Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Weird search engine find - managed.com doesnt give a crap about spammers apparently


neoshell
01-25-2004, 03:26 AM
This is kind of a weird one. We started a new site and checked google for our exact domain name and pulled 1 strange hit. Our domain, IPs and nameservers puled up but the site was:

ns.sinuspl.net/66.79.160.0_19.txt - 17k - Cached - Similar pages

We go and look and this guy has a txt file list of most of our IP block at managed.com along with quite a few other peoples, and his site looks like a nameserver at first glance. I surf up his domain and find he has about 20 lists, all different IP blocks but listing every hostname and IP for a given range. Checking his out on whois determines its a shell host who seems to hold polish / german IRC fans.

I email support at managed immediately to express my concern, I'm not sure what this is but its bothersome, is it a spammer? someone hijacking hostnames for IRC or a scanner/ rooter's hitlist?
Managed basicaly came back with , and I'm not kidding, "so what? " I mean, this list has every Manged server, mail server, IP etc and thier attitude was like, yeah big deal.

Can anyone look at this site and tell me what they think is behind this? Of course I'm upset that searches for us will turn this up and very upset that we might be the target of a spammer or port scanner.

Heres teh top level site:
http://ns.sinuspl.net

Heres one Managed.com I{ block dig:

http://ns.sinuspl.net/66.79.160.0_19.txt

I just want to know if the weird feeling in the pit of my stomach over this means anything I guess, and if its nefarious, what can I do about it?

kckclass
01-25-2004, 12:28 PM
not just you... he has at least 5.5 meg in zone records for MIT... ?


he has MTV and a gazillion other media links

so is this just a legit dns lookup? I am pretty new to all this but yes, it is a lot of spidering going on...

Steven
01-25-2004, 12:47 PM
managed doesnt care about much anyways. thats what you get with a budge provider

bitserve
01-25-2004, 02:11 PM
I'm not sure what this has to do with spamming. And although I agree that they shouldn't have replied to a customer in the manner tha they did, I also don't see your concern that someone has a list of PTR records for some network IP addresses on his or her site.

neoshell
01-26-2004, 04:05 AM
I think the question is WHY? Why have complete PTR lookups stored on a shell host server under a shell account that appears to be a nameserver at first glance? My instinct is theres something wierd going on here. I would be very interested in what the shell provider is doing with those records if it was my company, at the least you can bet anyone from that domain is bocked from all my servers now.