
|
View Full Version : What nonsense is this?
fewcoin 02-08-2004, 01:42 AM I got this email below tonight. What do you make of it? Yes, I registered this domain and I have it sitting at Enom. This domain was just totally free. Deleted and available to register again. It wasn't even snapped. How can I know who had it before? I'm upset this guy infers I'm trying to sell it back to him at a higher price.
fewcoin
> In early December 2003, I began registering the domain name =
******.com, but I quit after doing everything but paying. I was =
unsure that was the best price I could get.
Now I need this name and I'm confused as to why my long search for where =
it went, led to you.
Are you going to use it? Did you get it just so I'd have to buy it from =
you?
Please tell me who you are & why you have this name. More importantly, =
please tell me when I can have it back.
*****
SoftWareRevue 02-08-2004, 01:51 AM Maybe it's a name that he believes would only be of value to him.
Either ignore the email, or contact him with an offer (while ignoring what you feel he's saying about you).
adland 02-08-2004, 02:16 AM From the sound of his message, it sounds like it was never his. But he thinks you might have known he tried to register it.
You can ignore him, contact him with an offer or simply reply that you didn't know of his intention to purchase and that, yes, you intend to use it for your own purposes.
CD Burnt 02-08-2004, 02:35 AM I recommend ignore. and don't sweat it. :)
fewcoin 02-08-2004, 02:55 AM Yep, I'll probably just ignore it. That email doesn't make much sense at all to me. How can this guy claim the domain is his when he never registered it? I feel like it came from a 9 year old or something. And what proof does he have he "tried" to register it? maybe he just wants it and makes these claims.
It's just so nonsensical and immature. If a decent person came and explained he let it drop by accident and offered to buy it back, I'll gladly give it to him but now I feel this guy is trying to pull a scam of some sort.
Thanks!
fewcoin
VoxKeysGtr 02-08-2004, 04:28 AM Ive gotten a few of these from people who somehow failed to notice that their domain had expired until I registered it.
It's their fault for not renewing their domain name when they had the chance, or by choosing an incompetent host that registered it for them to begin with.
At first I responded much like someone suggested - with a request for an offer - but invariably the offers were ridiculously low. So now, I just ignore the wackos! :)
nameslave 02-08-2004, 04:38 AM NEVER reply to suspicious e-mail. From the letter you quoted, this doesn't sound like coming from a very sensible person. I won't even bother trying to sell him or her the domain. Just IGNORE it.
kohashi 02-08-2004, 05:29 AM ignore it.
ExtremeIS 02-08-2004, 05:43 AM By the sounds of that email the guy or gal just sounds really clueless. My guess is that they have no idea how to register a domain, etc... but they think that because they tried to register it once it was reserved for them?
I guess you could ignore it but my curiosity would get the better of me and I'd want to know more.
dmaven 02-08-2004, 08:13 AM Disregard that e-mail
I, Brian 02-08-2004, 08:26 AM Originally posted by nameslave
NEVER reply to suspicious e-mail. From the letter you quoted, this doesn't sound like coming from a very sensible person. I won't even bother trying to sell him or her the domain. Just IGNORE it.
A good post. :)
Had a guy write to me once, yelling, that I'd "seen" him attempt to register a name, and grabbed it before his registration went through. I explained it was just coincidence, and he remained angry and ignorant.
Ignore it or explain it...but they probably won't believe you anyway.
I'd ignore it.
CreativeLogic 02-08-2004, 10:46 AM You should almost never reply with an offer. It makes it seem as though you are cyber-squating... That is exactly why Mike Rowe who owned MikeRoweSoft.com may of lost the lawsuit Microsoft would of brought to him. It is just best to see if they make you an offer. Just never ask them to make you an offer.
Acroplex 02-08-2004, 01:18 PM Tell him you know where he lives and that you are 6ft 5" and 220 lbs and with a short temper. :D
hendricknet 02-08-2004, 01:33 PM If you're not using it, and it appears to be valuable to him, why not contact him and try to work out a deal?
Acroplex 02-08-2004, 01:34 PM If you want my opinion, the guy sounds and writes like a psycho.
CreativeLogic 02-08-2004, 01:36 PM Originally posted by ats-tech
If you're not using it, and it appears to be valuable to him, why not contact him and try to work out a deal?
Just make sure he offers the deal first...
RacingCatche 02-08-2004, 01:39 PM Everyone knows that in the domain game, you snooze, you lose. So while he was shopping around, the domain got snatched up. This is the business.
I'd say ignore him. It is obvious he waited too long. You did nothing wrong.
hendricknet 02-08-2004, 01:42 PM You'r right, he didn't do anything wrong, but he may be able to make some money off of his misfortune. (That is if you are not using the domain for anything)
fewcoin 02-08-2004, 02:49 PM The most irking thing about this guy is, he titles the email "My domain" How can anyone think they own it? This was a previously unregistered domain when I registered it. Anyway, I'm not going to respond to this child because I don't want to deal with another idiotic email.
As it happens, yes, I plan on developing a information site from it. Why couldn't this happen to one of my throw away domains of which most of mine are. LOL
Yes timechange, this guy does sound like a psycho.
Thanks for all the good inputs.
fewcoin
jheslop1 02-08-2004, 02:51 PM just ignore it as the other people said.
mrzippy 02-08-2004, 05:36 PM Originally posted by timechange.com
Tell him you know where he lives and that you are 6ft 5" and 220 lbs and with a short temper. :D Or tell him you're 5ft 4" and 120 lbs with blonde hair, green eyes, slight build, huge... uh... ankles... and you want to "meet" with him to discuss the problem.
:cartman: :D
Research Names 02-08-2004, 06:20 PM The person sounds like a child.
Research Names 02-08-2004, 06:24 PM You should ignore those types of E-mails.
fewcoin 02-08-2004, 07:25 PM He should have seen from the whois I'm in San Francisco and run the other way. If, he had any sense... LOL
fewcoin
nameslave 02-08-2004, 08:01 PM Originally posted by fewcoin
The most irking thing about this guy is, he titles the email "My domain" ...
You know what: If I were you, I would have missed that e-mail. I simply delete dozens of e-mail on a daily basis based on their subject lines alone, and I can tell you that with "my domain" as the title, that piece of mail won't have the slightest chance of getting through my "filter". :)
Bashar 02-09-2004, 09:13 AM try making a deal, reply to him saying its for sale for $1,000,000 :D
|