View Full Version : Help identifing templates
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 12:49 PM Hello,
I was recently contacted by a designer who sent me a portfolio link. I am sure I have seen the designs before. Can anyone help identify the original company?
http://www.designer.net.ru/4sale-old/
John D 08-03-2003, 12:51 PM They look like template monster designs to me
Senthu@BM 08-03-2003, 01:01 PM some of them are TM designs
bonnmac 08-03-2003, 01:03 PM Some look like TM templates and some of them look like BoxedArt templates to me.
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 01:11 PM That's what I thought. But I haven't been able to match up the exact templates yet.
Originally posted by Rox Off
Hello,
I was recently contacted by a designer who sent me a portfolio link. I am sure I have seen the designs before. Can anyone help identify the original company?
http://www.designer.net.ru/4sale-old/
from what I am guessing - they're old templates for sale?
and:
http://www.designer.net.ru/4sale-old/thumb/051.jpg
i've seen that server used too many times!
-Nay
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 01:20 PM I was wondering that. I have had two different people in the past week use some of these as samples of thier work. Most of the stock photos are so overused I can't remember where.
ArcticKid 08-03-2003, 01:24 PM I'm really getting tired of seeing those templates. And some people claim that those are theirs.
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 01:26 PM I have contacted TM and boxed art to find out more information. I found the designers through a freelance site. If I wnated to buy templates, I would go to the original source.
123 Logo Design 08-03-2003, 01:30 PM Glad to hear that you had a bad feeling. Now there's at least one more eliminated (for some time) :)
John D 08-03-2003, 01:55 PM I have had quite a few people try sell me templates from template monster and they said they designed them
Are you even allowed to resell TM templates?
Informity 08-03-2003, 02:11 PM no, you can't resell them. i'm not sure about if you bought them unique though - i presume you could transfer your license over.
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 02:14 PM You can resell for TM is you are an official affiliate/reseller. You get a commission for each sale. I am not sure about unique sales though.
It is getting a little irritating lately. I seem to be a magnet for people trying to sell me templates they don't own or didn't create.
Chicken 08-03-2003, 02:18 PM Just to add to your confusion, TM doesn't create the temlates (far as I can tell), they are created by designers, so a designer who claims that they created those designs may have actually been the one who created those designs.
Your email to TM and boxed should reveal the deal.
John D 08-03-2003, 02:18 PM I had someone try sell me templates that were from a free site.
It was so obvious that they were though so i didnt buy them.
It was a user that was banned on this forum
Informity 08-03-2003, 02:21 PM Originally posted by Chicken
Just to add to your confusion, TM doesn't create the temlates (far as I can tell), they are created by designers, so a designer who claims that they created those designs may have actually been the one who created those designs.
Your email to TM and boxed should reveal the deal.
when you design for *************** you give basically all your rights to the template away to them - you can't sell it outside of ***************.
Chicken 08-03-2003, 02:26 PM This may be true, however one could still say that they designed it. It may have been sold to TM.
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 02:30 PM Yes I have been contacted by a designer who did work for TM. But he was clear upfront about identifing the work as TM property. But he also had original of the same quality. These last users seem to claim the work as thier own or offer one of the premade templates for sale.
123 Logo Design 08-03-2003, 04:39 PM Yeah, a lot of them get caught, but there are still a lot of such individuals that earn money while pretending to be the designer of a template.
comparehostn 08-03-2003, 04:41 PM Originally posted by Rox Off
Hello,
I was recently contacted by a designer who sent me a portfolio link. I am sure I have seen the designs before. Can anyone help identify the original company?
http://www.designer.net.ru/4sale-old/
We definitly need to find some sort of system to catch this kids reselling stuff without permission. It would be different if they bought an Original Layout and then sold it.. b/c it would be THERES.. but you got these kids buying $5 templates, slapping some business folk on it and selling it for $25 :)
Odd Fact 08-03-2003, 04:49 PM Some don't even buy them. When TM first opened the had full screen previews. Some people would just copy the preview, remove the watermark and sell the design as thiers.
|