Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : To Good To Be True - Surely


HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 09:08 AM
I was looking on a few sites for somebody to help configure a Portal and install it.

I have had communications with somebody who said they will install a Vportal and Vbulettin and would install it for and configuer it to my needs for $40 .

Now to mee that sees awfully cheap as I though Cbuletin was an expensive product.

The guy says he has many licenses and many templates as well and once the site is up and installed I won't have to pay another penny (oops dime) ;) in fact here is what he said word for word
Once its installed, it will be there forever. I have several licenses and they are all lifetime.

I bought a reseller license, so I have as many copies as I want.

I am ready to get started when you are.


Now the guy has a website and they do Hosting as well!!!

Is this for real or am I getting scammed

inteltechs
01-20-2004, 09:11 AM
you are getting scammed.

rghf
01-20-2004, 09:12 AM
For the cost of installation alone (excluding the license its a fair price). However looking over http://www.vbulletin.com/order/ I can't see any "lifetime" licenses. Doesn't sit right with me

Rus

HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 09:13 AM
I'm glad I havent paid any money yet ... So why do you think he is offering to do it for me before getting payment.

I thought it was to good to be true :rolleyes:

rghf
01-20-2004, 09:16 AM
Well TBH what I would suggest is either install it yourself or get someone on the forum to just install it. For licenses either buy you own or I've seen people who do (and legally can) will sell you an owned license over a year at $20/mo so they make $40 profit on the license.

Thats what I would do

Rus

HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 09:18 AM
After seeing waht it can do as the bloke ven gave me access to another site he was doing to have a look at the admin tools I kinda fell in love with it.

And he was giving it to me for $40 all in no monthyl fee nothing and it was going to be mine for life

wheimeng
01-20-2004, 09:26 AM
Probably he carded it or so, I have received such offers before but I never bothered to look into it. :)

Neo_The_One
01-20-2004, 09:30 AM
he just got a nullified version that meens, A FREE, HACKED version of it.. now he can share and do what ever he wants with it and probleby for him 40 USD is a lot so he takes what he gets for it.. and when JetSoft finds your site your screwed.. witch meens you wood be running a illegale copy of it.. !

HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 09:34 AM
So your saying basically don't touch it with a barge poll. I have th guys website details regarding hosting etc etc. I don't want to post them here should I let somebody know or is there a way I can find out if it's legit maybee he is just being charitable!! :D

rghf
01-20-2004, 09:44 AM
Do a search here or on groups.google.com

Rus

HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 09:49 AM
Didnt mean to post that so i Have edited it

Davros
01-20-2004, 10:03 AM
Notify vBulletin of this guy's address..
they are very courteous and thankful for people who help them track pirates.

They won't hold you responsible in any way.

HelpQuick
01-20-2004, 10:22 AM
Can somebody give me contact details so i can resolve this quickly.

Im in the Uk

Thanks very much

Davros
01-20-2004, 10:53 AM
You could make a submission if you think he is running a pirate site himself..

Submit his URL here:
http://www.vbulletin.com/contact/piracy.php

Or if you'd like to include specific details send to
info@vbulletin.com

Seeing as this guy's selling multiple sites (as claimed) you may or may not know their urls so in order to help put a stop to the issue you may want to write them and explain the situation.

Zenutech
01-21-2004, 03:01 AM
Hey,

vbulletin can be hacked so that you can run it without paying.

This is a scam, beware.

AHFB HTML
01-21-2004, 09:28 AM
Contact piracy@vbulletin.com if it is legit they will tell you, if not they will shut them down.

Dave

Esr Tek
01-21-2004, 09:35 AM
Definte Scam.. report the guy to VB

HelpQuick
01-21-2004, 09:39 AM
Thanks Guys i have reported them which is a shame as I was wanting it to be legit.

It's a shame there are people like that out there

Neo_The_One
01-21-2004, 10:14 AM
Could you PM me the link if you dont want to share the link with the whole world please ?

I understand if you dont want to.. :)

thx