pgrote
09-21-2001, 11:28 AM
Hello,
I thought what the heck and registered a few .BIZ domain names. I was pretty shocked to see that two of them have been challenged as trademarks, etc.
The two names in question are CINCINNATI.BIZ and WEBSITES.BIZ. Don't ask me why I registered them. I was on a late night second wind caffeine induced funk and those were a couple of the words I thought of.
Interestingly, they have been reserved by other companies.
CINICINNATI.BIZ is claimed by Time Warner. This is odd as the current CINCINNATI.COM is owned by the Cincinnati Enquirer, the local paper. The only ties Time Warner has to the Cincinnati area is cable. They are the largest cable company in the area. Here is what they say:
The following are the details of each IP Claim for cincinnati.biz.
1a. Intellectual Property Claimant's Contact Information
Time Warner Cable
160 Inverness Drive West
Englewood
Colorado
80112
1b. Trademark or Service Mark: NotProvidedInBulk
1c. IP Claim String and Identification Number: cincinnati.biz 67611
1d. Description of Goods and/or Services: Common Law
1e. Alleged Date of First Use: 2000-10-01 00:00:00.
1f. Country of First Use: USA.
1g. Trademark Status: COMMON
1h. Date "Registered" or "Applied For":
1i. International Class: Not Applicable
The other site WEBSITES.BIZ was claimed by Verio. They own the name WEBSITES.COM, so I understand where they are coming from. Unfortunatley, websites is a common word and not trademarked. Here is what they say:
1a. Intellectual Property Claimant's Contact Information
Verio Inc.
8005 South Chester Street
Suite 200
Englewood
CO
80112
1b. Trademark or Service Mark: websites
1c. IP Claim String and Identification Number: websites.biz 9002
1d. Description of Goods and/or Services: Providing multiple user dial-up and
dedicated access to computer networks, internal computer networks and global
computer networks for the transfer and dissemination of a wide range of
information; wireless communication services, namely, digital messaging services;
electronic voice messaging services, namely, the rec
1e. Alleged Date of First Use: 2000-12-01 00:00:00.
1f. Country of First Use: USA.
1g. Trademark Status: COMMON
1h. Date "Registered" or "Applied For": 2000-12-01 00:00:00
1i. International Class: Not Applicable
So, here is my question ... how does the appeal process work? I want to go through with it on Cincinnati.BIZ for the simple fact it's Time Warner's way of grabbing what they can. They have no legitimate claim against it.
Although I would love to get WEBSITES.BIZ, my thought is that Verio should be able to register it as they have WEBSITES.COM.
Anyone know how the actual appeal process works? Will it cost me money? Is anyone doing this right now?
THANKS!
I thought what the heck and registered a few .BIZ domain names. I was pretty shocked to see that two of them have been challenged as trademarks, etc.
The two names in question are CINCINNATI.BIZ and WEBSITES.BIZ. Don't ask me why I registered them. I was on a late night second wind caffeine induced funk and those were a couple of the words I thought of.
Interestingly, they have been reserved by other companies.
CINICINNATI.BIZ is claimed by Time Warner. This is odd as the current CINCINNATI.COM is owned by the Cincinnati Enquirer, the local paper. The only ties Time Warner has to the Cincinnati area is cable. They are the largest cable company in the area. Here is what they say:
The following are the details of each IP Claim for cincinnati.biz.
1a. Intellectual Property Claimant's Contact Information
Time Warner Cable
160 Inverness Drive West
Englewood
Colorado
80112
1b. Trademark or Service Mark: NotProvidedInBulk
1c. IP Claim String and Identification Number: cincinnati.biz 67611
1d. Description of Goods and/or Services: Common Law
1e. Alleged Date of First Use: 2000-10-01 00:00:00.
1f. Country of First Use: USA.
1g. Trademark Status: COMMON
1h. Date "Registered" or "Applied For":
1i. International Class: Not Applicable
The other site WEBSITES.BIZ was claimed by Verio. They own the name WEBSITES.COM, so I understand where they are coming from. Unfortunatley, websites is a common word and not trademarked. Here is what they say:
1a. Intellectual Property Claimant's Contact Information
Verio Inc.
8005 South Chester Street
Suite 200
Englewood
CO
80112
1b. Trademark or Service Mark: websites
1c. IP Claim String and Identification Number: websites.biz 9002
1d. Description of Goods and/or Services: Providing multiple user dial-up and
dedicated access to computer networks, internal computer networks and global
computer networks for the transfer and dissemination of a wide range of
information; wireless communication services, namely, digital messaging services;
electronic voice messaging services, namely, the rec
1e. Alleged Date of First Use: 2000-12-01 00:00:00.
1f. Country of First Use: USA.
1g. Trademark Status: COMMON
1h. Date "Registered" or "Applied For": 2000-12-01 00:00:00
1i. International Class: Not Applicable
So, here is my question ... how does the appeal process work? I want to go through with it on Cincinnati.BIZ for the simple fact it's Time Warner's way of grabbing what they can. They have no legitimate claim against it.
Although I would love to get WEBSITES.BIZ, my thought is that Verio should be able to register it as they have WEBSITES.COM.
Anyone know how the actual appeal process works? Will it cost me money? Is anyone doing this right now?
THANKS!
