Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spam from http://www.stanfordtek.com/host


hostpc.com
04-30-2003, 10:51 PM
Has anyone else received spam from this company? I just got FOUR consecutive e-mails from them. This spam from web hosts is getting out of control.:

Return-Path: <anderso2n252@mac.com>
Received: from mac.com ([66.78.60.190])
Date: Wed, 30 Apr 2003To: <xxx@xxx.xxx>
Subject: You need a web host
From: Anderson <anderso2n252@mac.com>
Status:

Hi,

Your website needs a good web host to keep it up and running 24/7 while being affordable.

This is what we are willing to offer you:

For only $9.99:

Plan 1

- 5,000 MB of bandwidth
- 100 mb of storage
- Multiple domain aliases on one account
- 24/7 Tech support by phone and email

- 99% uptime guarantee
- We host many large sites to ensure our experience while growing with you.

LIMITED time offer:
Setup fee will be waived for all accounts if you signup now.
FREE SETUP!

We usually charge for setup fee but due to our new servers we have just acquired
we are looking to fill it up. Signup now and get in while you can and host
multiple domains on one account!

SIGNUP HERE: http://www.stanfordtek.com/host

Jennifer L.

Akash
04-30-2003, 10:55 PM
yes - send your complaint to abuse@hostcentric.com and explain to them that it redirects to a website on their network (markethosting.com - ping that and include the ip). be sure to include full headers when you forward the spam.



I'm trying to get this site shut down

hostpc.com
04-30-2003, 11:04 PM
will do boss.

hostpc.com
04-30-2003, 11:23 PM
Just got another from yet ANOTHER host. This is getting wild:

This message is regarding some recent changes taking place at May Host. Du=
e to
popular demand we have added a new hosting package. We are now offering th=
e
newly released Economy Package which is as follows:

-200 MB Disk Space
-Unlimited Bandwidth
-FREE Traffic/Hits
-99.9% Uptime Guarantee
-Unlimited Email Acounts
-Easy Site Manager
-FREE Search Engine Submission
-FREE Shopping Cart
-NO banners/pop-ups placed on your site
-and much more!

You may now receive this hosting package for only $4 per month with free
technical support. Please contact us anytime for assistance or further inq=
uires.

www.mayhost.com

*Notice: You are receiving this message because you are either a current c=
lient
or you have been referred though our affiliates. If you wish to be removed=

please reply with the subject line "Remove".

SolidJoe
04-30-2003, 11:29 PM
MayHost appears to be hosted in Asia...good luck getting that shut down :/ Here is their contact info though for that ip:


Query the APNIC Whois DatabaseNeed help?
General search help
Help tracking spam and hacking
% [whois.apnic.net node-2]
% How to use this server http://www.apnic.net/db/
% Whois data copyright terms http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html

inetnum: 210.52.9.0 - 210.52.9.255
netname: ZHENGZHOU-TELEVISION
descr: ZhengZhou Television Network 2
descr: 10/F Yuda International Business Building
descr: Zhengzhou, Henan Province
country: CN
admin-c: TC254-AP
tech-c: TC254-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-CN-ZM28
changed: zhaoyp1@china-netcom.com 20010917
status: ALLOCATED PORTABLE
source: APNIC

person: TECH GROUP CNC
address: 9/F, Building A, Corporate Square, No. 35 Financial Street,
address: Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, P.R.China
country: CN
phone: +86-10-88093588
fax-no: +86-10-88091442
e-mail: tech-group@china-netcom.com
nic-hdl: TC254-AP
mnt-by: MAINT-CN-ZM28
changed: zhaomq@china-netcom.com 20010917
source: APNIC

mno
04-30-2003, 11:41 PM
Yeah, it's a pain to stop spam from countries like China....

z0diac
05-01-2003, 12:27 AM
If someone sends you spam, here's what I do: click on the link that goes to their page and look for an email address there, like their sales@ address or support@ address, whatever. Copy it to your clipboard... then do a Google search for +"mailing list" and +"click to join" ... enter their email address on as many mailing lists as you can. It will effectively kill their email address, as well as their ability to do customer support or accept new sales. :)

pao
05-01-2003, 01:41 AM
Originally posted by z0diac
If someone sends you spam, here's what I do: click on the link that goes to their page and look for an email address there, like their sales@ address or support@ address, whatever. Copy it to your clipboard... then do a Google search for +"mailing list" and +"click to join" ... enter their email address on as many mailing lists as you can. It will effectively kill their email address, as well as their ability to do customer support or accept new sales. :)

That's a great idea, I'll try that. :D

Akash
05-01-2003, 01:44 AM
:rolleyes: that just promotes spam....it doesn't help cut down on the amount of spam that flows through our pipes.

sprintserve
05-01-2003, 04:59 AM
Ya. I got this spam... about 4-5 times over as many days. Nowadays, I just delete them .