Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : GRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr


Angel78
08-13-2001, 09:54 AM
:angry: I m reciving this stupid e-mail for few weeks now....and i really cant imagine that nobody reported this to abuse.net or whatever...how can this guy be able to continue spamming...who is hosting his account?

......Dear Internet Domain Registrant

The impending launch of the new .BIZ, .INFO, .PRO, and .NAME domain extensions starting October 01, 2001 is one of the most anticipated developments on the Internet of all time. As awareness and demand for these exciting new extensions increases, it will become incresingly difficult to reserve a good domain name. You need to confirm the availability of your domain name as soon as possible. Simply visit: http://www.NewTopLevelExtensions.com and you can find out in
30 seconds if someone has pre-registered your name.

"While .com names hold the most prestige, the next frontier is the new suffixes -.info, .biz, and .pro likely to become available later this year..." -BUSINESSWEEK MAGAZINE, April 16, 2001.

It is expected that over 3 million of these new domain names will be registered in the first few minutes when registration officially opens later this year. As the general public becomes aware of these new extensions later this year, registration volumes and values of these names will skyrocket. If your domain names are important to you, be prepared and pre-register them now. Protect your domain name from cybersquatters, speculators, and fraudulent trademark holders. NewTopLevelExtensions.com has the premier pre-registration engine to help you to secure the domain you want. Over 300,000 names have already been queued in the system and good names are going fast. Do not wait until the last minute. Go to http://www.NewTopLevelExtensions.com now to pre-register.


#######################################################################
This message is sent in compliance with the new email bill section 301. Per Section 301, Paragraph (a)(2)(C) of S. 1618 and is not intended for residents in the State of WA, NV, CA & VA. If you have received this mailing in error, or do not wish to receive any further mailings pertaining to this topic, simply send email to: del_list_tld@yahoo.com. We respect all removal requests. #######################################################################


del_list_tld@yahoo.com doesnt exist btw

Jodi K.
08-13-2001, 10:02 AM
Hi Angel. No idea who that person or web hosting company is, but I've been receiving those same e-mail spams in my personal e-mail for about a month and a little more now.

I'm sure a lot of people probably have reported it - but for myself, I just hit the delete button.

I get so much spam in my e-mail these days that only about a quarter of what I receive is anything I need to respond to. Frustrating... but I'm so bombed that I'd spend my entire life writing to abuse@wherever.com if I reported them all...

--Jodi

KG
08-13-2001, 10:04 AM
Our Australian office got a similar spam from someone wanting A$250 to register
domain names with .biz and .info. Even converted to US dollars that's a bit steep.

iVersit
08-13-2001, 10:21 AM
I love making life hard for spammers.



The host for their redirect (http://www.newdomainregistry.net/)
says:

WE DO NOT PERMIT MISUSE OF OUR SERVERS.
TO REPORT SYSTEM ABUSE (SPAM ETC.)
PLEASE CONTACT (abuse@webminders.com)

The trace reveals cybercon as their real noc
NS1.CYBERCON.COM 216.15.129.2
NS2.CYBERCON.COM 216.15.129.3

Honestly, all the stuff I ran on this guy is bringing back really odd results. He definitely took some time to conceal his identity and the true host of his site...

Angel78
08-13-2001, 10:22 AM
but it sound crazy that they are spamming 6-7 weeks and no one tried to shut their website..?

iVersit
08-13-2001, 10:26 AM
I tried using their contact form, however it keeps throwing me an error then pointing the frame to globalinternic.com getting better by the minute...

Jedito
08-13-2001, 11:36 AM
LOL!
They was our first customer :)
We kill their account in 1 week, after the first spam notice.

MikeM
08-13-2001, 03:13 PM
This sounds a lot like Scott Byers (guy was arrested in Dec for selling non-existant Playstation II's from the web)

Administrative Contact:
Byers, Scott noc@cisnetworks.com
300 Main Street
Moncton, NB E1C 9P1
CA
877-874-7850

He has (or had) various Hosting sites....

Kinda Reminds you of Shang

SI-Chris
08-13-2001, 03:37 PM
SpamCop reports the e-mail address to complain to about NewTopLevelExtensions.com is abuse@in.bell.ca.

I have probably received that e-mail half a dozen times, and SpamCop-ed it the same, but not much is happening because the spam keeps flowing.