microsol
08-19-2001, 07:08 AM
This is the email i just got from them:
Get your FREE hosting and newly upgraded packages at
ArisHost today!
Would you like to have:
* FREE Web Hosting Service
* Total ownership of your site (NO banners, NO pop-ups)
* Site Management Tools
* FREE POP E-mail Accounts
* CGI Support
* 24/7 Customer Support
for absolutely FREE?
Simply register your domain name with ARISHOST! And if you have
an existing domain, you can transfer it to ArisHost for the
same low cost! There are **NO** one-time charges or fees for hosting!
Sounds too good to be true? Check it out at http://www.arishost.com.
Best,
ArisHost Team
Note: Although we do not intend to send any future Emails, you can respond
to this Email with the subject line "remove" to be removed permanently
from our mailing list.
Does anybody else have received this email? :angry: They are really stupid sending this to us as a hosting company. :angry:
(Mods, move this if this thread is in the wrong forum).
mahinder
08-19-2001, 08:47 AM
i also got email from them. i wish i can slap the person who send me such email. i just finish OS installation on my computer becuase of virus attack yesterday. :mad: :mad: :angry: :kaioken:
Eagle
08-19-2001, 09:02 AM
Yeah I got it too
I reported them as spammers... so they shouldn't be around long :D
SoftWareRevue
08-19-2001, 09:06 AM
:uzi:ArisHost
:flamethr::spam:
microsol
08-19-2001, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by Eagle
Yeah I got it too
I reported them as spammers... so they shouldn't be around long :D
I just reported them to interliant.com. Looks like they are hosted by them or at least they have the servers with them.
microsol
08-19-2001, 09:24 AM
Originally posted by microsol
I just reported them to interliant.com. Looks like they are hosted by them or at least they have the servers with them.
Hmm, now i am more confused than ever :mad:
Looks like they're at alabanza. Is interliant with alabanza or did they just use their servers for relying their spam mail? :angry:
arishosts.com resolved to 64.177.140.189
DNS Query Results:
; <<>> DiG 8.3 <<>> any arishosts.com
;; res options: init recurs defnam dnsrch
;; got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 4
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
;; QUERY SECTION:
;; arishosts.com, type = ANY, class = IN
;; ANSWER SECTION:
arishosts.com. 1d21h36m IN NS DNS1.ARISHOST.com.
arishosts.com. 1d21h36m IN NS DNS2.ARISHOST.com.
arishosts.com. 1H IN A 64.177.140.189
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
arishosts.com. 1d21h36m IN NS DNS1.ARISHOST.com.
arishosts.com. 1d21h36m IN NS DNS2.ARISHOST.com.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
DNS1.ARISHOST.com. 2D IN A 206.112.88.21
DNS2.ARISHOST.com. 2D IN A 206.112.88.44
;; Total query time: 2 msec
;; FROM: malaga.zabia.com to SERVER: default -- 63.211.153.66
;; WHEN: Sun Aug 19 15:17:28 2001
;; MSG SIZE sent: 31 rcvd: 154
WWWhois Results:
Connecting to whois.crsnic.net...
Deferred to specific whois server: whois.opensrs.net...
Registrant:
Arishost Inc.
P.O. Box 87250
Canton, MI 48187
US
Domain Name: ARISHOSTS.COM
Administrative Contact:
Hostmaster, Arishost info@arishost.com
P.O. Box 87250
Canton, MI 48187
US
877-595-6376
Technical Contact:
Lin, Holly holly@cylynx.com
P.O. Box 87250
NA
NA
Canton, MI 48187
US
877-595-6376
Billing Contact:
Hostmaster, Arishost info@arishost.com
P.O. Box 87250
Canton, MI 48187
US
877-595-6376
Record last updated on 18-Aug-2001.
Record expires on 16-Aug-2002.
Record Created on 16-Aug-2001.
Domain servers in listed order:
DNS1.ARISHOST.COM 206.112.88.21
DNS2.ARISHOST.COM 206.112.88.44
IP Whois Results:
Connecting to whois.arin.net...
Timed-out connecting to whois.arin.net (port 43)
Checking Port 80...
Port 80 is open and accepting connections.
Ping Results:
Ping failed. Host may not be active.
