Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Stolen Design Again (zerobrand)


TechnoHosts
08-25-2001, 01:58 PM
Take a look at http://MediaTemple.net
now take a look at
http://zerobrand.com/

Make sure to put your mouseover both links from both sites. It is the same javascript menu

People should do background checks on their webdesigners these days.

MCHost-Marc
08-25-2001, 02:28 PM
Looks like another one of those 'inspired' designs. :rolleyes:

Fremont Servers
08-25-2001, 02:31 PM
Can it be two sites designed by the same person (designer)?

MCHost-Marc
08-25-2001, 02:34 PM
I could come up with a huge list (if i had the time) of stolen designs i've seen in the past few weeks in the webhosting industry alone.

JayC
08-25-2001, 03:16 PM
I don't know. Both of those sites look as much similar to one another as they do to half a million other sites. I don't really see any specific elements that would link one design to the other; just a pretty common design approach. It's the current state of business-related site design; there's not much creativity around, and not much really wanted by most companies: people like their site to look basically like every other site.

Of course, the zerobrand people also went with the derivative approach in their logo design: the ubiquitous swoosh! (see http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=19309 )

MCHost-Marc
08-25-2001, 03:53 PM
Doesn't looks like ZeroBrand was simply 'inspired' by the design ...but they even took the javascript menu (notice the colors are still the same). :cartman:

TechnoHosts
08-25-2001, 04:04 PM
Well MediaTemple is a big web design firm
They designed ENSIM.com.

TechnoHosts
08-25-2001, 04:06 PM
their parent hositng company also took the same site and changed color schemes as well as collected graphics.
http://www.dovehost.com

Get-Hosted.com
08-25-2001, 04:44 PM
These are not copied sites. The only thing I can see that is the same is the java menu. It's a basic layout, with some tables that aren't even the same. Saying this site copied the other is like saying all those sites that have the left menu, with main image up top, and content in the rest of the site copied the other. It's a basic layout, and can't be considered a copy. For allb you know the java menu could be a free script available for download.

Tallon
08-25-2001, 04:49 PM
I would think that some similarities between sites is unavoidable, fonts, colors, layout, graphics, and various other elements. Granted some sites certainly have the same look and feel as others, while some are obviously rip off jobs. To make a site totally unique - unlike no other online, would probably mean you'd have to use puke green and bright pink with a huge font, everything spelled backwards, graphics that you had your two year old make.. you get the idea :) Mind you.. somewhere out there there would probably be a site that would resemble a site like that anyways *sigh*

MikeM
08-25-2001, 05:01 PM
Hmmm.

Looks like a standard free script to me....

//Custom code written by Media Temple, Inc. All rights reserved.

I dont think theres any thing wrong with that.......

Its unfortunate that the sites are similar, but It does'nt really appear stolen

wired1
08-25-2001, 05:12 PM
I would be alot more careful than just flying off the handle and posting;

Stolen Design Again (zerobrand)

I would be pissed as *&%$ if it was my site being interigated and there was no proof or even an email asking me about my design, just because someone happened to see a resemblance between another site and mine. I think a little more caution is in order than just calling poeple thiefs without a little more investigation or comparison in order.

NoahH
08-25-2001, 05:39 PM
What are you people thinking?!? Anyone can tell that it is a direct rip off. Can't you tell that they simply Viewed the Source?? Damn!

The side background
Both sites have a striped background. Same color, and they are both lined with dots.

The Drop Down
Both do the same action, both have the same arrow graphics, both are the same color, and both have similair (if not the same) links.

The Center Graphic
Both have the same alignment of the middle graphic.

Dots
Both have tons of dots lining the tables and background.

The Bottom
They both have the exact same copyright notice (besides the little house, and the words).

The Other Pages
The other pages are designed the same way also.

How much more f*cking proof do you guys need? THIS IS A BLATANT RIP OFF OF MEDIA TEMPLE.

I reported this site to www.pirated-sites.com.

Noah
x5media
nhalter@x5media.com

wired1
08-25-2001, 06:39 PM
Did you cantact either host and ask them about there designs, and if they saw any infringment with the other siteowners design?

I saw a whole lot of contact information on both of thier contact pages.

If not, I hope your right....

universal2001
08-25-2001, 11:23 PM
The 30 Day Money Back Guarantee Logo presented near the top at dovehost is identical to that of Hostway's one.

ORIGINAL:
www.hostway.com

COPIED:
http://www.dovehost.com/

MCHost-Marc
08-25-2001, 11:44 PM
Looks like they just took the design down. ;)

see: http://zerobrand.com/

creid
08-26-2001, 12:01 AM
not for me.....

Honu
08-26-2001, 03:17 AM
Aloha

looks like the site was taken down
darn ;(

anyway media temple is sweet one thought they did use MM to do the stuff so some similiar looks could be OK
but I did not see it as media temple did cutom tweak it
anybody do any screen grabs

mitocondrias
08-26-2001, 04:58 AM
As far as I know, Media Temple has some kind of deal with http://www.k10k.com/ , a famous and cool site about design (currently in vacation)

I donīt know if they only provided them hosting and k10k crew make the Media Temple design in exchange or if it is more than that. I wouldnīt be surprised if the people of k10k was the web design team of Media Temple.

(mediatemple.net is only about webhosting... mediatemple.com explains all their services...)

And about the rip-off...

In the moment that Iīm writing this, the sites of zerobrand and dovehost doesnīt match with the descriptions that I read in this thread...

Iīm not saying this is a rip-off because I really believe that I didnīt saw the site that you are talking about...

Somebody that saw the sites can look now please to confirm if they did a emergency redesign?

MCHost-Marc
08-26-2001, 01:28 PM
DoveHost didn't change anything ...but ZeroBrand took down a design that was almost identical to mediatemple's design. :cartman:

mitocondrias
08-26-2001, 07:15 PM
Well... Thanks for the confirmation Kiwi....

It's sad see ONE MORE of these cases happening...

Damn... How many rip-offs are around here?
Jeeez...

TechnoHosts
08-26-2001, 07:39 PM
It makes me sick when I see these duplicate sites, I'd like to hear if this company was victim to a corrupt web designer, or infact they knew.

lobley
01-31-2002, 03:06 PM
Any comments on gearhost.com? Not just similar to mediatemple but identical.

bizness3000
01-31-2002, 04:21 PM
This sort of fraud really sickens me! I do this work for a living, and when we work for days or even weeks on certain projects, this sort of thing is blatent crime!

if any of our work was copied for the gain of others, I would be very angry!

Anway, just thought I'd show a view of someone who is in the business of Webdesign / Graphicdesign. :)

Thanks for listening. :cool:

Rewdog
01-31-2002, 04:57 PM
that was posted 3 months ago..

Gearhost and mediatemple are indentical? Get some new glasses, they aren't at all.

optix
01-31-2002, 05:03 PM
seems like they either changed the design or something just doesn't look right. they don't look the same.

akashik
02-01-2002, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by universal2001
[B]The 30 Day Money Back Guarantee Logo presented near the top at dovehost is identical to that of Hostway's one.

That 30 day money back graphic has been ripped off so many times it's not funny. I must have seen it on close to 20 websites now.

Greg Moore

yeswebmaster
02-05-2002, 12:31 AM
The design that TechnoHosts.com used to have, they ripped off from me.

Does this look familiar: http://yeswebmaster.com/mis/designs/technohosts

I designed it for Chris, and he played dumb and never paid me.