Serihost
08-26-2001, 04:13 PM
has anyone else heard about this? apparantly they received $1 million in funding from the CIA
very suspiscious... doesn't sound very 'safe' to me :)
very suspiscious... doesn't sound very 'safe' to me :)
![]() | View Full Version : safeweb funded by the CIA Serihost 08-26-2001, 04:13 PM has anyone else heard about this? apparantly they received $1 million in funding from the CIA very suspiscious... doesn't sound very 'safe' to me :) SoftWareRevue 08-26-2001, 04:31 PM :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: I doubt it :rolleyes: sbrad 08-26-2001, 07:55 PM has anyone else heard about this? apparantly they received $1 million in funding from the CIA Interesting. Is this a new rumor you're trying to start, or do you have a url that has info about this? I must admit, if I was the CIA, I would sure do it. ;) JeremyL 08-26-2001, 08:08 PM This is true. http://www.in-q-tel.com/ is the private VC arm of the CIA and they have investments in many companies including safeweb. Others include fas.org intelliseek.com srdnet.com Check out the latest issue of Information Security magazine for more info sbrad 08-26-2001, 08:36 PM Good call, JeremyL: In-Q-Tel, Inc., a private not-for-profit "venture catalyst" chartered by the CIA, is dedicated to developing information technology that enables the gathering of accurate, comprehensive, and timely information in the interest of national security. And there's SafeWeb, bigger than grits, right there on the "Portfolio" page. Damned if I use THAT again. brav0 08-31-2001, 05:18 AM Apparently the objective of CIA behind their Safeweb investment is to circumvent the Chinese national internet content filtering system. Check this out: http://interestalert.com/brand/siteia.shtml?Story=storage/qm/08300000aaa01225.nand&Sys=quotemedia creepcolony 08-31-2001, 12:19 PM i'm scared :bawling: Dogma 08-31-2001, 09:11 PM From an article I read (in WIRED i believe) the CIA funds it b/c they use the technology...not b/c they want to track ppl using it. |