Traceroute Results:
1 64.157.93.1 (64.157.93.1) 0.806 ms 0.610 ms 0.558 ms
2 gigabitethernet4-0-106.ipcolo2.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net (209.247.45.229) 1.368 ms 1.183 ms 1.636 ms
3 gigabitethernet5-0-5.ipcolo1.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net (209.244.14.53) 2.203 ms 1.357 ms 1.042 ms
4 gigabitethernet5-0.core1.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net (209.244.14.41) 1.411 ms 1.190 ms 1.125 ms
5 so-4-0-0.mp2.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net (209.247.10.233) 1.040 ms 1.071 ms 0.820 ms
6 so-2-0-0.mp2.Sanjose1.level3.net (64.159.0.218) 1.566 ms 1.578 ms 1.636 ms
7 209.247.11.10 (209.247.11.10) 2.674 ms 3.169 ms 2.087 ms
8 so2-1-0-622M.br1.SNV3.gblx.net (208.51.243.237) 1.810 ms 4.557 ms 5.117 ms
9 pos5-0-622M.cr1.SNV3.gblx.net (208.178.255.146) 2.860 ms 2.619 ms 2.050 ms
10 pos2-0-622M.cr1.PHI1.gblx.net (206.132.111.98) 78.430 ms 79.210 ms 80.948 ms
11 pos0-0-0-155M.ar1.PHI1.gblx.net (206.132.118.210) 79.204 ms 78.993 ms 79.345 ms
12 Alabanza.pos12-0-0.ar1.PHI1.gblx.net (208.49.224.94) 81.170 ms 80.815 ms 82.420 ms
13 208.49.89.17 (208.49.89.17) 81.283 ms 81.236 ms 85.042 ms
14 arishosts.com (64.177.140.189) 81.500 ms 88.868 ms 81.937 ms
I got their mail as well. Where the hell did they got my email from?
Eagle
08-20-2001, 05:48 AM
Originally posted by microsol
I just reported them to interliant.com. Looks like they are hosted by them or at least they have the servers with them.
Here is where their servers are located
CyberGate, Inc.
3250 W. Commercial Blvd. Suite 200
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33309
US
SI-Chris
08-20-2001, 02:35 PM
I got spammed by them too... my research shows them at CyberGate/ValueWeb.
http://www.samspade.org/t/lookat?a=216.110.151.229
abuse@valueweb.net
mahinder
08-20-2001, 04:15 PM
today i cancelled one account who was spamming from my network. i ever wonder, do these people get busted by local law ?. they can spam in $9.99 per month from any provider. when they get busted they get another. this is not solution to problem and this is really headache for web hosts like us. You know what he responded against my email. that spam is not illegal in his state and he can not be touched by local law. i wish i can do something against such people. he is from Virginia - USA.
:mad:
microsol
08-21-2001, 06:49 PM
Finally we got attention:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any
inconvenience this may have caused you.
We will deal with this user in accordance with our Acceptable Usage Policy.
Shawn
Acceptable Usage Policy Administrator
Interliant, Inc.
abuse@interliant.com
1-800-266-4000
Hehe, at least they're moving :D :cool: :D
octoped
11-30-2003, 02:50 PM
I have been webmaster for several non-profit websites and have used ArisHost for 2 years. In late September (approx), I stopped getting the forwarded mail from my websites.
My ISP says that ArisHost is banned by the spammer software that they use. When I tried (many times) to get Arishost to respond to that charge, they say they don't know of any illegal or SPAM mail - their mail is "legitemate [sic]" invoices, etc. Here is the email from "Joseph Juliano" as forwarded to me by "Sarah" (since his email was apparently blocked):
===========================
Hi Jerry,
There is little we can do in convincing your ISP to unblock us.
It takes a very lengthy process to have anyone removed from a spam block list.
From what I know we are being blocked because of legitemate email such as invoices, etc.
At this point the only way you can send email using your email addresses with us is by using your webmail. You can access your webmail by typing .../webmail (e.g. bvrcrk dot org/webmail ) [edited] on your web browser.
Since we use standard email protocols you can also use any other free pop3 web based mail checker service to check your arishost hosted email accounts.
Best Regards,
Joseph Juliano
Arishost Support Manager
===========================
How is that for a response? I have them paid up for several years.
Is there anything I can do?
Jerry