My website, mail and ftp have been down for 5 days, all the index pages on my site shown the hacker message:
"TimeOut Admin timeout@hackermail.org"
I contacted the Live Support on Dot5hosting, and was told " the servers have been hacked, you have to re-upload all your index files...".
I want to switch the hosting services to others, any recommendation?
Thanks.
eddy2099
02-12-2004, 02:08 AM
Sorry to hear about your loss. Don't they have tape backups where they could restore your sites ? That's what they say on their website.
Akash
02-12-2004, 02:17 AM
Originally posted by MN-Robert
Again?
That's what I was thinking....
they have an article "published" in the news paper about them, yet can't prevent intrusions?
Sounds familiar.
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=214904
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=215632
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=219048
Getting hacked is one thing, but not having backups is plain irresponsible.
pine, what are your disk space/transfer requirements? And what is your budget? This information is helpful if you want us to offer recommendations.
eddy2099
02-12-2004, 02:42 AM
Actually on their website, they did advertise that they do have daily tape backups .
http://www2.dot5hosting.com/linux_hosting.php
LP-Trel
02-12-2004, 02:50 AM
Well any hosting company that has many servers can have a few get hacked every now and again.
There are only so many ways to secure an environment.
Good luck to you pine! :D
inteltechs
02-12-2004, 02:50 AM
Originally posted by eddy2099
Actually on their website, they did advertise that they do have daily tape backups .
http://www2.dot5hosting.com/linux_hosting.php
EV1 provides tape backups since when?
eddy2099
02-12-2004, 02:59 AM
Beats me.. Dot5hosting claims they have it and it is not my place to judge. It is just that you cannot go around claiming you have something which you clearly do not have.
On the Datacenter page, they show 'IPOWERWEB' http://www2.dot5hosting.com/datacenter.php and on their About Us page, they show 'EV1 Network' http://www2.dot5hosting.com/about.php
The pictures for IPowerWeb Datacenter http://www.ipowerweb.com/datacenter_tour/1.html matches the same pictures and I don't believe that IPowerWeb uses EV1 Network.
This does seems weird.
net-trend
02-12-2004, 03:10 AM
I smell a lawsuit boiling. :D
LP-Trel
02-12-2004, 03:14 AM
I smell a lawsuit boiling. :D
Is it really worth filing a lawsuit over 50 dollars? :rolleyes:
net-trend
02-12-2004, 03:18 AM
Haven't you been reading the news lately? It doesn't matter if it's a dollar. ;)
itspoopagain
02-12-2004, 10:09 AM
Gotta love their motto, "We look after our customers."
Sounds like they should have been looking after their servers. ;)
Reseller-Center
02-12-2004, 10:17 AM
Originally posted by eddy2099
Beats me.. Dot5hosting claims they have it and it is not my place to judge. It is just that you cannot go around claiming you have something which you clearly do not have.
This does seems weird.
:confused: I agree,,,,Without backups ,, how does any host to stay in business for long..