Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Is this for Real? Windows 2000 Server $34.95


davet
12-24-2003, 10:55 PM
http://ezprosoft.biz/

It would be nice to purchase windows 2000 server at $34.95

Is this site for real? How can they get away with charging these prices? I am 99.99999% positive this is a scam.

Has anyone purchased software at these prices? Did you receive the product?

CoolinHL
12-24-2003, 10:56 PM
It would help if you included a URL. :)

davet
12-24-2003, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by CoolinHL
It would help if you included a URL. :)

my bad, too much egg-nog

KIA-Joe
12-24-2003, 11:00 PM
http://ezprosoft.biz/faq.html

It states that this is considered backup software.

So it is illegal if you do not own a unique license.

davet
12-24-2003, 11:04 PM
Originally posted by KIAHost
http://ezprosoft.biz/faq.html

It states that this is considered backup software.

So it is illegal if you do not own a unique license.

sounds like a glorified scam to me, i guess i was right

Davros
12-24-2003, 11:15 PM
Big Time Scam..
They claim the software is the OEM package.. In otherwords no box.. Just like you get with a purchase of a new PC with pre-loaded OS. Unless M$ has changed the rules in order to buy, or for the retailer to sell you a copy of the OEM Software you MUST buy a new system or a new HD to install the OS on.

This is probably where all the CD's go from Pewlet Crapard machines that have Windows installed on the HD but they never give you a master of the Windows CD. You're suposed to make your own from the img on the drive.

Bling Bling
12-24-2003, 11:21 PM
There order form is not even secure,plus according to there whois they are located in hong kong.


Non-Secure order form + Hong Kong Company = Scam...

Chicken
12-24-2003, 11:49 PM
Send it to abuse@bill and I'm sure he'll send out a love letter to them, wishing them a joyous New Year.

Cirtex
12-25-2003, 12:10 AM
There's been few sites related to this type of scamming posted on WHT lately...it's pretty common now adays and im sure many would go for it and purchase these.

7de5igns
12-25-2003, 12:17 AM
wow this has scam written all over it.

KIA-Joe
12-25-2003, 12:51 AM
I'm sure the movie "The Santa Clause" would like to know an image of theirs is being used.

Jake Weg
12-25-2003, 12:59 AM
wow now thats a scam allright :)

Davros
12-25-2003, 01:17 AM
Funny.. Now the site is dead.. I just get a timeout.. I wonder if they got nabbed that quick. Or if they got DOSed.. lol

KIA-Joe
12-25-2003, 01:34 AM
Unfortunately it's still working.

Davros
12-25-2003, 01:41 AM
Must be sComcast's DNS/routers again then.. It's down for me.. It just sits there trying to resolve forever, then finally trys to connect and then times out.