Does anybody have experience with http://www.youinhere.com?
They have a fantastic-looking dedicated
server offer:
RAQ4 with 512Mb RAM, 26Gb traffic for
$200/month and $100 setup.
Is it real?
Pal
Where do you see that price? I searched everywhere!
Never mind. i found it. Of course its cheap, you only get one gig of space. You have to squeeze everyone in small spaces and charge high rates, no realistic if you ask me.
That offer does not sound that great to me..
1GB of disk space will certainly fill up quickly, and 25GB can also be used quickly.
You may also want to find out what they'll charge you per GB once you exceed your bandwidth limit.
If you're committed on purchasing a RAQ, Dialtone Internet (http://dialtoneinternet.com/cobalt/cobaltprices.htm) has a RAQ server with 4.3GB disk space, 16IPs and 65GB monthly bandwidth for the same monthy price. And, they don't charge setup fees.
[This message has been edited by Mike (edited 08-04-2000).]
Fred, I didn't even know anybody manufactured 1 Gb disks nowadays. You can't put many sites on such a machine, of course. I'm looking for a server for my own (hopefully) high-traffic site.
What I don't understand is how can the hosting company make money off this offer...
Pal
scottlaw
08-04-2000, 06:36 PM
Pal,
It appears to me you are sharing the server with other users... I would recommend you go with Catalog.com over Dialtone. You can get your own Raq3 for under 200.00 with their current special http://servers.catalog.com/special.htm
Scott
Now that I took a second look at the website, it's really suspicious: they probably use the term "dedicated" in an unusual sense. Let's just forget about them.
Thanks for your help, anyway!
Pal