Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Email... why not through my ISP??


dpedley
08-26-2001, 05:11 PM
Hello all... I wonder if anyone can help me understand this....

I've 3 websites which have been setup recently, one 7 days ago and the others 4 days.... they all work fine for browsing, ftp etc.

When I try and send an email to ANY of my accounts on any of the websites through my ISP's SMTP (smtp.lineone.net) the e-mails don't arrive and I get messages like this:

***************
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software (Exim).

A message that you sent has not yet been delivered to one or more of its
recipients after more than 48 hours on the queue on mk-smarthost-2.mail.uk.worldonline.com.

The message identifier is: 15aIrk-000EkF-00
The subject of the message is: test
The date of the message is: Fri, 24 Aug 2001 16:31:09 +0100
******************

Yet I can send e-mail through my ISP to anywhere else and it will arrive fine.

But the funny thing is that when I try and send e-mail to my websites from Hotmail or another free ISP (smtpmail.freenetname.co.uk) it works fine and arrives at my mail account on my site within minutes!!

Why is this? Is lineone the problem or my host?

Thanks for any help you can provide

Dave

WebSnail.net
08-26-2001, 07:43 PM
I can't comment on this one in particular but my "guess" (and that's all it is) would be that there's a DNS issue there somewhere or possibly something akin to the following....


On one job I worked over a whole summer on, I had the "pleasure" of dealing with BT Internet and their SMTP setup..

Basically it transpired after much hair pulling that their SMTP servers are only setup to send email for domains that are registered on their servers. So if you were using a third party web host like the project was then it refused to send the email.

BT claimed it was a security setting and ensured that their servers didn't get used for spam. Personally I suspect that it was a subtle "incentive" for customers to move their sites to BT hosting services. Nearly worked too as my boss at the time wanted the easy way out...

Anyway, that might explain why your email doesn't appear to be getting any further along...

Actually small brain wave... it may be that lineone has been blocked as a spammer because of some other user(s) actions. Just a thought.

I guess we'll see what others come up with... Hope that helps somewhat.

neil
08-26-2001, 09:41 PM
redundant and dumb and everything else I know.. but how about contacting your ISP and yor host? I would imagine if you sent two e-mails (one to each) the problem would be solved quite quickly - instead of posing here and waiting.

-neil

dpedley
08-27-2001, 05:56 AM
Hi websnail, neil....

I'm sending these emails to my domains as/from lineone user account with lineone e.g. username@lineone.net so they can't be stopping them getting through!

I've emailed the host again with the problem suggesting your spamming ban as a possible solution (thanks).

But Neil... I'm avoiding tech support at lineone as it's 50p/min and they don't give email support.

Dave