Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Acrolive: A warning for all potential Customers


therob
08-18-2003, 07:52 AM
This is a warning for all potential customers of acrolive.com

They have been running for a few months now and claim to offer 24/7 technical support and live support, this is not the case.

A friend of mine (not mentioning any names) chose acrolive for 24/7 ticket support using an ILLEGAL version of inverseflow they provided.

They are not available 24/7, infact when a ticket got put in for a reboot on a server that needed to be done urgently, the ticket was still on the "new" status (meaning nothing had been done) 8 hours after posting.

Secondly, there 24/7 live support is also rubbish, the whole time he used them they were never online, and they are using an ILLEGAL version of phplive on there site.

Would you say that is a good start for a support company?

Nairos&Co
08-18-2003, 08:01 AM
Can you prove that they were using illegal software? Is anyone available from the respective sofware vendors available to confirm this?

The Non 24/7 thing is understandable, they shouldnt promise it if they cant do it, but then again, many other ticket companies do that too. Illegal software is a totally different issue..

I'm not defending them, just want to know how you know the software is illegal.

MainHosting
08-18-2003, 09:38 AM
This looks like a post out of no were with a member with 2 post counts... I work for them and i dont see anything illegal on there site.

LP-Trel
08-18-2003, 09:45 AM
Two words for you therob.

Provide it.

therob
08-18-2003, 10:35 AM
Turns out the products are legal

I appolgise to acrolive

tracphil
08-18-2003, 11:17 AM
Glad to see that the software is legit.

This does concern me though...

Originally posted by MainHosting
This looks like a post out of no were with a member with 2 post counts... I work for them and i dont see anything illegal on there site.

I really would not like my competition providing support for my clients. If I read your post right, you work for Acrolive and you are a host/reseller as well... right?

Tom Pyles
08-18-2003, 02:49 PM
Weberz
I can't speak for the poster or the company, however, I've seen posts in the requests forum where this company is looking for techs. I do believe that your assumptions are correct and had me concerned as well.

Derrick
08-18-2003, 03:20 PM
Hello,

All of our software is purchased and 100% legit. As for the post above the person "worked" for us(poor choice of words). They did some design work for us, not tech support work for our clients. So they were more of a contractor for Acrolive.

Any concerns or questions I can be reached at:

Derrick@acrolive.com
or MSN messenger deek163@hotmail.com

I am sorry for any trouble this has caused.

Thanks,
Derrick

Derrick
09-05-2003, 03:56 PM
.

WingServers
09-05-2003, 07:35 PM
Im not trying to stick up for the company or anyone just my views on time zone and livechat:

Therob i can see you point about the whole not beeing available issue.

Theres only one way i can see 24/7 support ever working in the hosting industory, and thats if they have staff in different parts of the world, this would mean different time zones and a better chance of at least one person being on live chat 24/7.

Becasue for example if you are running the place youself or you have few friends and that helping, that live round the cornor, well lets face it, you, or them friends are not going to be awake at 4am are you? everyone needs there sleep.

Therob said about somone not being available during the day or somthing aswell, now thats just stupid, there should always be at least somone available during the day, but then again if the hosting company is working on a different time zone then you then maybe it wont be for them.

Other ways you could get support for an issue could be to post in forums, at least that way you could get help from another person or somone from the general public and comes across the forum and knows your answer.

danushman
09-06-2003, 12:59 AM
Originally posted by Derrick
Hello,

All of our software is purchased and 100% legit. As for the post above the person "worked" for us(poor choice of words). They did some design work for us, not tech support work for our clients. So they were more of a contractor for Acrolive.

Any concerns or questions I can be reached at:

Derrick@acrolive.com
or MSN messenger deek163@hotmail.com

I am sorry for any trouble this has caused.

Thanks,
Derrick

Derrick,

Can you provide me with your license and order ID numbers via
E-mail? dan@inverseflow.com

Thanks,

Taylor
09-06-2003, 03:29 PM
Originally posted by midphase-Dan
Derrick,

Can you provide me with your license and order ID numbers via
E-mail? dan@inverseflow.com

Thanks,

Dan, I don't think he currently works with acrolive any more. I'd guess your best bet would be to drop a line to their sales@ email