Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Copycat TOS?


CrazyTech
09-05-2003, 07:00 AM
http://www.total-host.net/tos.html
http://www.web-xperts.com/tos_f.html
http://www.pc-craft.com/hosting/tos.htm*
Web-Xperts and PC-Craft are registered by the same owner.

Wonder who's the copycat here? There are some differences but overall the scheme is much the same and obviously was changed up just a little. Just thought this was interesting.

-Edward-
09-05-2003, 07:20 AM
I'd say totalhost as there site is similar to an hosts :)

UH-Matt
09-05-2003, 07:22 AM
Maybe they asked to use it OR resell from web-experts. We have a lot of people who borrow our tos, dont mind so long as they dont take anything else :)

CrazyTech
09-05-2003, 07:46 AM
Good point, looks like he could be a reseller which would make it understandable. However it seems on another post he made it seem he had his own servers. With the pricing from web-xperts.com his prices would be possible :rolleyes:

t-h.net
09-06-2003, 06:22 PM
Hello, I am not a reseller from web-xperts, they are one of our biggest competitors. We did copy that TOS but not from any of those sites, I got it from a company who helped me start up my business, back when i had my ensim reseller account. I now have my own servers.

Dan

jablunka
09-06-2003, 06:25 PM
As long as you have asked for permission (as i have done on my upcoming site) then its cool, one bit of advice please dont see web-xperts.com as competition you will do yourself a diservice, they are the John Waynes of the hosting world.

idologicJeff
09-06-2003, 07:26 PM
:topic:

CrazyTech you don't miss much do you?

Cheers
Jeff

CrazyTech
09-06-2003, 08:00 PM
Twas more chance than anything on this. I happen to be able to remember things I read sometimes and I just caught part of Total Host TOS and it seemed familiar to theirs. (Yes I admit I fell for the web-xperts.com lies, but hey we all live and learn.)

Dedicatedone
09-06-2003, 11:05 PM
ya I'd have to say it's either the same owner or it's a reseller.

CrazyTech
09-06-2003, 11:30 PM
Hello, I am not a reseller from web-xperts, they are one of our biggest competitors. We did copy that TOS but not from any of those sites, I got it from a company who helped me start up my business, back when i had my ensim reseller account. I now have my own servers.


Just wondering what site did you get it from then? Web-xperts.com has had at least 2 "branches" (that I know about) of it that offer about the same and I am just seeing who copied who here.

jablunka
09-06-2003, 11:38 PM
t-h.net your name Dan is the same as the owner of web-xperts, tell us are you really one and the same, who was the company that helped you out who you borrowed the tos of, just curious

Artashes
09-06-2003, 11:43 PM
Hehe, TOS is nothing really...

Check THIS out:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=166206&highlight=episode+I

jablunka
09-06-2003, 11:49 PM
Artashes it is 6am here and too late for me to try to comprehend all that, plus i am lazy:)

Enlighten me please

CrazyTech
09-06-2003, 11:49 PM
jablunka might want to check lastnames next time ;)

jablunka
09-06-2003, 11:51 PM
jablunka might want to check lastnames next time

You right, but i dont see his last name and i was just commenting on coincidences, same price, same tos, same first name, that sort of thing:)