Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : webhosting.com - a class act


AussieHosts
07-19-2001, 12:21 PM
One has to wonder to what lengths some people will go to.

A completely unethical piece of SPAM just in from webhosting.com, with the subject line "notice from your webhost", offering their hosting plan.

Incredible. These people will never cease to amaze me.

I sent a damning response to a whole trail of people, another.com, exodus.net, etc etc...who harbour these clowns. I seriously doubt it will have much effect though.

Gary

AussieHosts
07-19-2001, 12:48 PM
Much to my amazement...

Since webhosting.com is "Powered by Inquent" they were on the receiving end of the above mentioned email.

A quick response, with an assurance that the matter will be addressed, was received very quickly from Inquent.

Kudos to them.

Gary

SI-Chris
07-19-2001, 03:25 PM
I've gotten spam listing sites that are hosted by Webhosting.com, and I always report the spam. I have yet to get a response or see them do anything about it.

JayC
07-19-2001, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by Editor
A quick response, with an assurance that the matter will be addressed, was received very quickly from Inquent.Call me cynical -- or just experienced -- but an assurance that the matter will be "addressed" wouldn't make me too confident that there'll be any action taken to discourage it from happening again.

But you are right, it's better than no response at all.

Strider
07-19-2001, 04:25 PM
I got the same SPAM. How stupid can you be to spam other web hosting companies with an offer for cheap hosting!!!!

AussieHosts
07-19-2001, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by JayC
Call me cynical -- or just experienced

How about both JayC. :-)

And righfully so too. Though I was surprised to receive a quick, personalised response (as opposed to the usual auto-responder that most abuse@ mailboxes usually throw back), so I figured it was worth mentioning that they at least respond.

Let's just hope they act .

Gary

SI-Chris
07-20-2001, 04:39 PM
I just got this message from Webhosting.com:

Subject: Credit Card Hoax Alert


Webhosting.com has discovered that you may have received an email
reflecting a purported special offer from webhosting.com. PLEASE BE
ADVISED THAT EMAIL WAS NOT INITIATED NOR DOES IT REFLECT AN OFFER FROM
WEBHOSTING.COM. It is not webhosting.com's practice to request credit
card information via email.

Webhosting.com is currently investigating the improper use of its name.

For more information on email hoaxes, please refer to
http://hoaxbusters.ciac.org/.

JayC
07-20-2001, 04:51 PM
It is not webhosting.com's practice to request credit card information via email. So, for the people who got the original email: did it "request credit card information via email," or did it direct you to their site for plan info and signup?

It would be much easier to accept that one of these was a hoax than it would the other. My cynicism persists.

AussieHosts
07-20-2001, 07:23 PM
Yes, it was specifically requesting information via email.

I would still like to hear from another.com, who host associate.co.uk, the domain used to send the email out, before I am happy this situation has been rectified.

Gary

Honu
07-20-2001, 08:29 PM
Aloha

what happens if we get emails like this we report them to
http://www.spamhaus.org
and what is the other one slipping me at this second
somethign like blackhole or black space or ????
I got to dig it up in my bookmarks somewhere ;)

maybe we can get them to slow it down if they start having there ips banned