NyteOwl
08-10-2001, 08:33 PM
A friend asked me about these folks as he found them on a search at www.freewebspace.net but I had not heard of them before. The do paid hosting as well.
Has anyone any experience or know anything about them?
Thanks!
PS: a search for postings turned up nothing.
Chicken
08-10-2001, 08:57 PM
I can't recall what it was, but there was *something* that turned me off of them. I can't even remember what it was about, so this isn't helpful I realize. I believe I emailed them about something confusing on their site and was led in circles. Something about using an already registered domain for the free hosting. Kept getting different answers. This was back when I was using free hosts (really glad to be out of that period, heh).
hippie97
09-26-2001, 11:58 AM
I have a couple of free accounts with these guys and they have been great. I see these semi-negative reviews a lot and it's mostly from people who can't seem to read. These people get frustrated because they don't follow directions and then post bad reviews of the company. I purchased my domain names through them as it says to do, applied for hosting, and no problem a couple days later I had my website, webmail portal, etc. No questions asked.
I love these guys. No banners or anything.
skysenshi
09-27-2001, 02:35 AM
A friend of mine was about to sign up for them but they never replied to emails. I think this company is a racist (according to my friend's theories).
Maybe the reason why the negative reviews have badly written grammar is because they are not originally English speakers?
hippie97
09-27-2001, 11:34 AM
skysenshi, are you an idiot? first of all, calling someone a racist is bad enough. you're calling the entire company a racist. what are your grounds for saying that? and from their chat channel I can tell you it's simply not true. they have people from all over the world chatting and having fun together.
perhaps your friend didn't receive an answer to his e-mail because he asked something stupid that was already explained online. if he was that upset he should have just come onto IRC and joined the channel and talked to BootBox's employees about it. I have never seen them not help someone. They are always ready to help.
If someone or some organization really is being racially oriented, then they should be exposed, but there needs to be proof. I have a real problem with someone throwing around that term loosely. It is not something to joke about. Back it up, or shut up.
I would hope you have enough sense to respond to this post to retract your last statement or back it up with some sincere proof.
Kevin Teoh
09-27-2001, 04:48 PM
You have to transfer your domain to register.com in order to take advantage of their ad-free hosting. They're making money from the transfer.
Chicken
09-27-2001, 07:38 PM
Bing! That was what it was about. I asked about the domain thing and they replied with very confusing emails, sometimes contradicting eachother, none of which made sense. I never did figure out what the deal was with that, but I asked straight questions and didn't get straight answers. I gave up.
SoftWareRevue
09-27-2001, 09:06 PM
Originally posted by hippie97
. . . .are you an idiot?. . . . .:eek: :eek: :eek:
Are you related to freewebspace??
Why don't you have the site you have hosted by them in your profile?
Are you accustomed to coming to forums and calling people names?
If I recall correctly someone was relating a "friend's" 'theory'.
But, for you to call someone an idiot, I (as AnIdiot) am insulted.
I, as SoftWareRevue, find your posts wanting . . . . .