
|
View Full Version : What the...???
Webdude 07-18-2001, 01:59 AM I just got friggin spammed by *****!!!
My name is Brent Davis and I am a sales representative at *****. I am contacting you after visiting your website. I wanted to introduce our organization,
Yeah ok, lier. Had he been to my site, he would have seen I was a competitor.
With innovations in customer service, ease of use, and special features for all ***** customers, we continue to stay one step ahead of the competition.
Not according to what I have read here. They lose as many clients as they gain.
That is why companies like Lay-Z-Boy, Ethyl M. Chocolates, GTE, Del Monte Foods, The Salvation Army, McDonalds, The United States Department of Commerce, Shimano and Sierra Software have chosen ***** services.,
Yeah ok, I'm sure MickyD's really has a lot to say. How many versions of a burger can you possibly have...and they all taste the same!! GTE uses quite a few hosts as well as government institutions. The account was probably donated to the SA.
Because you host on a competitors network, I have been authorized to make a special, one-time offer to you.
Huh? Do you have any clue what you're talking about. Oh well, this proves they do spam emails listed in NetworkSolution's database since they spammed a version of my email for a particular domain which is a version I have never used anywhere else.
I cannot comprehend *****'s gall in marketing their less-than-satisfactory services this way.
I also received two copies of this SPAM mailing today - both to email addresses associated with Whois and nothing else (That Mr Davis has been a busy boy ;)). And though I'm not a competitor of *****, I've never made it a secret that my time being associated with the firm (I had 4 or 5 sites hosted there before and during the NOC outtages of 99-00) was easily the worst experience I've encountered in hosting. In fact, it took me months to pry my sites out of their control and to put an end to their persistent automatic charges to my CC - and now they think I'd opt to migrate back to their service just because they can offer an irresponsibly liberal feature list. Get real!
Excuse my ignorance, but in a case such as this, where a host is responsible for action that it would oppose if any of its members were doing the same, where can such abuse be reported? I can't see anything happening if this spam was forwarded to abuse@*****.com ;)
edude 07-18-2001, 02:31 AM Howdy,
Czar, do you have aim or icq?
I would really like to talk to you regarding BMC.
Regards,
Vhost.
Originally posted by Czar
I cannot comprehend *****'s gall in marketing their less-than-satisfactory services this way.
I also received two copies of this SPAM mailing today - both to email addresses associated with Whois and nothing else (That Mr Davis has been a busy boy ;)). And though I'm not a competitor of *****, I've never made it a secret that my time being associated with the firm (I had 4 or 5 sites hosted there before and during the NOC outtages of 99-00) was easily the worst experience I've encountered in hosting. In fact, it took me months to pry my sites out of their control and to put an end to their persistent automatic charges to my CC - and now they think I'd opt to migrate back to their service just because they can offer an irresponsibly liberal feature list. Get real!
Excuse my ignorance, but in a case such as this, where a host is responsible for action that it would oppose if any of its members were doing the same, where can such abuse be reported? I can't see anything happening if this spam was forwarded to abuse@*****.com ;)
anthony69 07-18-2001, 02:39 AM I think that guy from ***** recently spammed the webmaster USENET group as well. He's mining all newsgroups and forums and then using the emails for his spam campaign.
Anthony
anthony@realprohost.com
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Webdude
[B]I just got friggin spammed by *****!!!
Aloha
have em call ya up and talk to em for a bit
and have some fun
give him some of your friends phone numbers to call such as the local sheriffs office the local fbi office a few biz like ISP's in your area etc....
give him some good leads
hehehehehe
Tim Greer 07-18-2001, 03:34 AM Just out of curiosity, I checked to see where McDonalds web site was hosted. By looking at the domain owners, contacts, etc. on the records, as well as the IP's, name servers, and al lthe name server's IP's and whatnot, I can safely say that my assumption was correct and ***** in no way is affliliated or otherwise hosts their web site. I figured they just threw in a lot of "big" sounding company names to try and impress the people that are stupid enough to sign up with a host that SPAMMED them, and I was correct. They are nowhere close, and you can bet they don't host GTE or any of the other's either. ***** is synonymous with being crap and you can expect nothing more than lies.
I think it's a riot that they try and act like they host these big name company's site's to try and con people into thinking their operations are any more reputable, after having SPAMMED the person they are trying to convince. I wish there weren't so many moron's out there that actually bought into the SPAM emails, but since there's always going to be stupid people, we are always going to get SPAM. Well, bad things happen to systems of SPAMMER's. Let's hope for the worst.
Aloha
maybe pass on the spam to teh companies they are claiming to do work wiht ???
ya never know a bored McDonalds lawyer might have some fun with it or a GTE
send a letter saying your hosting company is spamming me and include the letter
heheheh
ya never know
Tim Greer 07-18-2001, 04:06 AM I was pretty much thinking the same thing, but, eh... naw.
JustLurkin77 07-18-2001, 05:11 AM Some regional McDonald’s restaurant sites were among the 48,000 addresses affected when ***** had their DNS problems on 12-30-99. :)
http://news.cnet.com/news/0-1004-200-1510132.html
Jason Ellis 07-18-2001, 12:08 PM Originally posted by Tim_Greer
Just out of curiosity, I checked to see where McDonalds web site was hosted. By looking at the domain owners, contacts, etc. on the records, as well as the IP's, name servers, and al lthe name server's IP's and whatnot, I can safely say that my assumption was correct and ***** in no way is affliliated or otherwise hosts their web site.
Although I find *****'s marketing methods absolutely appalling, I can say that just because mcdonalds.com isn't hosted there, doesn't mean their claims to hosting for McDonalds are bogus.
For example, using my own company as an example, I can safely report that I host web sites for the Salvation Army, Comfort Suites Hotels, The Carnegie Corporation of New York, and the U.S. Army. Don't believe me? Here's the actual addresses:
Montachusett Corps of the Salvation Army - www.montycorps.com
Comfort Suites of Smithfield, RI - www.comfortri.com
Carnegie Corporation of New York Investment Office - www.carnegieinvestments.org
U.S. Army 374th Services Division - www.374th-services.org
So, while we might not host salvationarmy.com, comfortsuites.com, carnegie.org, or goarmy.com, I was being completely honest when I said we host web sites for the Salvation Army, Comfort Suites Hotels, The Carnegie Corporation of New York, and the U.S. Army.
So, while ***** probably doesn't host mcdonalds.com, they probably are being honest when they host a web site for McDonalds.
Jason
|