Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Do you know about this host?


UNIXIELHOST
08-20-2000, 10:00 PM
Boy, I dropped my jaws after I see thier hosting plans after was surfing the web.
http://www.elitehost.com/hosting/vsn.htm

You wouldn't believe thier fees and features!

Anyone who know they hosted with?

Why would they charge $598 for setup fee? Sheez!

Greg
08-20-2000, 10:27 PM
It also states that their domain price doesn't include the $100 Internic fee!

Nikkoru
08-20-2000, 11:10 PM
Anyone who know they hosted with?

Why would they charge $598 for setup fee? Sheez!A scan of rDNS suggests that they are colo'd at pajo.com.

If you look at the two plans the difference between the one with a $99 setup and the one with the $598 setup is that they develop a 5-page website with the second one. So you're paying them $499 to develop a site. Not that a $99 setup fee makes sense these days, anyway.

While the "$100 InterNIC fee" sounds like a scam, they do say that you'll be billed by InterNIC for that fee so it doesn't seem like their approach is to pocket the difference. Sounds like they are just out of touch! (There are some broken links, as well, and the copyright on the page says "1994-1997.")

[This message has been edited by Nikkoru (edited 08-20-2000).]