okcool123
06-20-2003, 12:17 AM
ok here is my little problem, I tried three or four time since yesterday, sent email to the webhostingtalk sysop, no responce... let me explain, I have two servers, one of which for each domain hosted on it, each time that I submit a membership registration for this forum with an email hosted on the server, I will not received the activation email required for activation, this server is hosted with ev1.net, rackshack.net like this website.
I talked to two RS tech guys yesterday about it, they can't find anything wrong with my dns setup or my server. so I try with my second server which is also with rackshack and this time it work fine, since I'm here posting obviously. So I'm wondering if perhaps the I.P. or the entire I.P.'s pool of the first server is banned, anyway it's not a big deal but I just wanted someone to know and perhaps figure it out, maybe someone can or at least read this. help :)
btw this site is pretty cool, thanks
SoftWareRevue
06-20-2003, 12:32 AM
I know WebDev uses a list to block. Could be that you're on it.
But, since you're only allowed one member name anyways . . . .
eBoundary
06-20-2003, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
I know WebDev uses a list to block. Could be that you're on it.
But, since you're only allowed one member name anyways . . . .
The block list generally applies to incomming mail only, so there may be some block list in place on the server the mail is being sent too or the mail is being rejected for what ever reason.
Do you see anything in the logs at all on the server that is not getting the mail?
IceCell
06-20-2003, 04:04 AM
I've had similar problems in the past with messageboard activation e-mails..
the reason that I wasn't geting them was due to the way the e-mails are sent out..
they are usally send from a localhost type of address (an address that can't be responed to, or won't reverse DNS)
so if you have your e-mail server setup to reject messages without a reverse DNS, (which many do as a means to fight spam), then the message gets rejected... it goes through fine, but your server rejects its delivery..
I had to make my e-mail server more lax in-order to prevent this from happening.. you have to determine on your own what you think the appropriate level of protection is.. play with settings till you get the best results..
UH-Matt
06-20-2003, 04:26 AM
But you just posted from an account, so it looks like your sorted.
Wouldnt want to break the rules ans signup for a second now would we :)
(p.s. this should be in feedback forum - mods notified).
SoftWareRevue
06-21-2003, 06:59 AM
Now that I look at the first post closer, it seems you are saying is that you have two servers hosted at the same center.
You receive e-mail from WebHostingTalk at one. But not the other.
The fact that you receive e-mail from this server (to either server), means that this server sends e-mail.
It would seem to me that the problem would have to be on the box that the e-mail is sent to. As eBoundary said, our filters would block incoming mail; not outgoing.