Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Nochex want your CC number too?


Acsiak - Andrew
05-28-2003, 05:59 PM
Interesting this. When I opened my inbox, I got this e-mail from
Nochex:

"This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by NOCHEX to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.

The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 3 months.

Please confirm your email address and and Credit Card info number by logging in to your NOCHEX account using the form below:"


Funny, I've never ever signed up with Nochex nor have enquired
about them, nor have I actually ever been to their site.
Checked the source of the e-mail, form is sent to:

http://nochex.com@server1.freehu.com/16/fusen/matt/catch.php


It's obviously not from Nochex. But this is to warn anyone who
does use Nochex and for whom gets this e-mail. As far as I'm
aware Nochex wouldn't do this, although I'm going to contact
them and let them know about it - since a lot of these e-mails do
happen via PayPal, hehe, seems like Nochex is next. :cartman:

jasonkw
05-28-2003, 07:12 PM
It's not Nochex - just take a look in the url

http://blahlblahblah.com@yahoo.com/ will still go to yahoo.com :).

In your case, it's leading to some free host. Scam.

Jeewhizz
05-28-2003, 08:33 PM
I use nochex, and haven't had this email! Also, they have PHP errors!

OneStopHost
05-28-2003, 08:41 PM
I got this in three of my email boxes, my home, my junkmail (hehe I use this one when a site asks for email to go any further) and my domain :o and I don't know what NoChex is either!

Jeewhizz
05-28-2003, 09:08 PM
british version of paypal!

amusive.com
05-28-2003, 09:36 PM
Obviously a scam.

Acsiak - Andrew
05-29-2003, 04:57 AM
Yeah it is a scam.

Let's just hope not a lot of people actually filled in these form
e-mails and sent their credit card details along too.

I've contacted Nochex, they claim a two day wait before they'll
respond. So - it's now up to them to warn their users and others
about the scam.

amusive.com
05-29-2003, 05:01 AM
Once nice thing about Opera is when you click on a link that has a username/password to hide the real URL, it warns you.

Just wish you could turn it off ;)

tazd9t9
05-29-2003, 05:52 AM
Have you forwarded that email to nochex? if not, you should they have had several people trying 2 do scams like this, as have paypal