Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Help Being Ripped off!!!!


Greg
08-18-2000, 12:07 AM
How are they making you pay for it? I mean by cash, credit card? If they charge your credit card it is very easy for you to go to the bank that issued you the card and tell them not to accept that charge, and if it's gone through already, the bank will reimburse you and chargeback these idiots that don't know what they're doing.


Don't let up, keep on bugging these guys until your happy with the results, don't let them push you around.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 12:15 AM
I don't know i got an invoice thats all i know. I've been down to my bank which was shut as it shuts at 3:30pm GMT but ordered an account statement through the hole in the wall. Come in useful those machines lol.

Coreace
08-18-2000, 12:16 AM
Do as suggested by Admin. Submit the details to the trading standards. Just relax, they can't do anything and certainly not with force.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 06:21 AM
This technically is not anything todo with webhosting its a domain name. This morning when i woke i got a nasty suprise in my regular mail. An invoice for a domain name i have supposedly bought the domain name is http://www.mark-benwell.co.uk i have phoned the company who registered the domain and they basically laughe and said " Your Name on the Registration you have to pay Sorry nothing we can do about it". But the funny thing is this company has all my details from when i was a customer with them. And these details on the invoice don't match the ones they have on file.


What can i do ?.

08-18-2000, 06:55 AM
Don't pay, still claim you didn't register it! Even if the cost is small still don't give in to them?, Ring up trading standards and file a complaint, call 192 for you local office. Write them at letter explaining you did not register the domain and know nothing of it, photocopy it (your copy) and get it stamped by the Post Office also send the letter via recorded delivery. Then e-mail all UK PC/Internet magazine editors explaining the situation (write it as if you asking for help so it get published). Then go on to the newgroups and post your story. Then go on to the forums.

What company is it? How much have they invoiced you for? Let shame them.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 07:10 AM
The company in question is Webnetics LTD ( http://www.webnetics.co.uk ). I've since phoned them again and they have given me the information of who made the transaction and told me to deal with it. That cannot be right can it?. The total was for £20 a know its a small amount about $32.

here is the who is for the domain too which i took from http://www.thename.co.uk.

The Name Raw WHOIS Output


Here is the raw output for domain mark-benwell.co.uk. Click here to return to the WHOIS lookup.


Domain Name: MARK-BENWELL.CO.UK

Registered For: Mark Benwell

Domain Registered By: EZEE

Registered on 10-Jul-2000.

Domain servers listed in order:

NS.WEBNETICSUK.CO.UK 195.182.169.1
NS2.WEBNETICSUK.CO.UK (unable to validate IP)

WHOIS database last updated at 11:05:01 18-Aug-2000

The NIC.UK Registration Host contains ONLY information for domains
within co.uk, org.uk, net.uk, ltd.uk and plc.uk. Please use the whois
server at rs.internic.net for Internet Information or the whois server
at nic.ddn.mil for MILNET Information.


The Name Raw WHOIS Output

08-18-2000, 07:26 AM
Don't pay! Follow the steps I told you, make sure you register the complaint with trading standards and send them a letter recorded. And send them an e-mail explaining the situation.

I been through it all before, not over a domain name though. If you ever want cheap domains use simplynames.co.uk or namebargain.com.

And Remember Don't Pay! I hate companies like that, I bet they registered it themselves to get some more money.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 07:36 AM
Thanks for your Fast and helpful responses. I don't actually use Webnetics for Domain Registrations i tend to use easily.co.uk or cyberquest.

And i'm in the process of doing what you have informed me off.

Racin' Rob
08-18-2000, 08:40 AM
Surely they have a record of the IP# of the machine that submitted the registration.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 10:17 AM
They probably do but don't seem to be taking this seriously.

08-18-2000, 11:33 AM
If they ain't taking you seriously then don't take them seriously. Just ignore them.

FlashTechnics
08-18-2000, 11:49 AM
I would do but i do see this as serious when people are purchasing goods and charging them to me.