Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : GoDaddy is spamming!


mjmsr
10-20-2001, 11:04 AM
I have been flooded with spam from a company that is actually registered under Go Daddy Software. When I did a further search, it appears GoDaddy has a few businesses...which sends SPAM out to people.

He does not advertise GoDaddy but other companies.

Travelrealbig, optinrealbig are just 2.

optinrealbig is hosted by hosting4u.net

I have tried for DAYS now to get off this spamlist (per instructions) but I keep getting more.

The reason I am posting this is because I HATE SPAM and will not deal with any company who spams, supports spam, and certainly (like godaddy) hides (poorly) behind other domain names to do spamming.

Have a great day....

If anyone wishes to see the spam privately, email me and we'll show you the details.
:angry:

jiminsd
10-20-2001, 12:05 PM
I have learned long ago that never try to unsubscribe off someones spam list. It just confirms to them that they have a good email address and you will get more. I just have them all redirected into my junk mail folder. Good luck to you and thanks for the info on GoDaddy.

avara
10-20-2001, 12:24 PM
Ditto.

Network Solutions, another registrar, used to send me spam not too long ago. They seem to have stopped though.

lovendove
10-20-2001, 03:50 PM
Thanks for the heads up!

My dh's domain is registered with godaddy. I have network solutions/netsol yet no spam *yet*.

I HATE spam too so I understand and thanks again for the info!

lovelie
10-21-2001, 12:59 AM
Originally posted by mjmsr
I have been flooded with spam from a company that is actually registered under Go Daddy Software.
I have a couple of personal domains registered under GoDaddy software.
It doesn't mean I am GoDaddy.. just that I use them as my registrar.

SI-Chris
10-21-2001, 02:23 AM
I had a sneaking suspicion that GoDaddy would be involved in some way with SPAM since I first heard of them. For one thing, the bio of the owner says he made his fortune in "direct marketing." And their Terms of Service has this warning:You agree that for each domain name registered by you the following information will be made publicly available in the Whois directory as determined by ICANN Policy and may be sold in bulk as set forth in the ICANN agreement:

The domain name
Your name and postal address
The email address, postal address, voice and fax numbers for technical and administrative contacts
The Internet protocol numbers for the primary and secondary name servers
The corresponding names of the name servers
The original date of registration and expiration date

You agree that, to the extent permitted by ICANN, Go Daddy may make use of the publicly available information you provided during the registration process.I would speculate that that they make up the money on those ultra-cheap domain registrations by selling your personal information, or using it themselves for other purposes; again, this is just speculation, but it looks like there strong evidence to support this.

Fremont Servers
10-21-2001, 02:24 AM
I know a lot of people don't like spamming, but does it generate a lot of sales? If not, then why do "some" businesses spam.

Chicken
10-21-2001, 11:13 AM
Chris (Calabrese), there was a discussion on SP about this a few months back, and one registrar was arguing that they *had* to sell this information if a company requested it. I'm not going to go looking for it over there, but their interpretation of the ICANN agreement was interesting. I didn't agree with him however.

Point being that every registrar has to abide by the ICANN agreement. The agreement is not worded 100% clear. I'm guessing that every registrar sells this information (while 000domains might not, TUCOWS might, etc.)

Hey It's Me
10-24-2001, 10:07 AM
godaddy.com has sent us spam also.

AlaskanWolf
10-26-2001, 04:07 AM
From Godaddys newsletter today


Go Daddy Software has a strict policy that prevents it from selling its mailing list to other vendors. However, people have access to the contact information of domain name purchasers through the "WhoIs" database. The "WhoIs" database is maintained by all registrars as part of the domain registration system. Unscrupulous companies abuse the database by pulling names from it. Then they solicit their services through email offers to those names. Occasionally their services are similar to those offered by Go Daddy, but at much higher prices. We want you to know that these people in no way get names from Go Daddy Software. We are working to help stop this abuse, but it is a big undertaking, and we need your help. If you receive an uninvited email message you can simply choose not to respond, or you can forward a copy of the message with your comments to abuse@godaddy.com.