MStar
01-30-2004, 04:29 PM
Does this count as spam, or is it newsletter type stuff?
I got an order today for Fourteen dedicated servers, and i'm wondering.
I got an order today for Fourteen dedicated servers, and i'm wondering.
![]() | View Full Version : Opt-In E-Mail MStar 01-30-2004, 04:29 PM Does this count as spam, or is it newsletter type stuff? I got an order today for Fourteen dedicated servers, and i'm wondering. vengeful 01-30-2004, 04:45 PM Hmmz...im dumb sorry. did someone order 14 servers and you want to know if its legit? Wel..payment upfront, easy way to find out. Sorry if i totally missed the point of the thread. MStar 01-30-2004, 04:56 PM I'm asking if opt-in mail is spam or newsletters. :emlaugh: vengeful 01-30-2004, 05:03 PM Oh right, never heard of that...Im gonna go to the pub so i can have an excuse to be stupid. Byeeeee WH-Coach 01-30-2004, 05:05 PM Do a couple of checks...what is their main domain name? Whatever it is, search in google groups and see what you pull up. Ask why they're leaving their current HSP... Also, check the signup person's name against ROKSO (www.spamhaus.org) Every spammer that's tried to sign up with us always gives the same answer "We are totally CAN-SPAM compliant and we are opt-in mailings only.....we have the records to proove it.....etc..." Expect this to be a spammer. Incognito 01-30-2004, 06:34 PM Most of the time it is SPAM...even when legitimate opt-ins it leads to spam complaints as people forget the opted-in or don't recongize the name. Stay as far away as possible. Cirrostratus 01-30-2004, 07:07 PM Ask them if the use a "Closed Loop Confirmation" you can find a description of it here : http://www.spamhaus.org/mailinglists.html Also ask them if they store initail signup info including the IP Address and email accounts they used to sign up and any corespondence. If they start talking about them using "Double Opt-In" or "Triple Opt-In" crap they are full on spammers since there is no real way to do that in a legit manner. Also tell them that you charge a clean up fee of $500.00-$5000.00 USD per instance / spam run and that will be billed automatically against a CC kept on file. If they are a legit company they will have no problems with this since its somewhat works as a bond. If they balk at it and try to weasel out they are a spammer. I would also suggest you get any of their old IP's space you can find and check them out in NANAE / NANAS and also on www.openrbl.org. BitError 01-30-2004, 08:32 PM Any spammer will label their services as something ridiculous such as triple redundant opt-in. You basically find out if they're legit based upon how many complaints you receieve back. With valid e-mail marketing companies you would receive a complaint or two per week or month. With a bulk e-mailer who harvests address's or mails for people that suppply address's it's much more likely to be spam whether intentional of the client or not. It's definitely shaky ground I would discuss their business with them directly before opening the server up to them. If your netblock or a portion of it becomes black listed it can effect other sectors of your business. MStar 01-30-2004, 09:20 PM Will do. If it is a spammer, I'll post the domain he's trying to use. amusive.com 01-30-2004, 10:09 PM Opt-in email is good. It's nice -- people have opted in to receive information, and they are sent that information. However, it's quite likely that the user is just lying and saying it's opt-in when it isn't. |