Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : A web host query (**************)


Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:16 AM
Guys

Have any of you used **************? They have ASP.NET shared hosting options that look good (as far as specs go).

But I just wanted a testimonial or two before risking it.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards
Nish :-)

p.s. Its not allowing me to post the URL - but I guess you can get to it through google :-)

p.s. #2 - meanwhile lemme see if I can use html-encoding to post the URL here somehow :-)

Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:18 AM
Hmmmmm

It replaces the host name with *s, presumably to prevent spammers coming here and bombing the forums with ads for web hosting.

Anyone knows how I can get the web host name to come here un-filtered?

Nish :-(

xyzulu
12-29-2003, 12:18 AM
The RULES!:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/misc.php?s=&action=forum-rules

# Participants may not post URLs that are censored by adding spaces, dots, or substituting characters; or by any other means in an attempt to defeat the censors put in place by WebHostingTalk.
# Participants must make five (5) posts before allowed by the system to include a URL in their posts. This includes posts in the Advertising Forums.

SoftWareRevue
12-29-2003, 12:21 AM
It means that they have a hard time conforming to this Forum's Guidelines.

Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:26 AM
Ah okay - thanks guys :-) I didn't read the forum rules to be frank. I been searching for a web host for a while now and reading forum rules was not something I felt like doing (my fault entirely of course - real bad manners on my part). I'll wait a while (make a few proper (means not faked) comments on other threads) and come back and try and post the real URL :-)

Sorry for the er rather newbieish behavior so far.

Regards
Nish

SoftWareRevue
12-29-2003, 12:32 AM
Posting the URL again will not make a difference. It would look the same if I were to post it.

It means that the domain name is censored on this forum because they couldn't follow the rules that you read.

Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:38 AM
Hello SoftWareRevue

Okay - so I didn't understand correctly earlier. So basically the issue is that the web-host I have in mind abused the forums on an earlier date which led you to banning them (in the sense their name gets filtered out).

Now does this usually also indicate indirectly that their service is poor? Or is it just a reflection of the fact that someone who works for them was stupid enough to try spam-type ads on the forums here?

Nish

Martie
12-29-2003, 12:39 AM
Nish...just so you understand...the **** means the name you are trying to type is banned from WHT, so even when you are able to post URL's you will see the ** IF that particular host is still banned.
SoftWareRevue was referring to whomever it is that the *** appears instead of the name.
hope that helps clarify :D

SoftWareRevue
12-29-2003, 12:43 AM
They 'may' be a great provider.

Just a poor Forum member.

Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:43 AM
Thanks Martie

Yup, I figured it out by now. Initially I thought the filtering was due to my being a new member. Now it seems the filtering is due to the fact that the web host I referred to had earlier done something silly on these forums.

Now I am quite worried. They are the only hosting provider I found that I can afford (ASP.NET hosting) . I am from India (so I have to multiple every $ by 47.5 to get the equivalent in Indian currency). So ASP.NET hosting is quite expensive for me for the minimum features I want :-(

I don't want to risk going for a web host that cant follow regular public forum rules. Professional web hosts wouldnt abuse a forum and it certaily shows they are also quite dumb to have done so.

Overall my search is going bad. I've spent 4-5 hours and am yet to come up with an affordable dependable host that has the features I expect.

Nish

Nish1977
12-29-2003, 12:47 AM
Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
They 'may' be a great provider.

Just a poor Forum member.

Ah okay - gives me new hope - that does :-)

Nish