Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Something weird with this domain


Colin
07-11-2001, 04:37 PM
I've been watching a certain 3-letter domain that was scheduled to be dropped between 22-28 June. I tried to back-order it through SnapNames, but apparently someone beat me to it.

However, as luck would have it, someone else managed to get it through Dotster (SnapNames only uses eNom, OpenSRS and NetSol) on the 28th, but the InterNIC db only got updated on 4 July.

Just a few minutes ago I did a whois of the domain through InterNIC and here's what I got:

Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Domain Name: <<edited>>
Registrar: DOTSTER, INC.
Whois Server: whois.dotster.com
Referral URL: http://http://www.dotster.com/help/whois
Name Server: No nameserver
Updated Date: 28-jun-2001


>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 11 Jul 2001 02:02:47 EDT <<<

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.

I did another whois through Dotster and here's what I got:

There was no match in our database for the domain <<edited>>. Please try another domain.

Anyone have any idea what this means?

Annette
07-11-2001, 05:44 PM
Referral URL: http://http://www.dotster.com/help/whois


It means that Dotster has issues. Some of our clients have noticed that when they use Dotster to register a domain, NetSol and other registrars will barf when trying to pull back a WHOIS, because of the above. Why Dotster itself doesn't see the domain you're referring to is a complete mystery.

Domenico
07-11-2001, 06:08 PM
So, since it was registered allready could you tell us about wich domain you are talking?

Colin
07-11-2001, 11:08 PM
Well if I wanted to reveal the domain name I wouldn't have edited it out of the whois results now would I? ;)

What I'm interested in is the fact that there are no nameservers specified for this new registration. I have domains registered through Dotster myself, and I am sure that you cannot leave the nameserver fields blank - the registration will be denied.

There's also the fact that Dotster themselves have no match for this domain in their whois.

Anyone else know what might be going on?

seeker
07-12-2001, 11:27 AM
May be the registrar itself has registered that domain using fictious information :eek:

Yes...I'm serious