Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Is boxedart.com any good?


ozzie123
08-28-2003, 02:22 PM
I'm not sure where to put this post, but what the heck.
OK, is boxedart.com any good? Do they really only charges us for 39.95 for all of their templates (well, excluding the special type)?

Loon
08-28-2003, 02:34 PM
They do, but if you look through them there's not really that many that are really that great.

Unless you're planning to change your layout every week/month i don't really see the point to it as you can't resell them.

I'd say spend a little more on a decent layout that you're happy with and it'll last you a long time.

This is the wrong forum, but i don't know where it would belong either lol

ozzie123
08-28-2003, 02:48 PM
Too late! I've sign-up with them! Aw man... their connections sucks alot... ::sighs::

ozzie123
08-28-2003, 02:49 PM
Hey, I'm a Junior Guru Wannabe now :P hehehe

ozzie123
08-28-2003, 02:51 PM
After reading their ToS and AUP or whatever its named. We actually can resell the template. As long as we provide a major change on the design.

I think that wouldn't be hard...

Odd Fact
08-28-2003, 03:47 PM
Boxedart and TM have been undergoing DOS attacks lately so that may effecting service.

H-U.net
08-28-2003, 11:55 PM
They offer a good service overall, and it's only $40 right?

Recently they seem to have been adding a lot more good looking templates, you can't go wrong really.

Kevin

ozzie123
08-28-2003, 11:57 PM
Hm... what! I can only access "custom work" session! Argh! This is a conn!

Alex042
08-31-2003, 11:15 PM
Ugh, I just got the same 'custom work' status change also. I got a couple dozen or so downloaded and it cut me off.

maiself
09-01-2003, 01:00 AM
email them & ask for explanation.. ive been xperienced the same things as well..

Alex042
09-01-2003, 02:21 PM
email them & ask for explanation
Actually, I emailed them when I posted my previous post and am awaiting a reply.

Update: Just got a response. It appears there was a delay verifying my email/phone number with their merchant processor (2checkout I believe). It looks like it's been straightened out now.

maiself
09-01-2003, 07:29 PM
yeah.. 2checkout.. they asked me to send over my photo ID to them.. verification purpose.. (s*ck), just after that i can start the download

InternetPEI
09-01-2003, 09:11 PM
Are you allowed to DL the whole site (if you wanted to) or limited to just a few templates a year?

maiself
09-02-2003, 04:31 AM
u may download as many as u wish in featured member download section..


p/s:

wanna use my login n passwd? hahahaha

BoxedArt
09-02-2003, 10:21 AM
Hello Everyone,

I have been following this thread since its start, and have let it run its course, however "maiself" has now crossed over what is acceptable. He has offered to share his username and password information. This type of account sharing is strictly against our policies, and will result in the immediate termination of your account (we do monitor IP addresses and ranges and our system automatically flags suspicious inconsistencies).

As for the verification policy, this is not done on every transaction, just those that have had inconsistencies, such as mismatching IP addresses, differing names, or the like. This is necessary because among with a DDOS attack, and spam attacks, BoxedArt is also under a fraud attack, which accounts for up to 40% of our daily transactions, so it is necessary to protect our site from fraud, and without this check, we would no longer be allowed to process credit cards, because our fraud chargebacks would be too high.

We make a conscience effort to sell our membership for just a fraction of what is worth (we could undoubtedly sell it for several hundred dollars instead of just forty bucks), we do this to help provide our service to those that cannot afford paying the fees charged by other template sites for a similar quality good, and to help others with a more cost efficient solution.

Therefore, comments such as "wanna use my login n passwd? hahahaha" are extremely dis-heartening, to know that despite our efforts to provide a superior product at a cost that can only be considered "nominal", that there are still dishonest users that are attempting to rip off our service. We will therefore continue to monitor heavily for these abuses.

If anyone has any questions about our service, please do not hesitate to contact us.

maiself
09-02-2003, 11:35 AM
doesnt it sound a joke to you?? huh boxedArt??

huh.. robot without any sense of humor

diederik
09-02-2003, 12:23 PM
boxedart is well worth the 40 bucks - logo's, templates, flash stuff and a bunch more for just 40 bucks a year is a bargain

maiself
09-02-2003, 12:54 PM
yes.. and **************** is the best... except for the individual price ;)

Frotax
09-03-2003, 09:01 AM
Anyone with these Templates might know about this..........Can you put in your own images(jpegs)?

I read where some say you need photoshop or some other image editor to do things.

I have Paint Shop Pro7 will that work? I assume a PSD image is "Photo Shop Design " or something similar.

Also whats a PNG image? Ive seen/heard of these before but what are they? I dont really want to spend anymore money on editing software.
My friend has PhotoImpact 8 by Ulead, can I use that or whats it take?

basically I am going to do a small site for my Car/Boat/Plane detailing business and my Uncle want to do one for his Real Estate/ Mortgage Loan Company.

Any comments/recomendations on this and template companies are welcome. Thanks

Odd Fact
09-03-2003, 10:42 AM
You may be able to use Paint Shop. It depends on what version of Photo Shop was used to save the PSD files. You could contact Boxed Art for that information. They may be able to help you.

If not you could probably get someone here at WHT to insert and reslice the design for you.

PNG is another graphic format normally used by Fireworks to save images/designs. Again depending on how the PNG is saved Paint Shop may be able to open the file.

Most of the template companies will provided either a PSD or PNG format with the designs. This is due to the Photoshop and Fireworks being the software used by most designers.

You can always find help at WHT.

InternetPEI
09-04-2003, 10:54 AM
Originally posted by maiself
doesnt it sound a joke to you?? huh boxedArt??

huh.. robot without any sense of humor



I agree.

Do you think he was serious by posting that in a public forum?

Thats would be almost as bad as the guy saying he is using an illegal copy of PS ;)

gunner1975
10-02-2006, 02:16 PM
Hello all,

I just wanted to make everyone aware that BoxedArt cunningly let you buy their "superior product" and automatically take the same amount from your account at the end of EACH AND EVERY period. I hear you say "this is in bold and made very clear though right?"... WRONG. This is hidden in the small print. When the money comes out for the second time, you can have NO REFUND. Apparently you have no right to cancellation.
Complaining will get you an almost robotic response with no hint of sympathy telling you that you were told this (in page upon page of small print).

I just wanted everyone to be aware of this so you don't lose money in the same underhanded way.

This kind of information is NOT a technicality and should not be hidden from the purchaser. Sure, you get confirmation emails from PayPal, but like any normal person I just though "Oh, that's just that 3 month subscription I bought." It's actually an eternally renewing 3 month ROLLING subscription.

And by the way, here is my honest opinion of the service (as a seasoned web developer): Nice pretty templates for an absolute beginner to use on a website that wouldn't get much traffic. High graphical content meaning very slow download speeds for your website. You may as well start from scratch on your own. BoxedArt seems to provide very low bandwidth. More "complex" templates are poorly coded and inefficiently structured.

Hope this helps some poor soul

/Regards