Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : #%&^ing RackSPACE Spammers


osv
05-05-2003, 03:05 PM
i don't suppose that there is any way to shame rackspace(edit) into no longer hosting spammer websites, is there? :-)

i've been getting a couple of these a day, and i keep sending 'em over to abuse@rackspace.com... like it would make any difference.


dan
oceanstreetvideo.com

---------------------------------------------------
www.get-greatdealsonline.net resolves to 65.61.181.174

Rackspace.com RSPC-NET-4 (NET-65-61-128-0-1)
65.61.128.0 - 65.61.191.255
LS E-Biz, Inc. RSPC-19440-1049734068 (NET-65-61-181-160-1)
65.61.181.160 - 65.61.181.191

Return-path: <twyskowski@get-greatdealsonline.net>
Envelope-to: xxx@yyyy.com
Delivery-date: Mon, 05 May 2003 10:21:36 +0000
Received: from mail.get-greatdealsonline.com ([66.216.127.98] helo=mail.get-greatdealsonline.net)
by exotic.dnswild.com with smtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 19Cd6G-0006ME-00
for xxx@yyyy.com; Mon, 05 May 2003 10:21:36 +0000
Message-ID: <24962F05-F177-4D4B-A646-EE167C45B7FE@66.216.127.98>
From: "Tami Wyskowski" <twyskowski@get-greatdealsonline.net>
To: xxx@yyyy.com
Subject: DAN, CARLSBAD Lender with *5.36% 30 YR Fixed
Date: Mon, 5 May 2003 05:19:47 -0500
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset=US-ASCII

-----Original Message-----
From: Tami Wyskowski [mailto:twyskowski@get-greatdealsonline.net]
Sent: Monday, May 05, 2003 3:20 AM
To: xxx.yyy.com
Subject: DAN, CARLSBAD Lender with *5.36% 30 YR Fixed



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a personal message for DAN yyyy.
If you have obtained this letter by mistake, write abuse@get-greatdealsonline.net
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Dear DAN xxxx,


As of Monday, May 5, 2003 Your home at: PO BOX yyy, CARLSBAD, CA 92018 is Qualified for a *5.36% 30 YR Fixed.

DAN, Check Out These Monthly Payments....

Loan Amount Monthly Payment
100,000 *$575
150,000 *$863
200,000 *$1,150
250,000 *$1,438
500,000 *$2,876

To calculate what your mortgage will be with a new low rate of Click Here

With the following...

Bankruptcy No Problem
No Out of Pocket Closing Costs
No Income Documentation Required
Easy Qualifier - CREDIT PROBLEMS OK
Maximum Cashout For Any Reason
4 out of 5 People Approved in Most Cases


DAN, if you have requested a loan from any other lender take the next 5 minutes and get access to our loan experts standing by in CARLSBAD waiting to lock your new low rate.


Please click the below link for a Five Minute Quick And Easy Loan Quote.
http://24962F05-F177-4D4B-A646-EE167C45B7FE.get-greatdealsonline.net/redir/redir-ls.cfm?siteid=14&UUID=24962F05-F177-4D4B-A646-EE167C45B7FE&ID=OILS_whdb_rs61_050503


Thank You,

Tami Wyskowski
Lending Spectrum


*Based on national overnight averages as of 5/5/03. The lowest rates above are for a Primary Residence up to $300,000 (APR may vary based on lender and your personal situation) Rates subject to lender participation. See lender for details.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Member Services - This message is brought to you by get-greatdealsonline.net.
To find out more about get-greatdealsonline.net visit http://www.get-greatdealsonline.net
If you would prefer not to receive future marketing messages from us, Click here., or visit http://www.get-greatdealsonline.net/subscription.cfm, enter your email address, and click on the unsubscribe button. Only unsubscribe requests submitted to this page can be fulfilled. get-greatdealsonline.net cannot fulfill unsubscribe requests submitted elsewhere or to the email boxes of individuals.

If you wish to advertise with us, please email sales@get-greatdealsonline.net

If you feel you have received this message in error, please email abuse@get-greatdealsonline.net

Coach
05-05-2003, 03:08 PM
Rackshack takes a zero tolerance approach to spamming. If they even get one complaint they will contact the person that owns the server and tell them to take care of it within 24 hours.

I've found the abuse team to be extremely efficient. The host doesn't respond, the box gets unplugged, simple as that. Even if the spam isn't coming from a RS server, but the site being spammed out is simply a landing page, that will be reason enough.

What problems have you had with them?

UH-Matt
05-05-2003, 03:09 PM
Maybe report them to rackspace rather than rackshack ?? :)

Coach
05-05-2003, 03:10 PM
I just viewed your header that you edited into your post. Your problem is that it is rackSPACE, not rackSHACK that is hosting the spammers.

Rackspace has a reputation for being a bit spam friendly. Sending emails to abuse@rackshack.net though isn't going to get you very far because they're not the ones hosting them.

akashik
05-05-2003, 03:11 PM
Matt - you noticed that too huh? ;)

Greg Moore

Lesli
05-05-2003, 03:29 PM
Rackspace, Rackshack, Rackforce...easy to get confused if you're not paying attention.

osv
05-05-2003, 03:44 PM
doh! yes, i have been sending the complaints to abuse@rackspace.com... my apologies to rackshack for the foul-up in the title of this post!

i wish there was a way to change the title(?).



dan
oceanstreetvideo.com

Coach
05-05-2003, 04:06 PM
I've clicked on the report the post feature for you. The mods can probably change the title of the thread or close it for you since you created a new thread.

Best of luck.

osv
05-05-2003, 04:23 PM
thanks coach! i just hope people boycott these rackSPACE spammers when it comes to choosing a web host.



dan
oceanstreetvideo.com

Coach
05-05-2003, 04:32 PM
I know many hosts that do actually. There is nothing worse than having a server which has it's IP's blacklisted in SPEWS. Rackspace has an incredible reputation for having great servers, a great network and great uptime. However, they also have the negative reputation as being spam-friendly and because of that, many hosts don't use their servers to run their businesses and go elsewhere despite their great service.

More threads like these accomplishes exactly what you set out to do. Eventually when more people know how they are towards these sites they may change and be an all-around great company. For now though, things like this give them a major black eye in my book.

SoftWareRevue
05-05-2003, 04:34 PM
Originally posted by Coach
I've clicked on the report the post feature for you. The mods can probably change the title of the thread or close it for you since you created a new thread.

Best of luck. Thanks! I re-titled this one and threw the other one.