3rdcoast
01-11-2004, 01:19 AM
anyone use this service? A search gave me no results, so i assume they are new. Offshore Merchant Account services.
www.global-bill.com
www.global-bill.com
![]() | View Full Version : global-bill.com ?? 3rdcoast 01-11-2004, 01:19 AM anyone use this service? A search gave me no results, so i assume they are new. Offshore Merchant Account services. www.global-bill.com taburl 01-11-2004, 12:59 PM I'd never heard of them until the past 24 hours - over which period I've received 1 SPAM message for each of my 3 personal email accounts. Lesli 01-11-2004, 02:20 PM I've gotten seven spam emails from them. This does not make me want to work with them (the opposite, as a matter of fact). Other than that, I haven't heard a thing about them. Mark_TVI 01-11-2004, 02:52 PM They spammed me as well, 11 times to be exact all of which I reported. I agree with Lesli and would avoid using any company that likes to SPAM, just because they SPAM.... hycloud 01-11-2004, 04:05 PM Yup, I just got SPAM from them today. They seem to be from Hong Kong. The company that is. RMF 01-11-2004, 07:46 PM I got 16 emails (spam) from them. RMF mcncyo 01-11-2004, 07:55 PM i got 1 spam from them Tux-e-do 01-11-2004, 07:58 PM Did you guys only get an email from them after visiting their website? I'll not visit this website just in case :D Aushosts 01-11-2004, 08:12 PM Got 8 spam emails from them. Help desk was full of it :( RMF 01-11-2004, 08:38 PM They only sent email to my addresses associated with any domain names (whois contact), therefor I believe they're gathering email addresses from the whois database. RMF hycloud 01-11-2004, 08:47 PM Hmm... well, the spam my email that is posted on whois database, so I think RMF is right. Nope, I never visited global bill before the SPAM. :D Lesli 01-11-2004, 10:59 PM I've never visited their site, and some of the emails came to Scribehost's domain contact - so, yep, they're scouring WHOIS records. Some of the emails came in to the sales email address, though. Angel78 01-12-2004, 01:12 PM Domain visted? No. Reported to Spamcop? Yes. :) Aussie Bob 01-12-2004, 01:46 PM Originally posted by snide I'd never heard of them until the past 24 hours - over which period I've received 1 SPAM message for each of my 3 personal email accounts. Yep, I got spammed under the disguise of a Newsletter/Ezine. :rolleyes: :cartman: Reddrake 01-12-2004, 07:30 PM Spammed as well "_" First time heard of them, and will be the last. I will just blacklist the IP from my server "_" nybble 01-12-2004, 07:39 PM I can't seem to get to their site... are you in the market for a merchant account? :eek: If you are I would not use them from what I have heard... however I am still very firm about how I feel about http://www.pay-line.com who I have been useing for awhile now :) great place (No I am not getting paid off to say this, I just really like their service) Reality Hosting 01-12-2004, 08:16 PM Add me to the list of companies they've spammed oasch 01-24-2004, 07:47 PM their site looks great! don't believe the hype! 1) they claim to have been in business since 2000, and yet according to their domain name records, "global-bill.com was first registered in january of 2003! 2) they claim to be based in hong kong. but accrding to their domain name records, the domain global-bill.com by someone in oslo, norway: Registrant: Web Administrator Boks 6358 Etterstadt Oslo n/a N-0604 NO 2B) ...also, a traceroute reveals they servers are hosted in the Ukraine!! ... 17 kl3662-4.dg.net.ua (213.186.193.4) 168.372 ms 164.862 ms 166.893 ms 18 193.254.246.11 (193.254.246.11) 174.195 ms 173.811 ms 173.845 ms 3) their FAQ clearly states that they process online gambling transactions. (nothing wrong with that as a lot of valid bank process these type of transactions.) but global-bill publically states that they "code" all online gambling transactions as a "General Business Transaction". WRONG! i have not seen this since 2000. VISA and MasterCard have very few regulations. the ONE regulation that they inforce with an iron fist is that ALLL ONLINE GAMBLING TRANSACIONS MUST!!! BE CODED AS "GAMBLING" (Code#7995). If nothing else, the clearly in violation of VISA/MasterCard enforced regulations and are just asking to be terminated. 