Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Webhostingtalk.com.my.... Cheap.


thedavid
04-10-2003, 12:01 AM
Hey...

I just got a spam (they're probably nabbing email addresses from here) for a new web hosting discussion board - check it out:

"This is just an annoucement.

We are currently lauching a new Web Hosting Forum. Hope you enjoy using it.

Thank you

Our site address: http://www.webhostingtalk.com.my"

Cute - they even use the same forum names and copy-pasted the rest... Perhaps headsurfer needs to pay a visit? :)

-David

Selpaw
04-10-2003, 12:05 AM
Whats the problem?

There is also http://www.webhostingtalk.com.au/

matrosov
04-10-2003, 12:07 AM
Looks like WHT got some competition now. Or is it a sister site? Got this email today.

This is just an annoucement.

We are currently lauching a new Web Hosting Forum. Hope you enjoy using it.

Thank you

Our site address: http://www.webhostingtalk.com.my



Regards,

Mod note:
Threads merged.

rlynch
04-10-2003, 12:09 AM
yes...but the malaysian version has the same exact topics and all haha

sprintserve
04-10-2003, 12:10 AM
They aren't the only ones trying to rub off on the success of this forums. They are ones in Australia, Singapore and I am sure in other countries I am not aware of.

Eric Lim
04-10-2003, 12:11 AM
I have also receive their promotion email.

Thread like this would only promote their forum.

Then I shouldn't post. :D

thedavid
04-10-2003, 12:15 AM
Hmm...

So these people just start registering domains under country codes and copy-pasting then... Hmm, lets check..

OMG - webhostingtalk.co.uk is a total and complete rip! They've even copied my posts!

Oh, well.. Maybe it's just bedtime. :)

-David

RajanUrs
04-10-2003, 12:16 AM
now you know the problem of generic domain names

if webhostingtalk.com was called qubaxqubaztalk.com then i dont suppose there would be many imitators :D

Mark_TVI
04-10-2003, 12:17 AM
Imitation is the highest form of flattery....;)

SoftWareRevue
04-10-2003, 12:19 AM
I didn't go there. I just deleted the email they sent. :(

YUPAPA
04-10-2003, 01:13 AM
How did they know my email addr? :fork::bomb:

JackMitchell
04-10-2003, 01:20 AM
YUPAPA.. they got it off these boards ;)

YUPAPA
04-10-2003, 01:22 AM
I don't think I have posted my addr here before.... Maybe they asked me about my hosting and found out my addr! :fork::bomb:

:puke:

JackMitchell
04-10-2003, 01:26 AM
You've fgot meial links in your profile and right under your posts ;)

SoftWareRevue
04-10-2003, 01:26 AM
I don't think they harvested this board.

One of the addresses I received mail at was never on this board.

Looks like it may have been more from hosting directories.

alapo
04-10-2003, 01:32 AM
I did not get the mail :( . Boo hoo :mad: :D

sprintserve
04-10-2003, 01:33 AM
Some of the mods there are on this board.. saw the same nicks :) Maybe a ban is in order? :)

YUPAPA
04-10-2003, 01:34 AM
cindyng60@hotmail.com was the one sent to me...
Howcome we all got the mail on the same date then?

JackMitchell
04-10-2003, 01:35 AM
Spam program prehaps?

SolidJoe
04-10-2003, 02:02 AM
Here is the headers from what I got:

Return-path: <cindyng60@hotmail.com>
Envelope-to: myemail
Delivery-date: Wed, 09 Apr 2003 23:41:21 -0400
Received: from pop.time.net.my ([203.121.16.80] helo=puyu.time.net.my)
by myemailserver with smtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 193SwD-0002d6-00
for myemail; Wed, 09 Apr 2003 23:41:21 -0400
Received: (qmail 75786 invoked from network); 10 Apr 2003 03:39:27 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO hotmail.com) (211.24.66.243)
by 0 with SMTP; 10 Apr 2003 03:39:27 -0000
Date: 10 Apr 03 11:05:39 +-0800
From: "Cindy"<cindyng60@hotmail.com>
To: <myemail>
Subject: New Web Hosting Forum Lauching
Message-Id: <E193SwD-0002d6-00@myemailserver>

Edited back now, took some of my info out :)

anon-e-mouse
04-10-2003, 02:06 AM
you need more header than that.

Parsing header:
Header incomplete, aborting.
No source IP address found, cannot proceed. Not full header?

SolidJoe
04-10-2003, 02:30 AM
Full header is now there.

anon-e-mouse
04-10-2003, 02:39 AM
:211.24.66.243 (Administrator of network where email originates)
To: postmaster@time.net.my (Notes)
To: webmaster@isp.time.net.my (Notes)

Send spam reports to those :) also to the host of the forum.

Edit: abuse@webvisions.com host abuse.

MilkMan
04-10-2003, 02:54 AM
I got the same email but it does seem they harvested them from hosting directories because the one they sent it to was created just for those.

SolidJoe
04-10-2003, 02:59 AM
http://216.239.53.100/search?q=cache:7aG7ugVm-uwC:sydney.myacen.com/~gwu/xoops/modules/mylinks/visit.php%3Flid%3D465=en&ie=UTF-8

What is this business about?

Tropical Tundra
04-10-2003, 03:06 AM
I don't think Robert Marsh own a TM on webhosting talk? They liked WHT and decided to create their own forum geared towards their specific country i.e. Malaysia and Australia. I don't see any issues with that. Perhaps the Malaysia WHT went to far by using the same forum names but I still don't think it's a big deal. I didn't get spam from them!

net-trend
04-10-2003, 04:00 AM
They got the email adds from a directory called hostprofessor.

I know this because each time i sign up for something i use an address that corresponds with what i signed up too.

UH-Matt
04-10-2003, 04:03 AM
We got this spam to our support email address which is not given out.

Chicken
04-10-2003, 04:19 AM
Well, they certainly helped themselves to the exact text at WHT (and it isn't hard to figure out what other site they've been at, heh).

RDX1
04-10-2003, 04:20 AM
Didn't get an email :)

stephenM
04-10-2003, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by thedavid
OMG - webhostingtalk.co.uk is a total and complete rip! They've even copied my posts!

Better sue the bastards :D

j/k :stickout:

UH-Matt
04-10-2003, 06:17 AM
Bah someone registered my nickname and claims to work for our company on webhostingtalk.co.uk!!

Just had a chat with the offender and he seems like a nice guy.

:D

tazzy
04-10-2003, 06:20 AM
Originally posted by UH-Matt
Just had a chat with the offender and he seems like a nice guy.

:D

:emlaugh: hmm not a lot to say to that :D

ArthurDavis
04-10-2003, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by RajanUrs
now you know the problem of generic domain names

if webhostingtalk.com was called qubaxqubaztalk.com then i dont suppose there would be many imitators :D

If it was called qubaxqubaztalk.com I wouldn't come here :o

UH-Matt
04-10-2003, 09:03 AM
Originally posted by RajanUrs
now you know the problem of generic domain names

if webhostingtalk.com was called qubaxqubaztalk.com then i dont suppose there would be many imitators :D

If this board was called qubaxqubaztalk.com and just as busy, they would have imitated it. Its not the name, its the traffic and amount of members.