Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : free dedicated servers.com


creepcolony
07-01-2001, 10:30 PM
has anyone ever heard of you used http://www.freededicatedservers.com? i did a search but came up with nothing. thanks.

MCHost-Marc
07-01-2001, 10:40 PM
I've heard from several people that they ask you to put up their advertising for a few weeks before you get the server in order to prove your amount of visitors. After you gave them FREE Advertising ...its up to THEM if they give you the server or not ;)

Chicken
07-02-2001, 12:20 AM
Odd that nothing came up. Check http://www.freewebspace.net/forums and try searching there. Also, they spammed the boards in just about the most pathetic way I've *ever* seen a host spam message boards.

Duster
07-02-2001, 02:40 AM
In our last discussion on them not long ago (I couldn't find it either), the facts on how this scam works came out.

They get to use high traffic sites to place their ad banners for free for a month, during a "qualification" period.

Even if the click through rate is high, you still don't get a server. The number of sales as a result of those click throughs are what they really count.

If a site qualified for a server under their misleading conditions, it could afford to get a server with a legitimate company by keeping the income from the ad banners rather than giving it to someone else.

As far as scams go, it's a pretty ingenious one.
1. The enticement of a free server is one that appeals to a lot of people who will want to believe it could be true.
2. The victims aren't defrauded of any money, they just have ad banners on their site for a month (this minimizes the possibility of investigation by the authorities)
3. The scammer gets to keep the advertising revenues from high traffic sites just by offering a promise they have no intention of keeping.

Fairly clever.

Honu
07-02-2001, 04:42 AM
Aloha
yeah scam
and there ad space is huge
and they want above the fold

ahhh no thanks :eek:

thesmallguyshost
07-02-2001, 05:31 PM
Has anyone contacted virtualisys.com ?

apparantly they use their servers as the ones they offer.. or else they use their exactly model names and even copied part of their website.