Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Can you Explain this to me


matrosov
07-08-2003, 10:00 AM
I was going through our traffic logs and noticed quite a few hits from these two sites.

http://www.candymagic.com/
[http://saiyanwarrior.c j b. n e t/

To my surprise when I went to those two I found an exact copy of our site www.neureal.com there. I know for the fact that we don't own these domains so the 5 million dollar question is... what would be the reason for somebody to do this. Any ideas?

mikej
07-08-2003, 10:07 AM
not really

vito
07-08-2003, 10:22 AM
Maybe they like your design and plan on ripping it. When looking at the source code for candymagic.com, it's built in frames and appears to be a subdomain - http://www.candymagic.z-zone.hostiva.com .

Just keep an eye on them. Better yet, do a whois and email them telling them to take the design down.

Vito

gtrplayer
07-08-2003, 10:39 AM
yea...no kidding. those hits you're seeing might be their server pulling graphics off of your server. you're forced to carry the bandwidth for them ripping off your site.

Lippy
07-08-2003, 11:21 AM
Best thing to do is contact them and ask for them to remove your design. Also perhaps setting up a htaccess file to block thier site from grabbing anything from your site.

matrosov
07-08-2003, 11:39 AM
See the problem is that they are not copying our site they are using a frame redirect. I submitted a complaint to their host and here's the response I got back.

candymagic.z-zone.hostiva.com

The domain name you mention is only being redirected there.

You can see this if you view the source of http://www.candymagic.com

We hope you resolve your issue with this site smoothly and quickly.


Ticket Information:
Ticket #: 554-45631
Date Created: 7/8/2003 10:02 AM EST
Summary: Copyright violation

UH-Matt
07-08-2003, 12:20 PM
I would probably stitch them up a little. Change the names of our pages so our site still works and put something nasty on the page they are loading into there frame.

deadserious
07-08-2003, 12:32 PM
If you wanted you could add something like this to the head sections of your pages:

<script language="JavaScript" TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
function fB()
{
if (top.location != location) {
top.location.href = document.location.href ;
}
}
-->
</script>


That should cause the pages they have to jump out of their frames into it's own window. So then you'd be getting free traffic to your site and it would probably stop them from doing it anyways.

And yea blocking them with .htaccess or some other way and replacing everything they call from your site with something they wouldn't want would probably do the trick too. :D

NyteOwl
07-08-2003, 04:20 PM
Try looking at www.hostiva.com. It comes up with the nureal.coml site as well. And it is NOT a frame set.

deadserious
07-08-2003, 05:07 PM
You own the hostiva domain also dont you?

It seems strange to me that they would have the domain candymagic.com and their using the subdomain candymagic.z-zone.hostiva.com in frames. Is it really just a coincidence that they both happen to have candymagic in the name? :D

And the other one also seems to be one of your subdomains.
armada-designs.hostiva.com

Did you get these subdomains in search engines or promote them somewhere or something? Maybe that's how they found about them.

But I would think they've had or still do have access to your servers in some way. Maybe they actually created them on the server? :D

:cool:

matrosov
07-11-2003, 05:46 PM
Did you get these subdomains in search engines or promote them somewhere or something? Maybe that's how they found about them.

Not really. We own hostiva domain it used to be our name before. However you can type www.anythingyouwant.hostiva.com and our site will come up you can try it on the above example :).

Problem is that candymagic IS a registered domain which is not registered to us and that concerns me.

We've never used z-zone subdomain nor armada-designs one. I know for sure z-zone is not even one of our clients subdomains have to check on the armada-designs but I highly doubt it's in use by our client since we only offered a third level domain hosting with hostiva name for only a month over two years ago, we use different domain for this purpose.

deadserious
07-12-2003, 03:43 AM
Okay I see now, and yea that would concern me too. I don't see any reason why they would be doing that. All of the links appear to be going to your site so it doesn't seem like they are gaining anything from it, but maybe they could possibly have some bad intentions planned for the future. I think I would add some code that would check for them other domains as the referrer and if they are just replace the page with a message and a link to your website. Maybe just something like: Sorry can't run from here: click here to visit our site ..... something like that. :D

fshost
07-12-2003, 03:48 AM
I see no intentions, but they probably have a sneaky plot, my favorite time of day, submit a court case time.