Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Warning for hosters


drhonk
08-31-2001, 11:47 AM
Hi guys,

Just a little warning for you guys. Recently, one of our client is doing some major spamming. Not using our server but the spam reference to his site which is hosted on our server. We received around 100 emails complaining about his spamming activity. We had no choice but to disable his account.

His site is about pre-registering the new LTDs domain. We made a strong notice to him when he signed up that we do not tolerance any spamming activity referencing to his site and he agreed. But I guess he didn't listen.

Anyways, just today .. we received 6 request for a new account with different domains, but same type of website. We decided to refuse every single one of them.

So .. just a little warning to you guys hosters, Be careful when dealing with this kind of people. They provide domain pre-registration service and they are some MAJOR SPAMMERS. I'm not surprise if he's looking for another hosting provider right now.


Cheers,

UmBillyCord
08-31-2001, 12:21 PM
Anyways, just today .. we received 6 request for a new account with different domains, but same type of website. We decided to refuse every single one of them.

Help us out. What domains (or at least give us a hint) are they?

drhonk
08-31-2001, 01:07 PM
Their domain name always contain "domain" .. such as

- newdomainregistry.net (we disabled his account last night)
- newdomainfactory.com
- newdomainextension.com

.. and a lot more.


Hope that'll help

gnorthey00
08-31-2001, 01:13 PM
Wouldn't you need a dedicated to set up any sort of domain registration service? As I understand it, that is quite a bit of work to be done isnt' it script wise, space wise databases, mail automaton etc, You'd need quite a big account to set something like that up, more likely a dedicated, wouldn't you? (I don't know this stuff from experience, but my understanding is it takes quite a bit to set something like that up)

drhonk
08-31-2001, 01:37 PM
They're using API which connect to a main server somewhere. I don't know if they're part of one big company or they are resellers. All of them signed up under different name, different domains. But what's wierd is that .. their website looks so similar and designed by one person.

Deb
08-31-2001, 01:49 PM
On a similar note.... Network Solutions is also banning IP#s from querying their database for "excessive use".

We host an account that registers domains (a valid account offering a valid service) that uses a domain name lookup script which queries NSI's database. Recently their script just "stopped working" correctly and the result was found to be that NSI banned their IP. The response from NSI was They were blocked for doing an excessive amount of queries. What NSI has not provided is an answer for how to unban the IP #.

It seems sites such as these can cause problems in more than one way :(