Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Looking for an online IP Block lookup utility


Deb Suran
08-02-2001, 03:16 PM
I need an online IP block lookup utility so I can report spammers. I got spammed by webstream.net (63.77.159.252) today, and have been unable to find out who owns the IP block they're in. Any help out there? Tracert just times out. TIA.

JayC
08-02-2001, 03:45 PM
samspade.org

http://samspade.org/t/ipwhois?a=63.77.159.252

Query: 63.77.159.252
Registry: whois.arin.net
Results:
UUNET Technologies, Inc. (NETBLK-UUNET63) UUNET63 63.64.0.0 - 63.127.255.255
Web Stream Internet (NETBLK-UU-63-77-144) UU-63-77-144

Hmm... who'd have guessed it? A spammer using uunet's network!

Deb Suran
08-02-2001, 05:45 PM
Thanks, Jay -- I'll complain anyway, although I know it probably won't do me any good...

Hmm, that link doesn't work for me.

slade
08-02-2001, 05:52 PM
These have become my two favorite links for "enlightening" unlimited/unmetered hosts:

http://www.arin.net/
http://www.ripe.net/

JayC
08-02-2001, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by Deb Suran
Hmm, that link doesn't work for me. I just tried it, and it is working for me. You could also just go to samspade.org and choose the "IP Whois" utility from there.

Sometimes ARIN times out on such requests, so that might be what happened to you when it didn't work.

brav0
08-02-2001, 07:12 PM
Try www.domainwhitepages.com

Works great, I use it all the time.

It gives:

Network whois
Domain whois
DNS records
Traceroute
Service scan

all in one page

SoftWareRevue
08-02-2001, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by brav0
Try www.domainwhitepages.com

Works great, I use it all the time.

It gives:

Network whois
Domain whois
DNS records
Traceroute
Service scan

all in one page

Cool link ;)

Thanks! I like it! :D

Deb Suran
08-03-2001, 09:45 AM
Thanks, brav0 -- just what I needed.

drhonk
08-06-2001, 12:58 PM
Just use whois utility in your unix box .. or linux..

whois -h whois.arin.net <ip address>

Joana
04-26-2002, 01:26 PM
We got spammed by them (webstream.net ) yesterday..
They went to the "contact us" page and sent the spam to all addresses on that page..

insiderhosting
04-26-2002, 01:30 PM
hey Joana,
They did the same thing to me as well.

Noldar
04-26-2002, 01:33 PM
Yep, webstream.net got me too.

Why in the world would a web host spam other web hosts?

Richard

SoftWareRevue
04-26-2002, 01:51 PM
They must be pulling our addresses from somewhere. :(
I doubt if it's off our sites. My guess would be from somewhere we're all listed. Because not all of our addresses got spammed.
Only "sales@." :D

akashik
04-26-2002, 02:14 PM
you guys haven't been listing your e-mail addresses on this forum by any chance have you?

contact me at sales@yadda, or have it in your signatures?

Sounds to me like someone spidered this forum in the hope of nabbing addresses to potential hostee's Bit of a silly idea considering the host ratio here :)

Greg Moore

Joana
04-26-2002, 02:16 PM
our Support, Sales and Billing (??) emails got Spammed..none were listed here..
:confused:

Noldar
04-26-2002, 03:04 PM
Me too. They hit support, sales, and billing.

Interestingly they didn't email abuse, which is also listed on my contact page :D

Richard

Joana
04-26-2002, 03:35 PM
I think I will drop our business and go with their hosting.. :D


-------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,

Our records indicate that the following information may be helpful to you? We are an Internet company and would like to find out more about how we may benefit you. Hosting, design, programming and web casting are a few of the services that we have offered since 1997.

Find out how to make money with our reseller program and earn a growing residual income.

For more information, please feel free to email us at the address below, or visit our web site at http://webstream.net .
--------------------------------------------------------------

nmihosting
04-27-2002, 06:08 PM
Originally posted by Joana
-------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,

Our records indicate that the following information may be helpful to you? We are an Internet company and would like to find out more about how we may benefit you. Hosting, design, programming and web casting are a few of the services that we have offered since 1997.

Find out how to make money with our reseller program and earn a growing residual income.

For more information, please feel free to email us at the address below, or visit our web site at http://webstream.net .
--------------------------------------------------------------

We got this too :D What were they thinking LOL

bizness
01-01-2003, 04:47 PM
webstream.net spammed my servers, and my personal fax machine. claiming that they called me and gave them my number.