Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : NoMonthlyFees.com <= SUX!


faithlezz
10-20-2001, 12:45 AM
Hi guys,

I just would like to tell you guys to avoid NoMonthlyFees.com because they are lying and I am not happy with the way they treat their customers (me).

Well, they says they have Server Speed (Minimum) 850Mhz but in reality, they only have 551.26 MHz.

Prove:

http://www.nomonthlyfees.com/features.htm
http://www.poolux.com/sysinfo/index.php <= my site

I asked them to move me to a server that have "Server Speed (Minimum) 850Mhz" but they declined and says it is not possible as this time. How sick is this? How can they do business like this?

Well, I have I can help someone to avoid the mistake I made.

NoMoreNoMonthlyFees.com :)

Cheers

TotalHst
10-20-2001, 01:25 AM
You probably got on an old server of there's.. If this is the only issue you have with them, that your server is not 850 Mhz, I do not see why you are bashing them.. They have toll free support, and they have thousands of web hosting clients. I have used them multiple times for domain registration, http://registerclub.com and their customer service is great, no problems with them.. I just don't see why you don't just ask them to move you to a newer server.. Hostrocket's new site proclaims minimum of 2,000 Mhz processor, one of their servers is a 500, and no one complains. I'm not trying to get on your case but unless they did something other than this, I wouldn't be posting this thread at all.

faithlezz
10-20-2001, 01:29 AM
Originally posted by TotalHst
You probably got on an old server of there's.. If this is the only issue you have with them, that your server is not 850 Mhz, I do not see why you are bashing them.. They have toll free support, and they have thousands of web hosting clients. I have used them multiple times for domain registration, http://registerclub.com and their customer service is great, no problems with them.. I just don't see why you don't just ask them to move you to a newer server.. Hostrocket's new site proclaims minimum of 2,000 Mhz processor, one of their servers is a 500, and no one complains. I'm not trying to get on your case but unless they did something other than this, I wouldn't be posting this thread at all.

I did ask them, have you read my entire message?

Is this what you call business? Say one thing and do another thing.

No one complains at HostRocket because may they don't know there is a script that allow you to check the server spec.

Well, you can check this out: (this is just registered and still 551.26 MHz)

http://www.priceferret.com/sysinfo/

Cheers

TotalHst
10-20-2001, 01:32 AM
Well, darn, its 500 Mhz, are you doing somthing that requires more than this? If not, just ask them when it will be possible, and if you can be moved then. And if they have a problem with it, and it's that big of a deal to you, speak to someone higher up that has more authority over things such as this.

iVersit
10-20-2001, 01:46 AM
Maybe it's because they are a reseller....
and resellers can not make machine upgrades....

dektong
10-20-2001, 01:49 AM
reseller of Alabanza? :)

cheers,
:beer:

iVersit
10-20-2001, 01:49 AM
I trace to OLM....they could be colocating there, but they have some nameserver issues...

bbrader
10-20-2001, 01:50 AM
Our site where it lists server speeds, is referring to new accounts and the server specs that a new account would go on if it signed up at that time.

-Brendan

Abu Mami
10-21-2001, 08:53 AM
I was happy with them in the beginning, but then I kept getting too many issues popping up. Old versions of software installed on their servers, access being denied from time to time, lot of ftp problems. If finally got fed up and got my own dedicated server. Nice! But - I have to put up with SPAM from nomonthlyfees now. Stay away from them. They may not be bad, but there are certainly better! (and if they advertise something, then they better supply - doesn't matter what you really need or not)

avara
10-21-2001, 09:31 AM
Whilst I don't think it's nice to claim that all servers are at least 800Mhz, there really isn't much difference. In fact, if they put fewer sites on their 500Mhz machines, you might even end up getting more speed!

I don't understand their business model though. To stay in business, they will have to CONSANTLY sign up new clients. Furthermore, after you've hosted with them for a few years, I bet they're going to start losing money on your account. And what if they decide to go out of business?

I'd stay away from any company claiming to be able to host you forever for one setup charge. Hosting is an ongoing service, not a once-off purchase.

ReflexHost_M
10-21-2001, 09:43 AM
Originally posted by avara
Whilst I don't think it's nice to claim that all servers are at least 800Mhz, there really isn't much difference. In fact, if they put fewer sites on their 500Mhz machines, you might even end up getting more speed!

I don't understand their business model though. To stay in business, they will have to CONSANTLY sign up new clients. Furthermore, after you've hosted with them for a few years, I bet they're going to start losing money on your account. And what if they decide to go out of business?

I'd stay away from any company claiming to be able to host you forever for one setup charge. Hosting is an ongoing service, not a once-off purchase.

I too have never understood their business model - I looked at them before I got into the hosting industry, and after close consideration, I thought that they wanted all my money upfront and then would disappear with it a few months later....

Abu Mami
10-22-2001, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by avara
I'd stay away from any company claiming to be able to host you forever for one setup charge. Hosting is an ongoing service, not a once-off purchase.

Well, they're subtle. They don't just charge you once. They charge a one-time setup fee, and then a YEARLY fee. Get it? "no monthly fees" - just yearly fees. They still make money.

BTW - microworld.com and doteasy.com actually do offer one-time fee domain hosting. I use microworld for one of my sites and I'm very happy with it. I don't know how they do it, but the site seems stable and fast enough - and I only paid about $30 for. Forever? Well, I don't know, but if I get to use it for only a couple of years it will have paid off.

happyhappy
10-23-2001, 03:34 AM
Originally posted by faithlezz


Well, you can check this out: (this is just registered and still 551.26 MHz)

http://www.priceferret.com/sysinfo/

Cheers

Just wondering how you found out about their sysinfo? I'd like to find out what speed my host server is also. Is it a script you downloaded from somewhere?

faithlezz
10-23-2001, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by happyhappy


Just wondering how you found out about their sysinfo? I'd like to find out what speed my host server is also. Is it a script you downloaded from somewhere?

I downloaded at http://phpsysinfo.sourceforge.net/ and installed it to see what server spec I got (just curious) and bingo :)

Cheers