Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : bulkregister and oemmail?


jbucklew
06-18-2001, 10:52 AM
I am host.
I register domains.
one day I register a domain for myself, lets call it xzy.com(no hosting just register domain)

Three days later, I receive email from oemmail.com that says "We've just been notified that you have purchased xyz.com"

been notified? who notified? Why? how? do you mean to tell me bulkregister is selling my registration Info?
that kinda make me:angry:

any one else ever heard of such a thing?

JayC
06-18-2001, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by jbucklew

been notified? who notified? Why? how? do you mean to tell me bulkregister is selling my registration Info? Domain registration info is publicly available -- whether you have it pointed to a website or not makes no difference, your info is in the database where anyone -- including list brokers -- who wants to deal with that huge amount of data can get it.

jbucklew
06-18-2001, 01:48 PM
sounds like what bulkregister said but could you tell me where?

Where is there a list of newly registered domains.

I would like to have a list a domains that where just registered.

bulkregister said anyone can thru the who-is look up but how can you look up a domain unless you know it exists?

Angel78
06-18-2001, 01:54 PM
Can that be considered as Spam as you never wanted to hear anything about what they offer..etc I also got oemmail mail after registering domain name trough tera-byte (they are then resseler for OPEN srs i guess...and they are good :))

JayC
06-18-2001, 04:06 PM
There was a court case a while ago over Verio having accessed zone files at register.com (if I remember correctly) and using that contact information to send spam.

If Verio can do it, so can anyone else -- the files are available -- though they are, of course, huge. I wouldn't be surprised, actually, if some list broker has culled that info to make it available for purchase. If it hasn't happened yet, it probably will.

jbucklew
06-18-2001, 04:59 PM
I have called oemmail

How? you ask since their phone number is not on their site?
Netsol whois lead me to bulkregister whois
bulkregister.....hummm.....
anyhow the number was
508-798-3278

I told the person who answered that I just got an email that said "We've just been notified that you have purchased XYZ.com." I asked him who "notified" him.

he said that he hasnt sent any emails and that i should call 603-622-8882

Mary-beth answered that number and answered yes to the question "is this oemmail?"

I relayed the information above to her and asked the same question. who "notified" her i just registered a domain. after a few ummms and uhhhs, she said i should talk to the owner brian. I said ok can i talk to him.
she said he was not in and had no idea when he would be in. I left a message and am waiting for a call back.

Anyone want to take odds on that call back?

jbucklew
06-19-2001, 01:50 PM
so Oemmail blatantly sent me unsolicited email.
What can i do about it?

dektong
06-19-2001, 02:26 PM
You could just registered a domain that oemmail (or its customers?) also wanted to register (but miss its/their chance). Upon knowing that the domain was taken, they searched "whois" database (again, available to be seen by everybody) and probably saw your contact info for that domain and then contacted you ... I don't know how they got your contact info, but I don't think it's a big deal .. Just tell them that you are not interested in getting any email from them (i.e. oemmail) and hopefuly everything will go well ...

cheers,
:beer:

jbucklew
06-19-2001, 02:42 PM
, but I don't think it's a big deal

Any other host here feel the same way about oemmail telling your customers that Oemmail "just been notified" they registered a domain? no big deal?

Dont you think if you registered a name with me and the next day you get an email that starts off by "We've just been notified" wouldnt you think i sold your name?

No one has seen this?

still waiting for Brian at Oemmail to return my call and tell me who "notified" him.

dektong
06-19-2001, 02:53 PM
Originally posted by jbucklew
Dont you think if you registered a name with me and the next day you get an email that starts off by "We've just been notified" wouldnt you think i sold your name?


I might, at first ... but again, it might not always be the case. Your information (contact info, etc) are available to the whole people to see... Now if you had deliberately put your contact information when you registered domains, expect to get email from people since you have just made your information available to everybody, basically.

Anyway ... I at one time also contacted the owner of a domain that I had planned to register few days before only to know that the domain had been taken. So, doing a simple "whois" reveled all the contact information, hence I contacted the owner, asking whether he/she wanted to sell that domain to me ... I think this practise of people inquiring about your domain by contacting you (via contact information that you have made public yourself) are usual practises, and I won't consider these acts as spamming ... That just basically tell me that I (or you) own a very cool domain that somebody else is interested ... you should be proud :)


cheers,
:beer:

dektong
06-19-2001, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by Angel78
I also got oemmail mail after registering domain name trough tera-byte (they are then resseler for OPEN srs i guess...and they are good :))

And you didn't think tera-byte sell your domain information, did you? :) As I said, your contact information is available for everybody ... somebody contacting you after getting your contact information is not a real big deal, that's actually the whole purpose of putting your contact information when registering domains, so that everybody who has inquiry about your domain can contact the owner ... Again, no big deal... Anybody thinks this is a super big deal?

cheers,
:beer:

jbucklew
06-19-2001, 03:02 PM
Just because you still think this is because oemmail wants my domain, here is the mail the sent me
We've just been notified that you have purchased XYZ.com. Great!

Now that you have your domain, wouldn't it be GREAT to have email@XYZ.com?
Wouldn't it even be better if you could offer FREE web-based email for your visitors?

Well now you can! For FREE!!! Using our web-based email, you will:

• Generate more revenue for your company!
• Get FREE advertising for your company!
• Increase the value of your domain name!
• Improve the "stickiness" of your site!
• And best of all, get email ASAP!

Go to http://oemmail.com/ to get started.

skysenshi
06-19-2001, 11:15 PM
That happened to me not just once.
I'm also a bulkregister reseller and I temporarily put my admin contact on the sign-up for faster registration.

Then I change it to my clients' details.

This is why I alwasy get spammed my oemmail. Better me than my clients.

Just block them with your filters, I guess.

dektong
06-19-2001, 11:36 PM
Originally posted by jbucklew
Just because you still think this is because oemmail wants my domain, here is the mail the sent me
We've just been notified that you have purchased XYZ.com. Great!

Ahh... sorry for not clealry understanding what they have done to you (you should have said that clealry) ... Yea, that would be bad ... I thought somebody was interested in your domain ... I would be pissed off too if somebody contact me and offer his/her service ... Again, my apology for not understanding this matter clearly ... perharp I should ask you more next time ...

So ... as skysenshi has said, filter out any email coming from oemmail.com ..

cheers,
:beer:

slade
06-20-2001, 11:13 AM
I am beginning to wonder where they must be actually getting these "informs" from.... I just registered a domain name with dotster last weekend and received an oemmail.com spam yesterday.

I find it hard to believe they have contacted and contracted with that many registrars for new domain name lists. I have two thoughts:

1 They are buying them straight from Network Solutions

2 They have modified a BIND server to request zone updates of new domain names, and then just crossreferencet that with a whois lookup. (or they're paying someone to do this)

jbucklew
06-20-2001, 11:17 AM
I am beginning to wonder where they must be actually getting these "informs" from....

Call and ask 603-622-8882

slade
06-20-2001, 11:40 AM
Actually, I found Mr Glenn's number too, but hadn't actually decided if they were in the same company.

jbucklew
06-20-2001, 11:50 AM
hadn't actually decided if they were in the same company

Mary-beth, at that number who answers the phone "the mail" also answered "yes" to the direct question "is this OEMMAIL?"
She is also the one who told me "brian" is the owner and he was the one who could answer the question "who 'notified' you i registered a domain?"

Da Red Monkey
08-18-2001, 03:31 AM
That's it.... no OEMMAIL for me. I rather not deal with crap like that.