Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Are these people nuts?


Dylan
09-10-2001, 10:42 PM
Got this spam today. Take a look at the reselller setup fee and also visit their partners page and visit some of their partners to see how much they charge for a website design :eek: :eek:

Also, notice they said they visited my site. Will someone please visit my site www.hypnotism.nu and tell me what you see :D



Begin email:

Dear Colleagues,

I'm Tony Burroughs, CEO of Kemford LLC (http://kemford.com) and I'm writing because one of the members of our staff visited your site at www.hypnotism.nu recently and mentioned that it would be a good idea if we explored the possibility of partnering with you.

You were described as having an "impressive hosting service package".

If you've been thinking that you'd like to supply your visitors with a complement of extremely attractive, professional-quality web designs at a price they can't resist - or, your customers frequently ask you for website templates, site builders, or more affordable web design services - then perhaps we can be of service.

I suggest that you take a moment and look at http://site-show.kemford.com

Now, for no set-up fees whatsoever, we can provide you with your own store of exceptional Instant Website Designs under your own name, ie: site-show.hypnotism.nu

Here's how it works: When you sign up with us, we'll insert our Gallery of Instant Websites (site-show.hypnotism.nu) directly into your pages so that you can offer these innovative designs to your hosting customers.

You'll also be given access to our Website Provider Center where you can customize your new system's appearance, ordering parameters, and pricing structure. (You can charge your customers whatever you like.) After that, all you have to do is pay us when you get an order. It's as simple as that!

(And don't be surprised if your customers think that you've had a staff of 20 programmers and developers who spent the last 2 years developing this spectacular system - we know, because that's what it took us to do it!)

Our other partners are always telling us how pleased they are to have an affordable package to offer to their customers who want to spend hundreds instead of thousands on a website. To see how several of them have integrated our Gallery of Designs into their own websites, you can visit: http://www.kemford.com/our_partners.go

For more details, you can call us, send an email, or visit our website at http://www.kemford.com .

We look forward to partnering with you.

All the best,

Tony Burroughs
CEO, Kemford LLC
_________________________________________________
Kemford LLC
5325 Elkhorn Blvd, # 8126. Sacramento,CA 95842
Phone: 916-3133403, 888-4378001, Fax: 916-2442630
Kemford Website Providing Technology: www.KEMFORD.com

dherman76
09-10-2001, 10:46 PM
We got this email too :) What do you think?

cperciva
09-10-2001, 10:50 PM
That's a relatively mild case of looniness. I've had much worse (better?) examples, including a rather touching letter from someone I've never met describing me as their "saviour". Of course, the email I received from a VC comes pretty high on that list as well....

SoftWareRevue
09-10-2001, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by Dylan
. . . . . .Will someone please visit my site www.hypnotism.nu and tell me what you see . . . . . Welcome to your FREE introductory web site. lol

acetate
09-10-2001, 10:51 PM
Got that this morning too.. I surfed around their site and noticed they have pretty nice templates..

freeva
09-10-2001, 11:17 PM
I got their email too. Actually received it twice on same email address.

sqposter
09-10-2001, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by Dylan

Also, notice they said they visited my site. Will someone please visit my site www.hypnotism.nu and tell me what you see :D



Your site design was very nice. ( if I had only 1 half of that talent ). and somewhat easy ( any easiers and I would have to turn down the volume ) mostly bobby compliant.

-Michael

Haze
09-10-2001, 11:58 PM
We got the email as well. I didnt even bother to check out the site, im sick of spam and i just wont tolerate it. Period.

klisis
09-11-2001, 12:04 AM
I got similar e-mail, or should I call SpAm.

Dylan
09-11-2001, 12:42 AM
I think I'm beginning to go nuts. Wasn't this in the lounge earlier on?

seattlite
09-11-2001, 12:57 AM
Isnt this blatant spam technique illegal?

cperciva
09-11-2001, 01:02 AM
Originally posted by seattlite
Isnt this blatant spam technique illegal?

Maybe. In a case like this, charges of wire fraud would be possible -- because the authors are deliberately lying (about visiting the web site etc.) in an attempt to increase their sales.

That said, it would require a good lawyer to make the case stick, and I doubt anyone would have the time and money to pursue it to the extent necessary.

Cephren
09-11-2001, 01:21 AM
Doh, we got 3 copies of it today morning also.....one to sales, one to info and one to me...... and what was funny was that it was directed to all the different domains (mirrored site URL)

seattlite
09-11-2001, 01:55 AM
I guess im sort of a novice in this area, but isnt SPAM illegal, and because this is obviously spam(unsolicited bulk email) arent some rules being broken.

Ive always had that impression(spam=illegal), but I just realized that I dont truly know.

The question is sort of topic, and im not encouraging anyone to go after those folks, just slightly confused about the legality of spam.

NewonNet
09-11-2001, 02:25 AM
Here are their info.

If you want some answer, try calling their 800 number. They're paying for it.

You can also contact us by mail:
Kemford LLC
5325 Elkhorn Blvd. PMB # 8126
Sacramento, CA, 95842.

Fax: 916-244-2630
Phone: 916-313-3403
Phone/Fax: (888)-437-8001

determinist
09-11-2001, 02:30 AM
I've got such "spam" too, but not sure if it's from the same company :confused: , It seem like this isn't the only company which applied such "marketing strategies". Them seem to digged up email address from whois information.

seattlite
09-11-2001, 02:33 AM
I think if someone bothers to look up whois information, than its probably not spam(at least they put some effort into getting some information about you).

sbrad
09-11-2001, 03:07 AM
I got it too.
But could we PLEASE not start another "What's the definition of sPaM?" thread?

JayC
09-11-2001, 03:59 AM
Originally posted by sbrad
I got it too.
But could we PLEASE not start another "What's the definition of sPaM?" thread? Agreed. But I'll still say this: there is no "official" or legal definition of spam, so anyone defining it is simply expressing their opinion or that of someone else; and sending unsolicited bulk email -- while a violation of almost every provider's acceptable use policy -- is not (in most countries, including the US) illegal.

seattlite
09-11-2001, 10:59 AM
heh, ok thanks for clearing that up. For sbrad's sake we can leave it at that.:)