Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : is anyone else getting addr.com spam emails


ruoho
08-05-2003, 12:15 PM
Is anyone getting emails from addr.com sent to their customers? They are personally emailing my customers and trying to steal them. They are not playing very nice, so I though I would post here and see if anyone else is getting these.

Here is the email they sent to one of my customers the other day.


Hello,

I had great pleasure in visiting your professional website, which presents commendable information about The 3rd annual Festival. The details about the Merchandising have been presented in a praiseworthy manner. The photos that are displayed on your site are worth exploring. The website design is great and the site presentation is excellent. I am looking forward to visit your site again! Keep up the great Work!

I work in the marketing department of ADDR.COM (ADDR.COM is a professional web hosting and web design provider currently servicing over 60,000 customers) and if you would be interested in trying our services, I can offer you a full year of hosting for your site http://www.yourdomain.com completely free of charge.

Should you decide to cancel at any time, you will of course not be charged anything. In fact, we will get in touch before the completion of the trial period to find out how you liked our services and if you would like to continue with ADDR.COM.

To sign up, simply go to our website and go through the standard ordering form. There is no need to provide a credit card number, simply select "pay by check" option for now and mention "1 year free from Katie Andrews " in the "How did you hear about us" field. Also, it would be great if you could send me a quick email to let me know that you signed-up so that I can ensure you get the 1 year free from our end.

Please feel free to email me if you have any questions. Your files and domain name will be transferred for free, so please avail this opportunity to make sure you get our trial offer.


Thanks!

With Best regards,
Katie Andrews
[email]kandrews@wewillspamyou.com



I found it strange that they are personally visiting my customers websites and sending these emails. How often could this possibly happen. They must really be hurting to try this type of advertising.

shasta
08-05-2003, 01:07 PM
they visit your website and/or customer's web site and extract emails to spam like this. (check your website logs for their spider)

They visited my sites recently to do this but I blocked them...

if you do not know already, you will have to learn how to block them from visiting your website.

by the way do not give them the pleasure and distribute their spam in your posting. Sheesh you even gave them a free link. Just summarize that crap and ask your question. :)

My .02
Shasta

nickn
08-05-2003, 02:03 PM
Thought I would throw this in, since I Found it funny..

I received a fax yesterday from *********** advertising their webhosting, I mean come on..they could be careful enough not to send it to other webhosts ;)

Edit : I guess See Eye Host was already banned for spamming here too. Anyway, it's such a terrible practice, and it can't possibly produce good results

"Sir, while i was looking for a webhost, I happened to glance at the fax machine and saw this fax from See Eye Host, I think we should use them!"

ruoho
08-05-2003, 07:57 PM
Alright, I removed the link. I was hoping everyone would see it and not go to their site or atleast know that they are spamming people, if someone sees a spam email and decides to actually visit that site, then I guess they should host with them, because they really don't care anyhow.

Do you have a good site to visit where I can learn more about blocking them and that stupid grinhost spam my customers get all of the time too.

shasta
08-05-2003, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by ruoho
Do you have a good site to visit where I can learn more about blocking them and that stupid grinhost spam my customers get all of the time too.

Yes just do a search on this board for "block htaccess" or you could check google undering "block robots" or maybe "block spiders", "prevent spam website" etc.

If you want to follow up with experts go to the Technical Security forum of this board.

Good luck... :)
Shasta

PebSpace
08-10-2003, 04:52 AM
I got this the other day, even tho my name isn't dave o_O?:

Dear Dave,

Regarding user name: daveroskilly

We would like to notify you that our records indicate that payment for your account is past due. In addition, our records indicate that an automated message has been delivered to you on 07/01/2003 informing you of the fact that unfortunately, your account billing status has not been cleared to date. The total outstanding balance on your account to date
is: $53.74. Please try to respond to this message within 48 hours so that we may update the status on your account and to prevent the possibility of any service interruptions, or any further collection proceedings.

Please submit a new credit card number via a secure site: https://www.addr.com/submitcard.htm Or please send check or money order to:

ADDR.com Billing
1608 W. Campbell Ave.
Suite 368
Campbell, CA 95008
USA

We thank you for your time!
Addr.com Credit and Collection

When i emailed them to ask whats going on i got:

Dear John,

Thank you for contacting ADDR.com Billing Department.

We are sorry that you recieved a communication that was
not meant for you. Your e-mail address was mistakenly
added for which we apologise. Your company is not being
billed for any services.

If you have any other clarifications feel free to mail us
anytime and be assured of our assistance.

Have a nice day!

Best regards,
Gina Kirk

Billing Department,
billing@addr.com
www.addr.com

Now come on how can you add someones email, who i have never heard of addr.com and call me a client?, come on...

wwww
10-02-2003, 04:00 PM
Addr even started to spam guestbooks :D


Go there and search for addr with your browser:

http://www.coe.ilstu.edu/portfolios/students/nflinde/project/MilliWelcome.htm


they used to be a good host...once...back then...

VEB
10-02-2003, 04:33 PM
Well, addr is a well-known comany in many aspects :)

About 1 year before they decided to switch thier design office - CronaIntSep (around 100 people) from Belarus (Eastern Europe) to India.

They did within 1 day, not informing people in Belarus at all. Guys came to the office to work and found that they do not have any work more.

That was a sad story, but people in Belarus and many in Russia know and will never use addr anymore.

VEB
10-02-2003, 04:47 PM
Here is a link, it's in Russian, but anyway:

http://belarusmedia.com/?p=article1013

RandyO
10-02-2003, 05:09 PM
well I went to locate IP's to block but seems that addr.com is missing in action?

wwww
10-02-2003, 05:36 PM
btw...are they out of business??

www.addr.com brings me to verisigns sitefinder...:confused:

VEB
10-02-2003, 06:11 PM
Same here. Very strange.

codywatkins
10-02-2003, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by VEB
Same here. Very strange.
Ditto.

FredTT
10-02-2003, 09:31 PM
Its working now. They probably let it expire. I guess all those bounced back e-mails were covering up the Renew Letter. :)

As for the letter, it looks like a generic. I guess the spiders visited the site (or maybe even real peopl) got some info, threw it into a mass mailer progam and sent it out. Check out the Bold. Thats where I think the gaps for info are...

I had great pleasure in visiting your professional website, which presents commendable information about The 3rd annual Festival. The details about the Merchandising have been presented in a praiseworthy manner. The photos that are displayed on your site are worth exploring. The website design is great and the site presentation is excellent. I am looking forward to visit your site again! Keep up the great Work!

Tallon
10-03-2003, 12:42 AM
I don't know if I'd call it spam really, but I received this from them at the address for one of my hobby sites:

"Great site. How about hosting this site absolutely FREE for ONE YEAR at Addr.com? Please feel free to email me for more details. "

It gave me ways to contact them if I was interested in it.

AdidasROXX
10-03-2003, 03:25 AM
I had addr.com for sponsored hosting. Was great until their hidden charges. Like $5 for changing the domain name. But that was years ago. STAY AWAY!!