Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Warning!!! Blatant Ripoff!!!


Neko =^.^=
10-16-2001, 10:32 PM
:uzi: http://us.sybess.net/
:flamethr: http://us.sybess.net/packages.shtml
:flamethr: http://us.sybess.net/dedicated.shtml

(some of the ripped off pages:

http://www.dim8.net
http://www.dim8.net/packages.shtml
http://www.dim8.net/dedicated.shtml)


This site is ripping off Dimension 8 Webhosting, which is located at www.dim8.net. You can even see that the code is copied line for line in the packages page. He even forgot to change Dimension 8 to sybess and to copy the images on the front page. Everything has been copied! (except the main layout) :angry:

ProSam
10-16-2001, 10:36 PM
Good looking Out Neko =^.^=

thanks;)

AlaskanWolf
10-16-2001, 10:37 PM
is either one a reseller of either company?

Neko =^.^=
10-16-2001, 10:39 PM
Originally posted by AlaskanWolf
is either one a reseller of either company?
Nope:

From http://www.dim8.net/presale.shtml#30
...
30. Can I be a reseller?
At this time we do not provide reseller packages.

...

Phrozen
10-16-2001, 10:40 PM
Well Dim8 has servers with Rackshack and they don't offer a reseller package so I'd rule out that possibility.

Neko =^.^=
10-16-2001, 10:46 PM
I noticed something was terribly wrong when this guy was asking for a form script so that he write down some information to a file or whatnot: http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12207

It wouldn't make sense to not have any prior knowledge of scripting languages because if your customer were to ask you a question, you would be no help to him/her.

Dogma
10-16-2001, 11:01 PM
My god, people really are stupid. First, for ripping off a site and second, for not even slightly disquising that they had. They link their images right from dim8 and even say
We offer 5 different webhosting packages that have been carefully put together to insure that you can find almost the perfect package for you here at Dimension 8.
hehehe that was his last post on freewebspace.net

texasweb
10-17-2001, 12:10 AM
So did he rip off your autosetup scripts too?

NetXL
10-17-2001, 02:36 AM
:puke: http://us.sybess.net/info.shtml

Some of the things you find on hosts pages. What looks odd about that one?

:homer:
'mmmm... kelloggs'

Ryan - Dim8
10-17-2001, 03:06 AM
Hello,

This is infact a blatant rip-off. I have contacted them about removing these pages, But no doubt that if they do remove these pages you can be sure they will lift someone else's text and images.

They can keep the RackShack Affliation banner if they wish, Someone signs up thanks to them we get an extra $50 :D Who am i to turn my nose up at some extra money?

They are not resellers of ours we do not have a reseller package yet.

We actually host our customers sites at tera-byte not rackshack.

Haze
10-17-2001, 03:38 AM
Originally posted by NetXL
:puke: http://us.sybess.net/info.shtml

Some of the things you find on hosts pages. What looks odd about that one?

:homer:
'mmmm... kelloggs'

Heh, those images are taken directly from donhost.. check it out.

Mbarb
10-17-2001, 10:46 PM
Cool... I can't even get into the site anymore, Someone must have pulled the plug

Forbidden, check the file permissions for this document.

texasweb
10-17-2001, 11:05 PM
The self destruct code in the pages must of worked!