Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : HELP! what happened to www.valueserv.com?


leah
09-07-2000, 07:59 PM
HELP! can somebody tell me or are there "police" who will check on a webhost company who went "unavailable" after getting accounts with them?

I hosted two accounts with www.valueserv.com. They answered all my quiries immediately when i was still looking for a host. Finally, convinced with their answers, I got two accoutns with them, for my clients, and since then, all my quiries were left unanswered. Then recently, when i checked their website so i can check on my statistics and others, they had a notice that their site is "under renovation" all that appears there is their logo.then i checked again today, their site cannot even be opened! and also the sites of my clients which are hosted by them!
GOSH! i paid the whole year for those accounts!
CAN SOMEBODY HELP CONTACT THESE PEOPLE? OR IS THERE A SO CALLED "NET POLICE" WHO CHECK ON THESE UNRELIABLE HOSTS?

BC
09-07-2000, 08:05 PM
Leah....

This is the info I dragged out from Network Solutions regarding contact details.

Registrant :
VALUESERV.COM (VALUESERV-DOM)
The Best Value on the Internet
PO Box 53197
Washington, DC 20009
US

Domain Name: VALUESERV.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact, Billing Contact:
ValueServ Operations (VO98-ORG) operations@VALUESERV.COM
1921 Florida Avenue
PO Box 53197
Washington, DC 20009-9197
US
1-877-822-4678

So you can try that freecall number.

At the same time however, if you are truly unhappy, if you wish to recover your money, and if you paid by credit card, then place a call to your bank *immediately* and request a chargeback on the payments you made to Valueserv. You should then be able to get it sorted from there hopefully.

Keep us posted.

(edit) I should also add the following points :
1. If you paid by cheque... You're in trouble.
2. There isn't really a so-called 'Net Police' out there who 'patrols' for unreliable hosts.

[Edited by BC on 09-07-2000 at 08:09 PM]

Duster
09-07-2000, 08:30 PM
You could try contacting the state attorney's office where they are located. You might also contact the Better Business Bureau (they have a web site) so as to warn others.

Speedie
09-07-2000, 09:22 PM
A quick trace on Valueserv.com shows that their site is hosted by Verio - or at least that's who the IP block that their site is in belongs to....

So maybe Verio could provide some additional information? Regardless, I'd still do what BC and Duster said - charge the payment back with your CC issuer and contact the SA and BBB.

Best wishes, and keep us posted.
Speedie.