans from more than one source and provide additional services the "source" company don't. Just a thought... Gordon |