4) their customer service number is in fact a hong kong country/area code, BUT !! no one answers their phone - only a generic message that is THE SAME message that you get when you sign up for a J2.com premium account!! (J2 is a great service! you can get a phone number in a number of countries - including hong kong - for about 9.99 a month you don't have to live there, and you don't have to give them any personal information. very cool.) bottom line: global-bill is using J2 as a phone service. they don't ACTUALLY have a phone number in hong kong. let's review: global-bill was "launched" in 2000 but didn't register their domain name until 2003. they use a cheap/anonymous phone service to "appear" as tho they actually have an office in hong kong, but the owner is registered to be living in norway and the servers are in the ukraine. oh yea! and they publical disclose they are in clear violation of visa/mastercard mandetory regulations. but hey! they are having a special "end of year" promotion where the application is free! all yu have to do is send them US$2500 for the setup fee!! hey what a bargain. conclusion: this is a scam. it is possible they are actually running a service. and it is possible it will actually work for a while. (i have no idea as i havn't tried it myself). but they WILL be shut down. why do i know? i have already reported the link to the VISA Abuse Board. if you give them your 2500.00, you just lost it. "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is." oasch! HostFolks 01-24-2004, 10:33 PM I just got this spam too. RMF 01-24-2004, 10:40 PM Yesterday I got more spam saying that they had server problems and they also said it would be the last time they spam. Hopefully this is true. RMF cdgcommerce 01-24-2004, 11:49 PM I got spammed by them today as well. Never heard of them before this. amusive.com 01-25-2004, 04:50 PM I had heard of them before, but not sure how or where... but I remember when I got spammed by them I had already seen the site before ;) cdgcommerce 01-27-2004, 12:25 PM But... when you had seen the site before, was it from another earlier spam? Hehe. :) amusive.com 01-27-2004, 01:01 PM Probably. I know a while back I was looking at a LOT of sites offernig merchant accounts though, so who knows. Hottie 01-31-2004, 11:42 AM We run a couple of adult sites and have a global-bill merchant account are happy with them so far, cause they pay ontime and never missed a payment yet. Unlike those scums at epointprocessing who screwed us so bad and we've never seen a payment from them for the 3 months we processed with them. I personally would not judge someone and call them scam just cause they use spam for advertising. I don't know any business that at one point or another did not think about using spam for promoting their site. Even we did it once - it just was not worth the problems and the costs associated with it.. 74s3 01-31-2004, 12:23 PM I've also been looking into Global-Bill. The information posted above is 100% true and i also have some more info. use the keyword "global-bill.com processing" and look at the groups on google. (I can't post url's as i'm a new member) They seem to look great but all emails even technical support ones with names like "Brian Wong" originate with a Ukraine IP address. I'd like to belive this service and the post above even recommends other services in another thread however seeing is believing. If this company is legit then why do they hide so much information from and why dont they just come out and say "hey we're in the ukraine and we're a reseller!" I'm certainly not going to send $2,500 for a "setup fee" until i see something solid from them. Beware... allthough i'd like to be proved wrong. 74S3 xtsy 01-31-2004, 01:33 PM Originally posted by oasch 1) they claim to have been in business since 2000, and yet according to their domain name records, "global-bill.com was first registered in january of 2003! [/B] They are now caliming to be in business since 1997 take a look at this on their our services page. "Since April 1997 Global-Bill has been processing secure realtime credit card transactions for Internet merchants, from consumers and businesses in 183 countries around the world." Did they they just change it now to 1997? LOL Research Names 02-03-2004, 08:47 PM They spammed me several times! cdgcommerce 02-03-2004, 08:50 PM Be very careful with offshore processors who want to charge high setup fees. I have personally seen merchants get burned badly. Most of these offshore processors are actually middlemen or resellers for offshore banks. So make sure that the representations that they make to you are mirrored by the actual company who will be doing your processing. NOTE: I am NOT saying that Global-Bill or anyone else is a scam. I'm just making a general note of caution for anyone contemplating an offshore account... it is a real minefield so be very careful and don't move forward if your little "inner voice" gives you the wrong vibe. Research Names 02-03-2004, 08:59 PM Originally posted by Angel78 Domain visted? No. Reported to Spamcop? Yes. :) Reporting to SpamCop doesn't really help with these types of spammers. 74s3 02-04-2004, 05:18 AM Global-bill is a scam! The documentation they send out for API belongs to another processor in netherlands. I've spoken to them and said the documents were created by an ex-employee who left in the year 2000. G |