Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : VeriSign stole our domain traffic!!!


SNHosting
09-25-2003, 11:57 AM
Today, we found that our domain serverlabs.com was point to verisign IP address, we have check with our domain name server etc and found no problem with them, it seem like problem came from verisign or our domain registrar, does there anyone have this problem?

How to have our domain point back to our IP. Even we try to update our domain dns also didn't help.

Anyone have solution?

Kevin

Loon
09-25-2003, 12:02 PM
I know this is a simple question, but are you sure you didn't make a typo in your domain.

It works fine here.

SNHosting
09-25-2003, 12:08 PM
check this : http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/dnstime.ch?name=serverlabs.com&type=A

I'm sure our dns server and dns database is setup correctly.

Any idea?

Kevin

Loon
09-25-2003, 12:46 PM
Originally posted by XeroMedia


It works fine here.

Like i already said, it works for me.

Go to http://alertra.com and use the spotcheck.

From the results you can see the HTML of the page that it got from your domain.

* edit - something does seem to be wrong though http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=serverlabs.com

puggy106
09-25-2003, 12:51 PM
Check out alexa.com - They have the most improved traffic rank right now by a long way ... maybe your not the only one!

4solutions
09-25-2003, 04:04 PM
ServerLabs.com is not coming up for me in Los Angeles. It is NOT going to Verisign, though, it's just not resolving at all.

H2
09-25-2003, 09:25 PM
?!?!?!? May be a problem on your registrar side? When I click to SERVERLABS.COM, it redirect me to sitefinder.veri****.com

whois is ok.

DNS servers:
NS1.SERVERLABS.COM
NS2.SERVERLABS.COM
NS3.SERVERLABS.COM
NS4.SERVERLABS.COM

Created: 01/11/00 01:43:34
Expires: 01/11/05 01:43:34

SNHosting
09-26-2003, 12:46 AM
What is Registrar-hold mean? And why enom put our domain on registrar-hold? Our domain didn't expire, why? Anyone can explain? Thank you.

Status: REGISTRAR-HOLD
Updated Date: 24-sep-2003
Creation Date: 11-jan-2000
Expiration Date: 11-jan-2005

H2
09-26-2003, 12:49 AM
Try to ask enom! May be you set fake whois records?

Samuel
09-26-2003, 12:51 AM
Yep, looks like versign is stealing your business right out from underneath you

SNHosting
09-26-2003, 12:55 AM
Thank, have already contact enom, hope them resolve our problem soon.

Thank you everyone.

sallam
09-26-2003, 02:27 AM
REGISTRAR-HOLD: The sponsoring registrar sets this status. The domain can not be modified or deleted. The registrar must remove REGISTRAR-HOLD status to modify the domain. The domain can be renewed. The domain will not be included in the zone.

I hope enom resolves this problem soon. I'm a very satisfied reseller customer of serverlabs, but now can't get to their helpdesk.

kohashi
09-26-2003, 02:29 AM
registrar hold means you need to pay your fees!

Pay enom the 8.95 or however much and your domain will work again. After a domain expires, it goes into Registrar-hold.

sallam
09-26-2003, 02:48 AM
Originally posted by kohashi
registrar hold means you need to pay your fees!
Are you sure? because it says:
Status: REGISTRAR-HOLD
Updated Date: 24-sep-2003
Creation Date: 11-jan-2000
Expiration Date: 11-jan-2005
so it expires more than a year later...

kohashi
09-26-2003, 03:35 AM
Hmm... didnt look. But in *MOST* cases registrar hold is when you dont pay your fees. This appears not to be the case as it is registered for more than a year from now. I think you need to give enom a support ticket and a phone call.

sallam
09-26-2003, 03:52 AM
I do hope they resolve this problem soon.
This is a serius issue. We need to know what exactly was the problem, as this could happen to anyone! we all need to know how to safeguard our domains against such domain down issue.

SNHosting
09-26-2003, 03:57 AM
Absolutely Agree, Registrar should contact the domain owner before placing domain on "HOLD".

For our customers: Presently, if our customers need to contact us, please direct email to support[@]bemban.com.

We will resolve our domain issue when ENOM give us a reply.

We apologize if any inconvenient.

Loon
09-26-2003, 05:03 AM
It now goes to the verislime page for me also.

That really sucks because when people go there they get a link to serverlabs.net which i don't think is yours?

Hope you get it sorted soon, let us know what happens.

rfauske
09-26-2003, 05:04 AM
I think that is was because of the bogus adresses and phone numbers that you had in your whois data.

--
rf

SH-Dave
09-26-2003, 06:33 AM
goes to verisign from scotland, UK

Have you had any word from Enom Yet?

SNHosting
09-26-2003, 10:59 AM
Still none, normally how fast enom response?

Lomingo
09-26-2003, 12:12 PM
it must be quick

Barbara
09-26-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by rfauske
I think that is was because of the bogus adresses and phone numbers that you had in your whois data.

--
rf

That was my first thought, too.

Went to SiteFinder for me.

sallam
09-27-2003, 03:35 AM
serverlabs.com (http://www.serverlabs.com) is back online. Domain status is now: REGISTRAR-LOCK

Now I hope enom gave serverlabs a good explaination as to what caused all this :angry: its alarming for anyone who has a web site online!