Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Avoid hosting phplords.net


sitekeeper
07-18-2003, 10:52 PM
Warning!
Avoid hosting phplords.net !

I freely hosted phplords.net (a php script index), and today I learned they are spamming members at HotScripts.com. I have communicated with Ryan L Elledge, President of iNET Directories, LLC (owns HotScripts) and he gave me enough proof to drop the phplords.net account.

I apologized to Mr. Elledge (President of iNET Directories) for this ex-clients actions.

The WHT members name is AuthorZone and his WHT account is currently disabled, phplords.net is affiliated with phplords.com.

Max was the persons name I setup the account for, uses AuthorZone on WHT (currently disabled). They claim to be PHP coders but is is obvious that have no respect for real coders by spamming them. phplords.net

Coach
07-18-2003, 11:05 PM
I'm not certain on the reason why their account is disabled here, but I remember seeing them spamming here on WHT as well. This doesn't surprise me a bit.

Glad to see your company wants to have nothing to do with spammers, no matter what their methods are.

Good work sitekeeper. :)

CrazyTech
07-18-2003, 11:12 PM
Good work, as Coach is, I am glad to see anything that helps put down spam!

TheHS
07-19-2003, 01:38 AM
Whoa, I remember that same guy asking me for free hosting too.

Hope he didn't cause you too many headaches Sitekeeper.

sitekeeper
07-19-2003, 01:49 AM
Originally posted by TheHS
Whoa, I remember that same guy asking me for free hosting too.

Hope he didn't cause you too many headaches Sitekeeper. No, he didn't get to far with his plan thanks to the people at HotScripts who pointed me to this thread; http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=164457 look at AuthorZone's second post.

I don't plan on this deterring me from offering free hosting to good sites. AuthorZone's idea for a php script directory was a good one, it's just he went about it the wrong way.

Of course he does not see it that way!:rolleyes:

Kiara Jason
07-19-2003, 04:52 AM
Originally posted by sitekeeper Of course he does not see it that way!:rolleyes:

When it comes to people who bite the hand that feeds them, they usually don't.

I commend you for your action. :)

blue27
07-19-2003, 07:47 AM
Good work sitekeeper. I truley hope that this guy fails at whatever online ventures he decides to try. People like this put other businesses, such as yours, in jeopardy with their spam and don't deserve the privelige of doing business online.

Richard Ward
07-19-2003, 12:29 PM
Free hosting. -- You get what you [don't] pay for.

RRolfe
07-19-2003, 01:13 PM
Originally posted by Coach
I'm not certain on the reason why their account is disabled here, but I remember seeing them spamming here on WHT as well. This doesn't surprise me a bit.

I don't think it has anything to do with the 3 "anonymous" reports that were sent to the mods in one night. Do you? :D

2 reports for trying to "damage" other peoples threads in the advert section, and one for having 2 accounts on WHT. Wonder how that happened... :rolleyes: